Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

261 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Omneya A.

Easy to manage and use

  • July 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to create a course structure, organize content and manage students and their grades. It's also easy to integrate with interactive course material. It collect good amount of students statistics to know who's lagging behind. It's easy to setup quizzes, surveys and assignments.
What do you dislike?
It has a relatively steep learning curve to know where everything is . Not all themes are responsive and work on phones and tablets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Delivering courses online and in person
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's one of the best lms on the market. It's free and open source.


    Dana W.

Highly customizable LMS with tons of add-on, fully-integrated features

  • June 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is highly customizable allowing you to completely redesign how your course looks, how it is organized, and what tools are fully integrated into the LMS. There are a ton of free themes available for various age groups or purposes that give you a lot of flexibility as to how you want to organize (by topic, week, unit, etc.) and present your site (for K-12, university, public online courses, etc.) . There are also a ton of tools that are fully-integrated (not LTI like other LMSs) so that the students never have to leave your site to complete their work or lessons. There are fully integrated games and other learning experiences that make it easy for students to review vocabulary terms or practice skills. Within most activities/tools, you have almost complete control with a lot of options and settings to customize your delivery or how you want to integrate the activity into your course.
What do you dislike?
Since integrating certain types of assets requires SSH connectivity to the server, I've found that it was easier to simply maintain my own moodle server, but this requires a tremendous amount of knowledge and skill to maintain a secure server. This is not something that someone without a strong computer security background should attempt. While there are tools (like bitnami) that make it easier to get a Moodle site up and running, some of the customization and more interesting plugins require a little back-end knowledge or access to get working right. However, if you're just looking for relatively standard features (lessons, files, progress bars, games, etc.) - that's all easy to install onto your site and easy to configure. I have a few issues with specific plug-ins where they are not as flexible or don't follow the "standard" Moodle way of doing things, but that's not necessarily Moodle's fault. However, I feel like it is Moodle's responsibility to provide (and enforce) a common set of tools. For example, Moodle has the ability to support drag-n-drop reordering of widgets/items on the site and yet not all elements of Moodle take advantage of this. Like the gradebook, for example, I can't easily reorder items or move them into other sections (additional dialogs pop up, and then you have to scroll through dozens of items to find the right place) - when simply drag-n-dropping them should move them to a new order or to a new category without any additional issues. Of course, I've not seen other LMSs with better tools, so I don't fault them too much for this!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I teach programming at the university level and the most important feature for me in Moodle is the Virtual Programming Labs - they allow me to create short or long auto-graded programming assignments that are fully integrated into the Moodle platform. My students have truly benefited from these experiences as they get immediate feedback on whether their code is correct or not. There are some limitations to this plug-in, but it has overall been a fantastic tool that has taken a LOT of grading and evaluation off of my plate.

Students have commented on how they like the organization of Moodle over the other LMS my University uses and I certainly like its transparency. I like how easy it is to post something to Moodle and see that it is "live" or "hidden" from students - everything is right there, at the surface level, nothing is hidden or linked in some odd way. I am able to easily show my students their progress with check-offs next to each item and overall progress bars. My students are game development students, so they like being able to "complete" objectives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your school is using Moodle, then it is a great, easy tool. The flexibility and plug-ins will satisfy just about any need you have and the fact that they're fully integrated into Moodle, your students will find it seamless to use and intuitive to navigate. It's great for organizing and posting content - everything is on the top-level and immediately accessible, nothing is hidden from the faculty member or doubly linked or in multiple places. Take a few moments to explore the plugins library - it is an amazing set of tools that provide an enormous variety of ways for students to get involved with the content!

If you're building and administering your own server, Moodle can be quite an undertaking (not that any other LMS would be easier). Definitely use a tool like Bitnami to help you install and manage it or contract through an ISP that will support Moodle for you - this will solve 95% of your administration issues with Moodle and make maintenance much easier. But, for the flexibility of being able to install anything you want/need and configure the site to your heart's desire, using Moodle can be amazing!


    Education Management

Online Learning Management Made Easy

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of course set up is superb and simple to learn.
What do you dislike?
They do not offer a section to maintain transcripts so we go to another site to keep grades and send transcripts to our students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Model allows for a collaborative online classroom through the forum section. This helps our students maintain a classroom feel.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Using this Online Learning Management platform will propel you forward as your students will catch on quickly to the simplicity of using Moodle.


    Education Management

Great for large companies

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to create new assignments and manage student grading. Moodle will automatically grade certain assignments and provide feedback.
What do you dislike?
Creating online quizzes is tedious, time consuming and error prone. It can be hard for students to upload audio files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online student courses for higher education. Both distance learning and as web assist (in class)


    Aren M.

Moodle: A Way of Connecting With Your Students

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the connectivity of Moodle and that it makes you accessible to your teachers & students.
What do you dislike?
The interface in the "my assignments" section could be a bit easier to get to for the students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting to students at a distance and performing all scholarly tasks without being in the same room.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Moodle for anyone looking to teach an audience at a distance or learn from their professor or teacher without being in the same room.


    Justin H.

Moodle LMS

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As an open-source platform, Moodle does provide a relatively robust community of contributors to help you make the platform look and feel exactly how you'd like for your educational context. As an online learning platform, it does boast a relatively strong feature set that you can leverage to do some relatively advanced things such as learning paths.
What do you dislike?
The open-sourced nature does come at a stability cost, and at times new features would overlap too heavily with old ones, in such a way that there were multiple 'discussion forums' to select from that confused our faculty. Integration with third party apps not as strong as it's competition in Blackboard and Canvas. Also, the lack of collapsible modules led to what students called the "scroll of death" in semester length courses.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Moodle for fully online, blended, and face to face (supplemented) college courses. It worked well for a time as the first lms our college used.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are comfortable with internally supporting customization and trouble shooting (as well as hosting the server), then Moodle can work well. Otherwise, it can be overly complicated when there are other good options that work out of the box.


    Gregory M.

Great product easy to implement.

  • June 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is the best cloud-based e-learning and remote education software that allows everyone to create an account. It is free software. Fill the homepage with a classification summary, ect. Moodle has many e-learning features such as uploading videos for students, reading materials, homework and management of the course calendar. It is an LMS-System for Learning Management. I like moodle the most because it allows you to upload and view content, take questionnaires online.
What do you dislike?
If you're a novice, Moodle has a long learning curve. But obtaining it and integrating it into your educational lifestyle is quite easy. All in all, it takes just a little bit of time and it is amazing after that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows me to keep in touch with teachers, to do a task or activity and I receive a notice. The tasks can be send via the same platform , making it very convenient. And all the information teachers put together can also keep you up-to - date.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is the best e-learning tool, as it is completely cloud based, so it has high availability. Take Moodle as your LMS board, please.


    Higher Education

Have been using it since 2007

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability and vast community support.
What do you dislike?
The not so modern interface compared to proprietary platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To deliver online course content. What is great there are two versions update in a year.


    Osmary G.

It is very useful to support distance learning

  • May 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very positive that it is possible to activate a chat for everyone, so that students can communicate with teachers and other students in a safe environment. In addition, each classroom and course can be customized by the administrator. For example, one teacher may choose to offer a content-sharing space that can be edited by students, while another prefers to create a private forum to stimulate online discussions.
What do you dislike?
In this case it is important to remember that free software is not synonymous with zero cost. There are costs associated with the services of an IT team, essential for the configuration of the platform, time to make the necessary changes and financial investment in infrastructure.
In addition, it is necessary to assemble or outsource IT equipment and a basic hardware and software infrastructure to meet your needs. Programmers who are part of the system configuration need knowledge of PHP and MySQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As teachers we have been able to create and manage virtual classrooms, in which students can access videos, documents and exams. It can also be used without the activation of online classes. Some teachers can use it simply as a learning support, while others can use it as the main interface to take exams and evaluations. Therefore, it has been a very valuable resource for us.


    Philip M.

Moodle makes it possible to provide blended learning possible and simple!

  • May 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle provides functional, usable,flexible, reliable and adaptable features and functionalities that truly satisfies my requirements as end-user of a learning management software. The user interface is easy to manage and navigate so it's not hard for me and my students to interact and communicate. Creating virtual classroom and setting-up enrollment are easy to do and perform. Using this online learning platform, I can easily create assessment, manage learners' profile, check students' academic progress and create needed report in providing immediate feedback to my students. There is also an option that I can backup and restore all the activities in the virtual classroom that I created in which I considered great features of this software.
What do you dislike?
Since Moodle is considered as a learning management software, it would be better if it has chat feature not online an online forum so that the teacher can provide real-time support for those students who need help. Also, remote meeting capability is another feature that this software is lacking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle makes the online learning delivery more efficient because it has a notification feature that helps you to give immediate feedback to all the assigned tasks that the students have finished already. Through this software, I can also easily provide online activities such as quizzes and tests with my students that would help me easily assess their learning that will eventually help me adjust my instruction. Moodle also can easily provide reports of all the activities that the students accomplished and can be printed anytime. To sum it up, Moodle makes me become more efficient, effective and productive online teacher.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your are a teacher and is looking for a learning management software that has simple yet usable features and functionalities then Moodle can be one of the best choices. I don't experience any problems in any of the functionalities of this Learning Management System (LMS) tool.