Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ColdFusion (2018 release - Windows)

Fourteen33 | 2018 release - Update 10

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mark C.

Powerful features without addons

  • March 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of ColdFusion, in my opinion, is the fact that it works out of the box with so many features. You don't have to install an extra library just to get PDF reports. Its built-in. Same for ajax, forms, remote protocols, and more.
What do you dislike?
The cost to get any version beyond standard is a bit pricey, but if you compare the overall cost vs free options that then require you to purchase extra libraries, the cost becomes a bargain.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rapid development with robust features. That is where ColdFusion shines. I 100% am better with ColdFusion.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just jump in and start using ColdFusion. It is quick to deploy and learn. In no time, you will amazing web applications!


    Nicholas R.

Coldfusion and the Modern Web

  • February 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coldfusion, is one of the oldest web development platforms available. It is not only a jack of all trades, it's a master of many as well.

It's owned by Adobe, which gives it excellent document processing abilities. Think PDF creation. It handles MS Excel creation as well.

It integrates nicely with the latest technologies. For example I use it seamlessly with Amazon S3 storage, to read and write. Use it with the latest Bootstrap releases and it plays nicely living on the same server with PHP on my Linux boxes. Handles JSON, XML in and out. I use it to consume and publish APIs from a variety of sources.

While I don't use these now, I have used it in the past as an FTP server, POP, IMAP, client and more.
What do you dislike?
With less people using it these days, it could be harder to get support for advanced usage, however there are plenty of large legacy apps still in us at large organizations and educational institutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For me, CF is great for rapid prototyping. I can put together a fully-featured application without having to use several tools.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Coldfusion does everything I need. I serve several large and medium sites with it. There are still Coldfusion jobs out there. If it's you're only language, you're going to have a problem, otherwise an invaluable tools once given the opportunity to impress.


    Restaurants

Long time CFML dev

  • February 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ColdFusion's ability to connect to databases and query them is definitely one of its greatest features to this day.

Features aside, it's always been a fairly simple language and environment to jump right into and start churning away.
What do you dislike?
When considering its caretaker, Adobe, it lacks some necessary language development to meet what exists in other langs of the modern dev world.

Bugs that are stalling and/or sensible additions/fixes drag for sometimes years (YEARS!!!).

Save a few awesome individuals, much of the Adobe team in near completely silent to the community or comes off as quite disconnected from the very language and platform they are building.

These things harm ColdFusion as a product. Not just a language platform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mainly develop solutions for small businesses. In general, ColdFusion has always sufficed to get the job done.

The number one benefit over the years has without a doubt been the ability to scaffold out a working product quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look into Lucee, a free, open source alternative to Adobe's platform. Just all around better experience with the product, features, bug resolutions and community involvement. It has its own headaches like anything you'll encounter in the dev world but it's a solid product.


    Computer Software

Coldfusion a way of programming for the web

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CFML has definitively nice syntax that blends easy with HTML when working on views. Power of java reachable with ease.
What do you dislike?
Cfscript not well documented and not consistent with cfml. I do not like Front end components.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enterprize software for Shoe and apparel factories. Rapid deployment


    Accounting

Great product

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rapid development of mobile applications for in house deployment. Easy to setup and deploy.
What do you dislike?
Took a bit to get used to it, was difficult to find some of the menus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In house Application development for iOS devices.


    David Aaron F.

An Unneeded Legacy System — Time to Let Go

  • January 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a legacy platform, there are many articles and forums from which to learn. Its syntax is "simple". Open source versions lower cost while increasing involvement.
What do you dislike?
Though its syntax is simple, it's rather clunky and unnecessary. CFSCRIPT brings in some reasonable syntactic idioms, though working with certain ColdFusion patterns is less than ideal.

I can't say ColdFusion is all that fast, though we don't require metal performance for our use. Performance tweaks heavily fall upon the Java Servlet, runtime, and infrastructure one is using. This creates heft in contrast to far more elegant solutions available for other platforms and languages.

Adobe's documentation is also inconsistent and lacking; and OpenBD's is far from complete.

ColdFusion is an added cost for an inferior solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our experience with ColdFusion has simply allowed us to maintain a legacy codebase for a client while preparing new long-term, permanent, modern solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look elsewhere for your language and platform solutions. ColdFusion should only be used for supporting legacy implementations.


    Hospital & Health Care

Great starter language but dying now

  • January 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Ease of learning
* Plays well with all the systems and languages
* Support for PDF, JSON, XML out of the box
What do you dislike?
* Expensive
* Lack of thriving community/ jobs
* Less product support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We build applications which has extensive usage of PDF, Excel and CF does the job well. With rapid application development abilities, we can ship projects within weeks based on user requirements.

* It works well with other technologies.
* Code readability


    Deepak K.

Best chioce for rapid web development

  • January 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CF is very easy to learn. After learning for a week or two you direct jump to development. There are very good frameworks are available in the market like cfwheel,ColdBox,fw etc. There are open source options also available for CF like Lucee.
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of open bugs for the product still available in the bugbase. Adobe is bit slower in fixing them up. Adobe should put more focus on that.
License cost is bit higher, So clients hesitate a bit to buy it. Its not properly marketed by Adobe, that's why its not much famous.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have seen ColdFusion being used in all domains starting from E-Commerce, Healthcare, Supply-Chain Mgmt, Real Estate, Govt projects. Its best suited for all kind of project. But the thing is you must use it with a MVC framework, otherwise the whole codebase becomes a big mess.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ColdFusion community is not much active. There should be more activity on communities like github,stackoverfolw . Though now there is a slack channel which is very active.

Adobe Should market ColdFusion properly and should release updates frequently. Adobe should take client's feedback and work on the features which clients want.


    Adrian M.

15 years building Enterprise Solutions with ColdFusion

  • January 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Creating a proof of concept application is a breeze, using either procedural or OO coding styles. Using a mature MVC framework like ColdBox with its related testing and mock up tools, it's quite easy to build extremely secure applications of any size. The latest versions of ColdFusion include native functionality to sanitize user input, secure against Cross-Site Scripting attacks and protect against the rest of OWASP Top Ten list. Connecting to various databases, cloud services and other systems are relatively easy.
What do you dislike?
The native functions to create UI controls and JavaScript form validation should never be used. There are much more mature JavaScript libraries that can handle that type of functionality very easily. They need the ability to disable groups of functionality like those at the server level.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have built N-tier web application with ColdFusion for many lines of business including Securities, Travel Reservation, Language Management, Inventory Management, Document Management, Auto Insurance (Claims, Payments, etc.), 401k Plan Management, K - 12 Testing and Real Estate / Foreclosure Workflow Management. I have used it to solve problems from integrating with multiple payment processors to applying complex pricing algorithms across large inventories to automating banking and government workflows related to residential properties. It's been my experience that teams using ColdFusion can deliver secure and accurate applications more quickly than comparable teams using other technology stacks (e.g. Java, PHP, .NET).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Run through the tutorials at http://learncfinaweek.com/.
2. Look into the ColdBox MVC framework http://www.coldbox.org/.
3. There is a lot of FUD spread about ColdFusion. If someone hasn't used the product in the last five years and have never used it in an enterprise environment, they have no real basis for comment.


    Financial Services

Never again

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I don't think I have a single positive thing to say about working with CFML. It's literally pain from the moment you begin until the moment you free yourself from its evil hold on slow moving businesses.
What do you dislike?
Everything. Starting with the fact that there are two syntax's that are not equal. It's a half assed version of the worst parts of javascript and the worst parts of xml ideology. It's awful for modern applications. It's difficult to learn. It's horrible to use on a Mac. Or any *nix. It encourages anti-pattern after anti-pattern. The community is awful. I mean awful. Anyone who was good moved on years ago. Anyone still using it is either forced to, or hasn't bothered to look out the window in a while. There's very little help available. I had to use OpenBD which is an open source CFML implementation, which only further complicated learning by being ever so slightly undocumentedly different. Everyday of writing it was a maddening endeavor. I've used a lot of languages, on a lot of platforms, compiled and script, and none are as frustrating as CFML, at least, OpenBD's version of it. Using CFML today is like using a pair of scissors to mow your lawn and watching all your neighbors use riding lawnmowers. I'd recommend literally anything else if you are starting a new project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nothing. Delays. Unwieldy garbage code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't. This is a dying tech stack. It has the worst community. It has a fractured community. It hasn't evolved meaningfully in years. For the love of your employees, coworkers, families, children, puppies, parents, bosses, neighbors, the community and country, do not inflict this awful nightmare upon yourself.