Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Enterprise Linux 7.4 supported by Navisite

Navisite | V2.0.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Good for customization & developers

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of running scripts from command line & multiple sources for help
What do you dislike?
Sometimes difficult to work with other OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly use in developing python and shell scripts. Linux makes it simple to run tests


    Sandeep V.

Oracle Linux

  • November 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its very compatible with all the software and also user-friendly. Also the performance of the server and oracle Cloud Infrastructure and Oracle Engineered Systems is awesome
What do you dislike?
If they can add more Plugins for compatibility
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux in Microsoft Azure plugin configuration


    Computer Software

Not a good Linux Distro

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing, this is not a good distribution of Linux in any shape, size or form. They take what works well in Linux and hide it behind layers of Oracle madness. It will act as a hypervisor, we thought would make our Oracle licensing easier; however it didn't work out that way it just added to the cost and complexity of the OS install.
What do you dislike?
Oracle Linux has an overly complex install and licensing process combined with bad documentation. Every time we had to install a security patch or OS upgrade, it would turn into a battle.
It provides nothing that RedHat and other Linux distros don't at a higher cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had used it as a hypervisor in hopes it would allow us to comply with Oracle's many licensing requirements, which it did. However, we found we could do the same thing using VMware at a lower cost. We did find Oracle Linux to be a stable OS assuming you didn't try to make any changes to it.


    Francisco F.

One of the best alternatives for open operating systems

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux Oracle is very similar to CentOS and Red hat, it fulfills its functions, and there is a lot of documentation on the Internet to optimize.
It is very stable, has frequent updates, the knowledge base and forums are open to investigating new functions and tools.
It is easy to install; it does not consume resources.
It is best to use the command line (CLI), but the graphical interface works very well; you decide which visual environment to install.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it is a little bit complicated to find the correct settings or commands, but the forums are open, and there is a lot of documentation on the Internet; you may improve techniques, and it becomes easier to handle in the future.
Unlike other Linux distributions, it is not recommended to update every time one is available; functions may stop working.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When handling this operating system, good results were obtained; the integration with homemade systems and the stability looked much better.


    MD E.

Oracle Linux the best tool to connect to the Oracle Database

  • September 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am using Oracle Linux 7 to connect to the Oracle Database. Oracle Linux has many features. It has amazing interface. Connectivity through putty to the Database is very good.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's static IP change frequently. Powering off takes much time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Oracle Linux 7. I use it to connect to the Oracle Database through putty. We take care of Database through Oracle Linux 7.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Multipurpose solving.


    Germari C.

Professional Stable System

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Install on PC and server for control, security and stable for users main system, full user registration, compatible with Fedora and RHEL applications, connect with different Oracle software and open source for control and visualization.
What do you dislike?
It demands a lot of system resources for low performance tasks, the system itself demands more and more with recurring updates.
Integrating the server requires time and a lot of Linux knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database registration, data control and stable and secure administration of extra Oracle applications and other independent services.
Increased performance compared to Windows servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Update server to have better performance main system manage Orable applications and much more.
Works together with RHEL.


    vinoth k.

Best and free database operating system

  • September 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use oracle Linux to replace our old windows database servers, It is easy to handle and compatible with all oracle applications. Since it is free to open source even startups can also make use of it. We do have a community where we can post our doubts In. The advantage of Linux is it does have multi-user support with windows we do not have this.
What do you dislike?
One should have the more technical knowledge to operate this. It does need a learning curve but it is totally worth having it.
It does have some bugs while updating the patches. Since it lacks GUI support it is not easy for beginners to handle.
They can improve customer service a bit.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We do use it for our database servers to manage our data. Since it is cheaper than windows server and security-wise Linux stands out of crowd
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is only for Linux-skilled personals who have prior experience in Linux commands. Once we learn those commands it is quite easy to handle this. It is way more secured than windows and it is also much cheaper.


    Information Technology and Services

Best OS for Hybrid Cloud

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's zero downtime automated patching is very good feature
What do you dislike?
It takes time to get feature upgrades, issue with bugs and patches while running
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is stable without sudden reboots and have better memory managment


    Sneha M.

Oracle linux: Compatibility and Scalability

  • July 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install. It is an open source platform with open cloud network.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult to understand. It requires specialized employees and technical knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security is enhanced. It has optimizes the environment for better performance. Connection to Oracle database applications can be done easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try. It is a platform that provides high performance and scalability.
You can easily work with Oracle Linux if you have required skill set.
It has an extensive community.
It has high efficiency.
Oracle linux accelerrates digital transformation.


    Government Administration

Must have for working within the Oracle framework

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Before moving over to the Oracle Linux environment, we had used UNIX. LINUX has a better system architecture and has better compatibility. We also preferred it over Windows since it had multi-user support and was better with threading.
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to get used to the new command-line syntax and a bit of a learning curve with that. Still use a cheat sheet for that. We had some difficulty with drive mapping as well and user privileges when connecting from the Oracle DB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security has been enhanced going into Oracle Linux from Unix. There were some scripts that needed to be changed slightly for LINUX, but it was a minor fix. LINUX integrated with Oracle better since it optimized the environment for better performance. We received better support directly from Oracle as well when we ran into system issues.