Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vmware Tanzu GemFire BYOL

Pivotal Software Inc. | v1.3

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

10 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Iulian B.

Used Gemfire at work to save and retrieve data easily.

  • August 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's quite fast and lets you save the data as a whole object which makes it easier to retrieve.
What do you dislike?
It's quite hard to query data using Gemfire. I used Pulse Gemfire Monitoring and it's not so easy to query the data as it would be in a SQL database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
One of the scenarios where Gemfire was used was to store the cache data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Depends on what do they want to do with it. If the purpose of using it is to retrieve data quickly and store it with not so many problems, then it's fine. Implementing caching with Gemfire is also a good choice because it is quick (no data has to be changed).


    Computer Software

Support with other analytical DBs

  • July 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There is a great integration capability with Pivotal Greenplum that help you seamlessly transfer data to perform analytics and also use as efficient transactional data storage.
What do you dislike?
Adding custom jars was bit problematic but that might have improved now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were teying to solve HTAP Hybrid Transaction and And Analytical Processing with GemFire and Greenplum


    Nilesh K.

Gemfire is good for cache opearations.

  • June 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It support cluster base operation. Store data in hawq. usefull for performinng aggregation operations.
What do you dislike?
Everything is perfect. apart from costing of gemfire everything is fine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have performed aggregate operations and sent to UI tool.


    Vinod Kumar P.

About Pivotal Gemfire

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful Cache provided by Pivotal
Excellent Performance
More robust
Good software to use in Event driven applications
very reliable with Microservices
Easily scalable
Always return fresh data
High concurrency
Real time event notifications/log messages
Less run time costs
Best integration with spring or springboot
Better security
Flexibility
Running Native client applications made easy and easy to maintain
Very good option for Cloud applications
What do you dislike?
difficult to implement,
not easy to understand
difficult to maintain
There are some Performance Limitiations
Configurations require full definition
sometimes it's very difficult fromDelta to be invoked because there is no object to apply the delta for receiving cache
Gemfire wont propage details for Transactional commit on server,putAll operations, server VM's running on older versions
Cache keys are strictly String type
special formats like JSON are not allowed in this
All GemFire Java and native client classes operating on data also accessed by the REST interface must be PDX serialized either via PDX autoserialization or by implementing PdxSerializable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Replacement to Third party applications like REDIS

Maintaining single provider for all kinds of requirements like Pivotal Gemfire, Pivotal Cloud, Spring Boot etc

You can configure GemFire native clients to cache data locally, or they can act in a cacheless mode where they retrieve data from a cache server and directly pass it to other system members without incurring the caching overhead

Access Gemfire through REST Services by storing objects in Gemfire as PdxInstances. A PdxInstance is a light-weight wrapper around PDX serialized bytes. It provides applications with run-time access to fields of a PDX serialized object. This interoperable format allows your Java applications to operate on the same data as your REST applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To maintain better performance for cloud native applications which uses Microservices architecture which are located on mainly in Pivotal cloud

To maintain all softwares from single provider for easy financial management

Cache keys are strictly String type.

If you want to store JSON Objects, this is not a right product as Gemfire have some limitations on content type storing in it.


    Banking

Very fast and reliable in memory database

  • April 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gemfire is a powerful in-memory database which is perfect for a large amount of data. It's incredibly fast and easily configurable.
Simple, fast and effective. Nothing more needed.
Gemfire has been not too hard to setup and has been proven to be working in a high demanding application with a large amount of requests. The reliability has also been great. Multiple nodes and a well configured load balancer had helped in providing a 99.99% of up time.
What do you dislike?
The SQL-ish language is fairly basic and it could do with a more comprehensive one. The GUI is fairly basic as well.
It has been quite some time since I used it so things might have been improved since 2016.
Insertion time have been a bit too slow. For large set of data, and in case the gemfire nodes are in need of reboot it will take quite some time to start. Ensure you always have a backup running if you do not want a nasty surprise in production.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used to have increased speed in our demanding application, storing a large set of rules at startup. This greatly improved the efficiency and speed times of of our application which needed to inquiry gemfire several times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking at a fast in memory db Gemfire is definitely something I would consider. Bear in mind that the larger the data set, the more time it will take to start up and the more memory consumption it will take.
A load balancer should sit on top of the gemfire installation to ensure that you won't have any downtime in production.


    Kuang-nien Kevin C.

I used Gemfire in a prove of concept project for dynamic data driven decision making

  • April 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very impressive for its performance of dealing the inline data processing. Calculation and other data manipulation. The scalibility is also incredible for us.
What do you dislike?
But, it lack of SQL interface. And it may impact the efficiency of routine operations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for in line data calculation to derive decision on demand. It can speed up the overall process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
need to consider the suitable use case for fitting.


    Haince Denis P.

Excellent distributed caching data store

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am a part of Gemfire infrastructure as a service team within Morgan Stanley's technology engineering division. I like the the way gemfire provides user the ability to rebalance the nodes, provide scalability and high availability by building redundant partitions and regions across cache servers, spanning multiple data centers.
What do you dislike?
Algorithm for Key rebalancing by redistributing the buckets across the cache servers is kind of hard coded (113 buckets by default but can be tweaked), unlike hazelcast or redis who have more flexibility around that area. When I spoke to Pivotal, they said it's the optimal number that they derived and works best for the product, I was not very satisfied with the answer. Also, although we pay a few hundred thousand dollars every year for support as a part of our Gemfire-Greenplum SLA, it is not very good as far as I experienced.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Gemfire as a distributed caching space to store user sessions for business critical applications (both web and mobile), storing transactions, providing high availability and failover capabilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Pivotal Gemfire is a good product. But I would recommend users to take a look at products like Hazelcast and Redis, as they might fit better based on the use-case.


    Banking

My experience with gemfire is awesome

  • March 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
More integration point
I would like gemfire to be in compatible with NOSQL like mongo
What do you dislike?
Debugging I production. Less compatible to clouds
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debugging in production
I think implimetation of logic can be better if they come up with more packages
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As said more integration point need to be added


    Capital Markets

Gemfire user

  • October 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Object Cache, Wan Gateway, GFMon, GFSH and other auxillary tools.
What do you dislike?
Not having SQL interface makes it difficult for applications to use data on Gemfire.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securities Operational data store


    Pooja K.

As a User

  • June 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
mainly its scalability is one of the major attraction. makes working with huge data easier. also due to the way it is built(architecture), there is considerately less latency than it should have been. Also that it supports in memory storage is a huge plus. it is user friendly, easy to pick up and follow the instruction given on the documentation page of pivotal, and you are good to go. So as a new user trying out new tools, i liked this.
What do you dislike?
there are not much things I can think of. but the server crashes suddenly which is something I dont like. also the application doesnt start most of them. its either slow or takes multiple attempt. But over all very steady
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have mainly used it for big data domain, as in big data analysis, big data analytics, and big data solutionns. the big data suite of pivotal is of great use. it is perfect for large scale due to its in memory database and low latency. Its benefits me due to the features like resilient automation and supporting RESTful API
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try it you will love it. it is easy to use. I started it out as an experiment of seeing and evaluating what best suits my needs and I was happy with the Big Dt Suite of PivotalGemfire. I have not used too many tools and still a leaner but I surely recommend this tool to new users since its easy to understand and use


showing 1 - 10