Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

New Relic Infrastructure and Application Monitoring

With complete visibility from the customer to code to containers, New Relic gives you an easy way to manage the complexities of your AWS environment. See the context of every change in your environment and optimize EC2 health. When issues occur, reduce mean time to detection (MTTD) and resolution (MTTR).... See more

Customer Reviews

12
Create Your Own Review

We have been able to proactively identify failures before they happen

  • By Chris L.
  • on 12/29/2018

It monitors all of our services that are running. It also monitors our infrastructure. Therefore, we use it for monitoring, identifying when services go down, or when they are outside of what we would consider normal operations.
How has it helped my organization?
We have been able to proactively identify failures before they happen. As an example of something in the last week, we had an instance where a volume was filling up on one of our VMs, so we set up a basic alert that if it got to a certain point, it would send me an email. This way, my support team or I could take some action on it and execute a run look. This has prevented failures from occurring in our production environment.
What is most valuable?
The alerts that it provides is one of the most common things that we use. As an example, when a service isn't performing how we anticipated it, either I receive an email or my support team receives an email, then we can take action on it.
What needs improvement?
It is complicated, especially in how you interpret the data that it provides. For someone who works in it every day, I can figure out what I want. For the general, every day developer who uses it once a month, there is large learning curve to figure out exactly the information that they want from it. If it had a bit more canned, out-of-the-box features, especially some of the reporting features, that would be more useful.
Sometimes, it is difficult to work through and figure out. Some things are difficult to work through which is why I haven't done them yet, because it will take me six hours to figure out how to set them up, e.g., the dashboard. How I want it to look and how the developers might want to interpret that data, but I don't have six hours to go figure this out, and it takes a long time to do this stuff.
They have this alerting capability where I can set up an alert policy, then within that alert policy, I can set up as many alerts as I want. I can set up one or I can set up a 1000. I would like a feature where I can turn off alerting at a policy level. Thus, when a policy is inactive, I can shut down all of my alerts within the policy. Right now, I have to go through them manually and deactivate each one that I don't want to use.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have never seen it be down or unavailable. So, the stability is good.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
I've never had an issue with scalability. They have been able to scale and handle everything that we've sent them.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have used their online support. I don't think I've ever had a phone call from anyone, but I've definitely exchanged some emails with their online support forums, which has worked out well.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We used to use AppDynamics, which is one of their big competitors. I don't exactly know why the switch. We were told to go to New Relic. I think a lot of it had to do with the cost. Possibly, they found New Relic to be a cheaper alternative to AppDynamics.
How was the initial setup?
The configuration and installation were good. New Relic has some very good documentation. Everything in their API is some of the best that I have seen. It wasn't without issues because it's a piece of technology, and we had to figure out how to use it, but everything has worked well.
The issues were working through the documentation and figuring out exactly how to implement on some of the technology.
What about the implementation team?
I did all the configuration, so there is a portion where we install an agent on our infrastructure and on our web services that run. I did all of that configuration. They gave me the account ID and the license to go with it, and I configured that in some of their config files, then I knew exactly where to send the logs to, etc.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Corporate handled the licensing and the purchasing of it, then they gave me a license key. However they configured it is how we use it.
What other advice do I have?
If you are looking to evaluate New Relic, compared it to other products, it is very powerful in terms of what it can do. However, it is a complicated to interpret some of the data which is provided with it. There is a trade off if you want to implement this product versus implementing something that is simpler and out-of-the-box, but not obtaining as much depth in what you can learn.


It gives us the visibility that we need in monitoring

  • By CTOAndVp2210
  • on 12/26/2018

We use it for monitoring the CPU, memory, services, email rates, etc.
How has it helped my organization?
We monitor the Internet daily, or every few days. Then, every time there is a crisis, high traffic, or if we see a problem with a server, we go to New Relic and monitor it to determine the cause.
What is most valuable?
* The APM
* Monitoring
* The capabilities which allow you to easily see whatever you are looking for.
What needs improvement?
* I would like to be able to invest less time in IT and ad hocs. We should be concentrating on other issues.
* I would like more deep dive monitoring into services and being able to install it on some apps.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is stable. We don't have any issues.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good. We have a few thousand servers, and it is up and down based on the traffic and need. We have New Relic on all of our servers.
How is customer service and technical support?
We don't use the technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was quite easy.
We have it integrated mostly with our physical servers.
What was our ROI?
The product saves time and money.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy. The product is easy to deploy and manage, which is why our company purchased through the AWS Marketplace.
The pricing could be better. We did not purchase the full version. Maybe if we applied all the other features of the full version of New Relic, we could get all the features that we feel are missing.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
In addition to New Relic, we evaluated Monitis and Dynatrace. We chose New Relic because it was cheaper for us as a startup, and it is also faster and more user-friendly.
What other advice do I have?
Go with it. It is a good product. It gives us the visibility that we need in monitoring.


It has been helpful for our developers when they are tracking down issues

  • By CloudArchitect2309
  • on 12/26/2018

We use it for application performance monitoring. It helps us to track down the bottlenecks in the application, whether it is in the database or the front-end. It is helpful for our developers when they are tracking down issues.
How has it helped my organization?
We are concerned about our application's print and load times. It should be faster for the end user's experience. New Relic has helped us in terms of the optimizing our print and loading times.
It has solved many of our performance issues.
What is most valuable?
The deep insights, which will give you the metrics (not a high level), so we can build out at the database level where the bottleneck is. This has been pretty helpful.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is good. We haven't had any issues with New Relic. We load test for about 10,000 users accessing the application for every five minutes. This is our use case, and New Relic was used to monitor how the application is performing.
We use SaaS, so we don't really manage New Relic in any of the boxes.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good, because it is already running on AWS.
How is customer service and technical support?
We have not used technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was very easy.
We have plans to integrate with other products going forward.
What was our ROI?
It has saved on our developers' time when digging into performance issues.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing model is a little confusing for beginners. They find it a little expensive, and if you are using it already, then that is not good.
Purchasing from the AWS Marketplace is very straightforward. When you buy it from AWS Marketplace, you can go with both options: URL SSL license and On Demand. So, when you are building, it is part of AWS, and this is convenient for end users.
We deploy everything on AWS. Purchasing the product on AWS Marketplace made it easier for us.
The pricing is okay comparatively their competitors. The only concern was whether it should be purchased on demand or bring your own license, and which way passes some savings onto the end customers.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated a couple of other vendors: AppDynamics and Datadog. They were quite a few other players as well, but we are happy with New Relic because it is simple to use and the developers can use it in their development.
What other advice do I have?
Evaluate it, because it supports almost all the popular run times. Most of the popular languages support this, like Java. So, it makes it adaptable and easy to use.


The Serverless AWS has helped us with our monitoring. However, we would like a more sophisticated filtering for the Serverless AWS pieces.

  • By Giacomo P.
  • on 12/24/2018

We are monitoring our server database to see if there are any anomalies or problems with the servers and databases.
How has it helped my organization?
Since we migrated from on-premise solution to the cloud (AWS), we have migrated somethings into Lambda API Gateway and DynamoDB. We have also done the New Relic integration with Serverless AWS, which has helped us with monitoring, and keeping our monitoring from our on-premise part with the cloud part.
What is most valuable?
* The alerting system
* The integration of API Gateway with Lamda and Serverless AWS.
What needs improvement?
We are sharing different AWS accounts, and if a Lambda has with the same name but a different AWS account, it is a little hard to understand whether AWS or Lamda belongs to that account. Also, we have multiple accounts on the drop down to filter by Lambda, but we see two Lambda with the same name, then we don't know which one to choose. So, it needs to improve its filtering.
We would like a more sophisticated filtering for the Serverless AWS pieces.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We have not had an issue with stability, so we are happy with it.
For all the features that they have and for the amount of data that we feed them, it handles the stress well.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We run 20 web servers, 500 Lambdas, and 50 DynamoDB tables. We also have an enterprise SQL Server with different instances along with MySQL databases and mobile applications.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would rate the technical support an eight out of ten.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We were previously using Datadog. At the time of the switch, both companies were closely related product-wise, and some of our company was already using New Relic. We also chose it because the monitoring tool and alerting system fit our needs.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment needs improvement on the filtering part. I would like it to go more granular on accounts. There is also some room for improvement on the integration with Serverless AWS.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Because of budget, we are not using the mobile app part of this tool.
What other advice do I have?
New Relic has been in the business for a while. It offers a wide selection to attach a monitoring mobile app, server, and cloud. If you want to go with just one product, it fits all your needs.


It works well with the AWS platform that we are using. The integration with AWS was straightforward and easy.

  • By Sunder R.
  • on 12/24/2018

We use it for application performance monitoring.
What is most valuable?
Its most valuable feature is application performance monitoring.
It gives me a complete x-ray of the application to understand where the bottlenecks are, then improve and fix issues.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We send through all our real-time transactions through it, and it is very stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is very good. We have a large real-time environment for processing payments.
How is customer service and technical support?
Their technical support is pretty good and responsive. We have a real good relationship with them.
What about the implementation team?
The integration and configuration of New Relic was straightforward and easy.
It works well with the AWS platform that we are using. The integration with AWS was straightforward and easy.
What was our ROI?
We have seen ROI.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Comparatively, the pricing is expensive.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I zeroed in on New Relic. I was looking for a cloud native product at the time that I was looking for a solution, and two years ago, it was one of the leading products. It was quick to market, and we wanted to implement something quickly. It provided all the features which were required, and we didn't have to do our own installs within our data center.
What other advice do I have?
Give it a shot. See if it meets your use case.


Our operations center can go back and look at trending and history of the applications. They have alerts set up which trigger off of it.

  • By SeniorSt9e39
  • on 12/24/2018

* Infrastructure management
* Application management
How has it helped my organization?
We have an operations center which uses it quite extensively to manage production. They can go back and look at trending and history of the applications. They have alerts set up which trigger off of it.
I go in afterwards and help do the root cause analysis and troubleshooting.
What is most valuable?
It is a software solution as a service, so I don't have to manage it on-premise.
What needs improvement?
I would like to have storage monitoring. E.g., being able to monitor SANS, specifically protocols, like NFS and CIFS metrics. I have not seen the ability for it to do this and having some way to do this would be awesome.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is fine.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It seems scalable enough. We are always hitting the limit of the number of agents that we have, then we buy more and it works.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have not used technical support.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
New Relic SaaS seems to do some things much better than SolarWinds, which we have on-premise.
What other advice do I have?


It has been helpful to patch things before they are a problem

  • By Ben B.
  • on 12/16/2018

Monitoring the health of our infrastructure.
How has it helped my organization?
It has given us better insight into the performance of the system, allowing us to prepare things, if necessary. It has been helpful to patch things before they are a problem.
What is most valuable?
We are able to drill down and see what is going on in the system.
What needs improvement?
The price needs improvement.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is on our production workload, so we put a fair amount of stress on it. However, it is sort of self-contained. We do not really have to do much with it.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Size of the environment is 30 VMs which are instrumented with New Relic.
I haven't had any scaling problems with it.
How is customer service and technical support?
We receive technical support as part of our subscription.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of the product into our AWS environment was extremely easy.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing and licensing are too high.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Dynatrace and a few others. These competitors did not provide as much in-depth information, but they were considered because they were far more cost-effective.
We went with New Relic because it was best of breed.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend to go with New Relic.
It integrated well with Docker. They have Lambda support now, so it has been fairly seamless.


It monitors all our systems and is reliable

  • By JoaoBatista
  • on 12/14/2018

We use it for application and infrastructure monitoring. It covers all of our systems, including our main eCommerce system.
How has it helped my organization?
As soon as it monitors all our systems and is integrated with PagerDuty, the operations team just needs to wait for alerts on their cellphones to fix things.
What is most valuable?
It's reliable, and the APM is the best of the market today.
What needs improvement?
I would like if it could have predictive analysis. Today, we only have the option to configure thresholds.
In addition, it would be nice to have centralized log management, like Datadog does. As New Relic already has all of the application information and traces, it could compare them with application logs and do better analysis.
Thus, it could be cheaper, have predictive analysis and log management.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It supports our Black Friday week, when our requests increase about 500 percent. It's very stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We never had any issue with scalability. It is perfect. It currently monitors about 150 EC2 instances and several AWS services.
How was the initial setup?
For the integration and configuration of New Relic in our AWS environment, we need to install an agent on all the EC2 instances to get the APM working. Also, it has an IAM user on the AWS Management Console, allowing for AWS metrics and for it to monitor other services.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We renewed our contract directly with New Relic since our systems were hosted on on-premise data centers.
The new licensing model is great, as we pay for what we use (in computational units). However, the pricing is expensive compared to other tools.
What other advice do I have?


The infrastructure of New Relic is very stable, and it works well

  • By David C.
  • on 12/13/2018

I use the product for monitoring many types of metrics, e.g., availability and comparing numbers in relation to products. I evaluate the response time of servers and the product to determine the health of the servers.
How has it helped my organization?
Sometimes, I monitor the user's time of response and use this information to improve the number of servers on the back-end. Or, I can use it to change my back log for front-end developers and improve their response times. It's very important in this case because I can improve the experience of the final user.
What is most valuable?
Time of response for back-end and front-end (user) requests.
What needs improvement?
There is a picture which goes to your browser and it monitors requests from other users. However, it's impossible to use now because the price is very high. The feature is very nice, but I tried it during the trial period, and the current price makes it impossible to use.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The infrastructure of New Relic is very stable, and it works well.
How was the initial setup?
We are using AWS Cloud, and I integrated New Relic with our software, was very simple. It is easy to use the New Relic product, and it is not a hard connection between AWS Cloud and it.
What was our ROI?
The return of investment is very good.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
New Relic browsers are very expensive.
I recommend using the free version of New Relic. If you like the free version and understand its importance for your company, you can move to the trial. Then, you can migrate to the paid version.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
I have tried other competitors of New Relic, but the other competitors which I tried were not good. On the other hand, the competitors are cheaper than New Relic.
We chose New Relic because it has all the attributes which we are using to monitor the health of servers.
What other advice do I have?


It gives insights to non-technical people about what technical issues are most important

  • By Sean F.
  • on 12/13/2018

The primary use case is monitoring.
How has it helped my organization?
It gives insights to non-technical people about what technical issues are most important, how much it impacts customers, and potentially, where we should be targeting our development teams when they have time.
What is most valuable?
It has in-depth analysis using developer code for someone whose not traditionally a developer.
What needs improvement?
They could improve the education process and how people understand that these tools are very technical. I understand everything very quickly and where it all comes in because I grew up with the product, but right now if someone was to pick it up from day one, it is a very steep learning curve.
The monitoring is only as good as the alerts that it produces. By having it set up fine grain alerting, it is a bit of a pain. They already have all these other companies that use their system, so they should easily be able do alerts based on deviations that we don't need to program on a per instance or artifact basis.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It has been stable for all our work lines.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
So far, I haven't hit any scaling issues with them, and the environments that I have come from have thousands of servers being monitored.
How is customer service and technical support?
Their technical support has been pretty good.
How was the initial setup?
It was quite hard to integrate, if you weren't technically skilled.
A lot of people who consume this product may not be technically skilled, but if you are, it is easy to use. From this perspective, it is really good, but this is an important aspect as well.
What was our ROI?
This was recently implemented at the current place that I work. Previously, without a monitoring solution, a developer could potentially spend a day working on a feature or a bug to try and resolve and issue. Now, a lot of the times, with monitoring put in place, we can understand if a customer is actually hitting this bug, and how often they are hitting it, and how much frustration they are dealing with on a day-by-day basis, then reprioritize our tasks. It gives our developers that insight, or it gives less skilled engineers or less technical leads the ability to ramp up quickly on what that particular bug is, so we can easily scale out. So, the cost of solving that problem isn't just reliant on a tech lead understands the system or built the system. Anyone can find the issue, including associates, and the amount of time they spend debugging has been reduced by a lot.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
They gave us aggressive discounts when they were brought in for the first time, but they have also kept them for the year-on-year renewals, which has been absolutely fine. Thus, we haven't looked to change.
The pricing and licensing are good if you have an account manager and a partner manager who are looking to help out.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated AppDynamics and Dynatrace.
We chose New Relic because they have a slightly different pricing model. We were aggressively negotiating price, which means they gave us a pretty good price. Since then, they have continued upholding that same level of customer service, discounts, and partner level. So, it has been really nice working with them.
What other advice do I have?
You definitely need this product if you want scale and stability.
It fulfills what it's designed to do. Their constant iteration of features means it will always keep us well-informed about that particular requirement about the software.
We are also using New Relic with PagerDuty and Slack. They integrate pretty seamlessly. A couple of button pushes, and it was done.