Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Trifacta Data Preparation for Amazon Redshift and S3

Trifacta | Trifacta Data Preparation 8.2.1 for Amazon Redshift and S3

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9.2009 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Paolo M.

Data wrangling using scheduled jobs

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dataset insights are really useful especially when you need to discover data distribution between dataset features. Usage can be learnt by no technical people.
Job are monitored in a very simple way using dataflow UI.
What do you dislike?
No sources despite gstorage and big query. Lack of udf transformations
I can't specify max number of workers in job creation.
Apache beam version is not the latest one.
Some jobs making use of views stopped working without any clear reason.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trifacta solves the problem of creating scheduled jobs to process historical data creating an aggregated view of them. We also used trifacta to run big query ml algorithms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use trifacta to perform easily data transformations on large datasets allowing not technical users to performs this kind of tasks


    Udit M.

Time Saver and the Best Data Cleaning tool on the market

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The integration with Google cloud makes it so easy to transfer files back and forth. The best part about the tool is its data visualization on top of each column that makes it easy to identify the parameters. The easy to use User Interface is also something I like the most.
What do you dislike?
Limitation to not use SQL queries and also the limitation to individually select a specific column and edit it like Excel. Lacking the Highlight duplicates feature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Trifacta for data cleaning and it is an excellent time-saver. I previously did all my data cleaning using excel manually before this. Trifacta has reduced my turn around time by almost 2X.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Data transformation for everyone

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dataprep is an excellent tool to take your dataset structure or unstructured to clean, enrich, transform before you publish. The Dataprep tool is easy to use with its simplicity , that is how a UI should be simple for the user packing a lot of punch behind the scene. I have used Dateprep in the Google Cloud Platform, and it integrates with other Google Cloud Platform services in an easy step by step fashion.

On the Google Cloud Platform Dataprep is setup as service on a serverless environment, to get started there is no hardware or software installation required, you just enable the service to start.

I have done a few transformations and I wrote up an article about one specific project I worked on with Dataprep, you can find the article on my blog at this address https://torbjornzetterlund.com/maritime-noon-report-with-google-cloud-dataprep/
What do you dislike?
Knowing your datasets are important, so when you import your dataset into Dataprep you do not need to wrangle them a lot. I have used an early version of Dataprep on the Google Cloud Platform, you could only get data from BigQuery, Cloud Storage or a direct .csv/.json file import. Limited data connectors, I understand that this is changing in the new version of Dataprep.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I think that is best explained in this article - https://torbjornzetterlund.com/maritime-noon-report-with-google-cloud-dataprep/
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A great tool for your Data practise arsenal


    Gregg E.

Metrics Analyst using Trifacta

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is no-code environment and easy to learn.
What do you dislike?
Learning a new tool and not knowing the cost of my work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I upload data to GCP storage and use Trifacta in GCP to clean, transfer, and schedule jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Build and easy to use API to upload data on networks or systems


    Mike B.

Useful for non-tech and tech users, but can't automate it

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use this for transferring a medium amount of data daily from avro files. The transformation rules and macros are very powerful---this is a good way of importing data into BigQuery without having to write the transformations programmatically.
What do you dislike?
The UI is fine for setting up a few transformations and scheduling them, but it's tedious when you have to set up 10 or 50 of them. If I could script the setup I'd probably rate Trifacta a 10. As it is, it takes several minutes per table to click, click, click your way through the procedure.

There are also a few minor UI shortcomings---e.g. you often end up with the wrong number of parameters in the last step of setting up an export, but it doesn't always tell you which ones they are, so you have to go all the way back and try again.

Also, it would be great if it was compatible with more databases and flat-text formats. But it sounds like this is on the roadmap.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We looked at a few ways of setting up the nightly import of avro files; the nice part of Trifacta is that it doesn't need a programmer/data engineer to set it up. It's not trivial, but it's not hard, either.


    Education Management

Using TRIFACTA as a data wrangling tool for real time data profiling

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
real time data profiling on a variety of different data sources
What do you dislike?
data sampling is good but it is 2-steps!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting to different data sources in real-time is great. But the 2-step process could be slow at times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do perform ample due diligence about what you wanted to use Trifacta for. For example, we wanted to use Trifacta to help us deDup, After a couple of months, we are still learning the tool. We have not got on the task of De-Duplicating our records yet.


    Kaylene R.

I enjoy trifacta because of its ease of use to transform data in almost anyway

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly interface, with no coding nessisary. Filled with so many trnaformations
What do you dislike?
I don't perticularly dislike anything, it's very good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trifacta has made my work life faster, easier and streamlined day to day transformations. Wrangling tool you can use with any data types. User friendly interface, with no coding nessisary.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend you use trifacta to replace long winded data wrangling and transformations.


    Higher Education

Ensnared

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive and intelligent interface with some exceptions, out of the box with GCP.
What do you dislike?
First it’s riddled with bugs. Second, Trifacta recently increased pricing without justification, as well as pricing model, which for us is a 3000% increase that basically will throw our Data warehouse project back 6 month or more and cost someone a job.

Typically Google is not taking any responsibility for this price increase or anything else. But they sure like to receive our money.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It’s an easy tool to combine and clean up data when working on ETL for a project like a data warehouse.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lots of bugs and unpredictable pricing increases.


    Ravitej B.

Google Cloud Dataprep

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to transform the data on Google Cloud Data Prep without coding, it is a absolute game changes for business users who work with data day in and day out but don't have coding skills. We also like the AI features where we can transform the data by example which gives us the ability to provide few examples and datapre takes care of the transformation. we also liked the ability to integrate datapre with rest of the cloud service on Google Cloud Platform like Bigquery and Google cloud storage.
What do you dislike?
Current version that we used did not had the ability to connect to on-premise database like oracle, we had to create jobs in python which is time consuming and we had to rely on IT team to get the task done.
We would also like to see feature to extract data in xlsx files which we don't see currently
Is there a feature to orchestrate Data Flows without using third party schedules like airflow
Feature to create Custom filters (in a drop down)
We are absolutely new to wrangler programing language so we had to learn to build few custom transformation that were not available out of the box
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Google Cloud Dataprep gives us the ability to transform data with out coding and it is a game changes, we don't rely on IT for most of the transformations work but we leverage inbuilt feature for all the transformations work. Datapre is current generation tool with the ability to upscale or downscale base don the need.


    Banking

Perfect wrangling tool

  • July 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity of the tool as it can be used by anyone especially with no It experience
What do you dislike?
Lack of some advanced features like moving recipes from environment to another need to be done via download and re upload the recipes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data wrangling
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool to analyze you data with just your mouse.