Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

12 AWS reviews

External reviews

206 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Information Services

Good tool for monitor your application.

  • July 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gives simple and detailed performance insights for each part of your application or environment and that too in real-time!
What do you dislike?
Paid version is exterminate expensive otherwise it is ok for me
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
New Relic enables us to detect and fix issues on our production servers faster.


    Information Technology and Services

Great product, but has gotten more expensive

  • July 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
New relic is still by far one of the easiest APM products to deploy and gives excellent visibility. its python support is top notch.
What do you dislike?
price hikes. newrelic has increased its prices and is now not as accessible to smaller operations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
New relic APM is providing us with visibility into our transaction flows, including data tier performance, python application servers as well as python background workers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look whether competitors are able to deliver the results you need and the specific support level you need for cheaper. if not, New Relic APM would be a good choice.


    Internet

A nice APM solution

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Used it previously for websites powered by Wordpress and server monitoring. It proved to be easy to configure and has provided a good depth of info.
What do you dislike?
Entry level services that used to be free were discontinued.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring the performance of WordPress powered websites. Checking for performance impact of new hooks, themes and plugins.


    Javier C.

Better Solution But Slower too

  • April 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the simplicity of install New Relic agent on each server ... It's such a really simple thing and also all the information about server's health .. throughput, response time, error rate, database connections and the possibility of identify slow queries.
What do you dislike?
I do not like the response time of new relic APM. I do not know if there is a problem with my location (Buenos Aires) or with the amount of applications that we have tracking in its system. But every time I want to access my application APM page, I have to wait some minutes to get it loaded at 100% ... It is really awful when I have to see my metrics "right now". And the application search input does not work so well too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are tracking all of our application servers to know real time data about performance, throughput, uptime, errors, server's health, etc.The real benefit is to have all these data in a few minutes grouped in only one page with the minimum effort.


    Apparel & Fashion

Good APM for cloud

  • February 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to collate statistics from different VMs across cloud providers and provide a single view of the application.
What do you dislike?
Setting up the dashboard in quite cumbersome and not an intiutive process
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
NewRelic helps us monitor the health of our application in various environments and alerts us when there are issues with specific servers.


    ahmed w.

everything is awesome with New Relic APM!

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It doesn’t just ‘monitor’ different aspects of our work, but it also connects them in a comprehensive union. I was pleased to discover that response time can be divided in backend layers.I like that it didn’t take me days to set it up, and even if I was suspicious at the beginning, I received a feature-packed monitoring system. Performance is outstanding so far, having in mind that we’re only using a free plan to keep an eye on our service. Imagine what an upper plan could do!
What do you dislike?
0There is nothing about New Relic APM I don't like.!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We located and defeated many ill-performing queries, removed delays and bottlenecks in our server desk IO and traffic charge. The list of benefits is quite long.Every time the application went down, I was able to identify the problem and to solve it too.!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i recommend it,you should try it!


    Non-Profit Organization Management

New Relic APM

  • January 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use of the software. The reports provided and alerting mechanisms. Very valuable tool for my technical team. They are the ones using it and then are able to provide better support to our end users. While I dont use the tool I was the executive sponsor of the tool for utilization by my IT team. They provide data and reports to me that I am able to share with executive leadership.
What do you dislike?
Tool has performed well in our environment and provided good insight to our web infrastructure. As a new user nothing to dislike so far.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to gain more insight into our web infrastructure and see what type of performance we were really getting. Wanted to narrow down issues in order to be more pro-active in solving problems. We also wanted to be proavtive in alerting to potential problems prior to them becoming full fledged issues. The tool has enabled my technical team
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you review all capabilities thoroughly to ensure you get what you want. Make sure technical team involved both from an infrastructure and application development perspective.


    Chris L.

We have been able to proactively identify failures before they happen

  • December 29, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It monitors all of our services that are running. It also monitors our infrastructure. Therefore, we use it for monitoring, identifying when services go down, or when they are outside of what we would consider normal operations.
How has it helped my organization?
We have been able to proactively identify failures before they happen. As an example of something in the last week, we had an instance where a volume was filling up on one of our VMs, so we set up a basic alert that if it got to a certain point, it would send me an email. This way, my support team or I could take some action on it and execute a run look. This has prevented failures from occurring in our production environment.
What is most valuable?
The alerts that it provides is one of the most common things that we use. As an example, when a service isn't performing how we anticipated it, either I receive an email or my support team receives an email, then we can take action on it.
What needs improvement?
It is complicated, especially in how you interpret the data that it provides. For someone who works in it every day, I can figure out what I want. For the general, every day developer who uses it once a month, there is large learning curve to figure out exactly the information that they want from it. If it had a bit more canned, out-of-the-box features, especially some of the reporting features, that would be more useful.
Sometimes, it is difficult to work through and figure out. Some things are difficult to work through which is why I haven't done them yet, because it will take me six hours to figure out how to set them up, e.g., the dashboard. How I want it to look and how the developers might want to interpret that data, but I don't have six hours to go figure this out, and it takes a long time to do this stuff.
They have this alerting capability where I can set up an alert policy, then within that alert policy, I can set up as many alerts as I want. I can set up one or I can set up a 1000. I would like a feature where I can turn off alerting at a policy level. Thus, when a policy is inactive, I can shut down all of my alerts within the policy. Right now, I have to go through them manually and deactivate each one that I don't want to use.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I have never seen it be down or unavailable. So, the stability is good.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
I've never had an issue with scalability. They have been able to scale and handle everything that we've sent them.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have used their online support. I don't think I've ever had a phone call from anyone, but I've definitely exchanged some emails with their online support forums, which has worked out well.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We used to use AppDynamics, which is one of their big competitors. I don't exactly know why the switch. We were told to go to New Relic. I think a lot of it had to do with the cost. Possibly, they found New Relic to be a cheaper alternative to AppDynamics.
How was the initial setup?
The configuration and installation were good. New Relic has some very good documentation. Everything in their API is some of the best that I have seen. It wasn't without issues because it's a piece of technology, and we had to figure out how to use it, but everything has worked well.
The issues were working through the documentation and figuring out exactly how to implement on some of the technology.
What about the implementation team?
I did all the configuration, so there is a portion where we install an agent on our infrastructure and on our web services that run. I did all of that configuration. They gave me the account ID and the license to go with it, and I configured that in some of their config files, then I knew exactly where to send the logs to, etc.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Corporate handled the licensing and the purchasing of it, then they gave me a license key. However they configured it is how we use it.
What other advice do I have?
If you are looking to evaluate New Relic, compared it to other products, it is very powerful in terms of what it can do. However, it is a complicated to interpret some of the data which is provided with it. There is a trade off if you want to implement this product versus implementing something that is simpler and out-of-the-box, but not obtaining as much depth in what you can learn.


    CTOAndVp2210

It gives us the visibility that we need in monitoring

  • December 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for monitoring the CPU, memory, services, email rates, etc.
How has it helped my organization?
We monitor the Internet daily, or every few days. Then, every time there is a crisis, high traffic, or if we see a problem with a server, we go to New Relic and monitor it to determine the cause.
What is most valuable?
* The APM
* Monitoring
* The capabilities which allow you to easily see whatever you are looking for.
What needs improvement?
* I would like to be able to invest less time in IT and ad hocs. We should be concentrating on other issues.
* I would like more deep dive monitoring into services and being able to install it on some apps.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is stable. We don't have any issues.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good. We have a few thousand servers, and it is up and down based on the traffic and need. We have New Relic on all of our servers.
How is customer service and technical support?
We don't use the technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was quite easy.
We have it integrated mostly with our physical servers.
What was our ROI?
The product saves time and money.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy. The product is easy to deploy and manage, which is why our company purchased through the AWS Marketplace.
The pricing could be better. We did not purchase the full version. Maybe if we applied all the other features of the full version of New Relic, we could get all the features that we feel are missing.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
In addition to New Relic, we evaluated Monitis and Dynatrace. We chose New Relic because it was cheaper for us as a startup, and it is also faster and more user-friendly.
What other advice do I have?
Go with it. It is a good product. It gives us the visibility that we need in monitoring.


    CloudArchitect2309

It has been helpful for our developers when they are tracking down issues

  • December 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for application performance monitoring. It helps us to track down the bottlenecks in the application, whether it is in the database or the front-end. It is helpful for our developers when they are tracking down issues.
How has it helped my organization?
We are concerned about our application's print and load times. It should be faster for the end user's experience. New Relic has helped us in terms of the optimizing our print and loading times.
It has solved many of our performance issues.
What is most valuable?
The deep insights, which will give you the metrics (not a high level), so we can build out at the database level where the bottleneck is. This has been pretty helpful.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is good. We haven't had any issues with New Relic. We load test for about 10,000 users accessing the application for every five minutes. This is our use case, and New Relic was used to monitor how the application is performing.
We use SaaS, so we don't really manage New Relic in any of the boxes.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is good, because it is already running on AWS.
How is customer service and technical support?
We have not used technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was very easy.
We have plans to integrate with other products going forward.
What was our ROI?
It has saved on our developers' time when digging into performance issues.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing model is a little confusing for beginners. They find it a little expensive, and if you are using it already, then that is not good.
Purchasing from the AWS Marketplace is very straightforward. When you buy it from AWS Marketplace, you can go with both options: URL SSL license and On Demand. So, when you are building, it is part of AWS, and this is convenient for end users.
We deploy everything on AWS. Purchasing the product on AWS Marketplace made it easier for us.
The pricing is okay comparatively their competitors. The only concern was whether it should be purchased on demand or bring your own license, and which way passes some savings onto the end customers.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated a couple of other vendors: AppDynamics and Datadog. They were quite a few other players as well, but we are happy with New Relic because it is simple to use and the developers can use it in their development.
What other advice do I have?
Evaluate it, because it supports almost all the popular run times. Most of the popular languages support this, like Java. So, it makes it adaptable and easy to use.