Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

67 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Entertainment

A very good solution to run windows on MAC

  • May 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Parallels for the last three years. I moved to Parallels from Oracle Virtual Box which was a very basic solution. Parallels works perfectly for running Microsoft Windows on your Mac. The beauty is the convergence of Mac and Windows Apps, i.e the ability to open a file in a Windows based application from within the Mac and switch back and forth. Though I haven't used the coherence mode much, the Coherence mode makes the experience seamless.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike about Parallels is, they compel you to upgrade to the latest version of Parallels which would cost around 50$ to upgrade to the latest version of Windows. We are currently stuck with Windows 7 and unable to upgrade to Windows 10, because of some device driver incompatibility of Parallels v10.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have applications such as SAP MDM, etc, for which there are no Mac clients as well as time to time we have to use Visio which is available only in Windows. Running windows on Mac helps overcome these problems. On a lighter note, Parallels makes the Macbook, the best Windows Laptop :)


    Courtney F.

LifeSaver for Macs

  • May 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easily it is to get a VM up on a Mac and the versatility with deploying a variety of operating systems.
What do you dislike?
The integration with Windows 8 in coherence mode sometimes is wonky and it is hard to get an application to come to the forefront.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Many of our Macs won't run enterprise system software such as DameWare, and some macros that microsoft office applications need to use.


    Drago H.

Control other OS with a single Software

  • April 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallel Desktop is a single software where you can use and control other OS on Mac. You can use it for Windows, Linux, and even other OS.

You can customize parallel desktop setting such as binding keys. That's for ctrl key on windows to be cmd key on Mac. You can even start multiple window at a time. The best part is that you don't need to restart your mac to run the other OS, not like mac virtual harddrive where you have to restart Mac to load the windows.
What do you dislike?
Although Parallel Desktop is a great software to work with multiple OS on Mac. Some issues on it makes the user need time to make it fully functional, in short, it need time to be studied. and sometimes there's even a bug where mouse freeze and the key binding sometimes not recorded well. and it require a big space.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Parallel Desktop let you install other OS on your Mac. so basically it solve problem where some software didn't have any Mac version. You can easily use Parallel Desktop to use Windows and use windows software that you need. Although there are some software that have both version, sometime, the Windows one are more updated.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend anyone who like to use multiple desktop and multiple OS at once. Although you need time to use this, this is a great software where in the future will help you and your work.


    Nurman Z.

Hey Corona, Where's Siri?

  • April 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallel desktop can run multiple OS simultaneously which is good if your Mac want to run for Windows and Linux simultaneously. it also allows us run Mac OS features within other environment
What do you dislike?
Paralles can't run the standard Windows OS installer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Parallel Desktops help me if my clients have difficulty to operate MacOs which is difficult for some people. By installing Parallel Desktops I can easily switch OS between Maverick and Windows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
even it's 80-100 dollar per year, it worth to buy/subscribe


    James D.

Best way to Run windows on a Mac

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Coherence Mode is fantastic, the fact that I can run Windows and Mac applications side by side is a great experience. The power saving features in parallels mean that my Macbook battery is not really effected by running windows in a VM.

The windows installation is great, installs quickly and requires little know how, anyone could do it!

What do you dislike?
I have few dislikes with Parallels desktop, it has frozen up on me once or twice although a recent update seems to have solved this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I bought a MacBook as I needed a ultra portable laptop with great battery life, the 2015 MacBook was perfect but I did need to run Windows applications. Parallels desktop fitted the bill perfectly and it is now used daily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Well worth buying!


    Rafael A.

The best virtualization software for Mac OS X

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Parallels is the best virtualization software for Mac users. It has a great interface, very easy to use and very user friendly. It has a great feature that is download the ISO for some operating systems, that's great for new users who don't know where to download the operating system.
What do you dislike?
The lack of drag and drop functionality for files is what I dislike the most. Also, sometimes and in some operating systems, it's hard to install Parallels Tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using Parallels Desktop to test different operating systems and to use Windows applications only on my Mac.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the trial version first so you can be sure that Parallels Desktop is the right product for you.


    Salvador R.

Multi computer ?, Done

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like to be able to work with a custom machine and work with any program on any platform
What do you dislike?
I don´t like the need to install any plugin when I configure virtual machine for the first time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If i need any program I don´t have the problem of looking up if it work on IOS or Windows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It´s easy to use and easy to setup


    Higher Education

Heavy parallels desktop user -- I love the experience

  • April 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the ability to use windows programs on my mac, while being able to seamlessly switch between the Mac OS and Windows OS.
What do you dislike?
At times, the program is buggy and I need to restart. This is a rare occurrence, however. I am overall very pleased with the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I love Apple products, I consider my self an "Apple guy." However, I am also a business guy and the fact of the matter is Microsoft Office (and other business applications) are much better suited for the Windows operating systems. By being able to run Windows OS on my Mac, I get the best of both worlds, at the same time. I love it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Installation at times can be tricky. When I had issues, I tried performing google searches to figure out what was wrong. I spent hours trying to troubleshoot the issue. I ultimately called Parallels tech support and they were so helpful. I would recommend that people just go ahead and call if they have issues.

Also, some of the shortcuts are not set up great in the Windows environment (for example, it makes more sense for the command button to act as the control key). I would recommend that users make modifications to the shortcuts early on to what feels right to them, instead of just accepting the defaults.


    Bharadwaj (Brad) C.

Right Tool to get Windows VM on Mac

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and use. Great tool to switch between Windows and Mac
What do you dislike?
You need to buy :)
Sometimes Crashes
Takes a good amount of memory/processing speed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using some softwares that run only on Windows on a Mac machine
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get this if you are considering to use a Windows VM. If you are not sure about the software, try the trial version.


    Irfan R.

Ultimate experience with windows platform on top of OsX

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility mainly offered by this product helps me to decide on each and every feature of my remote machine. Starting from ram, storage space to key combination. I even can change the shortcuts of copy paste from ctrl+c+v to cmd+c+v using this. Thus it gives me complete environment to work on windows while leveraging the power of mac. It also allows running a windows app directly inside mac osx.
What do you dislike?
Sometime it crashes or didn't respond as per setting/configuration. Specially the graphics related setting somehow gets disturbed. I remember when setting resolution of remote (window) machine to a particular resolution (don't remember the exact but I guess its 1600 x something), the mouse stops working.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do all my .NET development projects using this virtual machine only. This enables me to leverage the power of mac and allows me to use the windows platform without restarting my system. I haven't tried installing any os other than windows but I am sure that it would offer proper isolation for all the os. I found that allmy window apps are running in a way that it has been installed on mac itself. So being a developer practically I can run visual studio on my mac.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Anyone who are somehow bounded to windows or any other os can use this software to run multiple os without restarting the system. I specifically use it on my mac which gives tight integration on mac and every app of my remote machine behaves like its installed on my mac only.