Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

268 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Russell W.

Versatile and reliable LMS with strong community support

  • May 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has a strongly supportive user-community that provide solutions for an enormous range of practical teaching and elearning purposes.
What do you dislike?
A typical Moodle screen has many interface elements that are not part of the lesson: it is easy for learners to be distracted from the content.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Delivering course content and assessment activities to classes of university students, running discussion and social construction of knowledge, collecting assignments and online examinations, grading and distributing feedback, analysing cohort performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Join the Moodle community at moodle.org for fantastic support from users in many roles, organisations, countries, languages.


    Patricio S.

Nice for elearning

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The tool brings a lot of templates and information ready to customize. But if that doesn't fit for you, you can customize as you wish. It is really simple. Once you understand how to complete each form, you can develop a very nice eLearning site.
What do you dislike?
Too many text, not so many place for pictures or animated gifs. I would definitely improve that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
eLearning site for Customer Service Representatives. It is a very dynamic environment so I can easily update trainings and learnings from the site.


    Zeke K.

A Solution to Communication with Professors

  • April 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is the medium that allows for a lot of different actions. Teachers can customize their pages and add content for their classes. A big feature of the site is the ability to post grades and also make assignments with specific deadlines. Teachers can pick a specific time frame when a paper or project is due after that time Moodle will not allow students to upload documents. For the students, it allows both contacting other students as well as the professor.
What do you dislike?
The user interface isn't very friendly and can be boring at times. I have used it for five years and each time the software gets updated it seems to add little in terms of features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle solves the problem of communication. Teachers and students can contact each other effortlessly and teachers don't have to worry about students turning in assignments late because the site does not allow for this..


    Higher Education

Good for teacher organization of a class if the school doesn't already provide a platform

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has a great template for putting up the core material for class, whether it be middle school, high school, or college level. Forums and assignment submissions make the transition to paperless assignments an ease. Also allows for a single location to find all course material.
What do you dislike?
The site does require its own set of credentials. This means that if your school or university already has a system in place through their own website, then it is unnecessary to implement. Sometimes navigation between courses can be a pain, but pinning them to your account can alleviate some of this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provides a platform to teachers to put up course material and to act as an aid. Helps teachers do their job and overall increase the performance of their students. The benefit of this is increased student performance which in turn produces more students interested in the school.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your school has a well designed system in place, this is unnecessary to use.


    Primary/Secondary Education

User Friendly

  • April 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use. Our staff hates learning new systems, but this one was easy. It's a one stop shop for all online quizzes, homework and lectures. Student seem to use it with ease as opposed to email systems.
What do you dislike?
We have some difficulty trouble shooting on the admin side when problems arise. But we have found that customer service is helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We put this system in place for teacher and students to use. Lessons, homework etc etc are all available online. It's a simple system for our students to use. Great way to increase student participation.


    Higher Education

Moodle

  • April 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
From the perspective of a user I like that Moodle is easier to maneuver than other learning platforms I have used at other institutions. The visual layout of sites is appealing and can be formatted in a variety of different ways which allows you to personalize the site to meet the needs of any class and/or group.
What do you dislike?
At my institution the format for Moodle changes each year so it is not possible to re-use a lot of material from the previous year. Rather, everything has to be re-entered and formatted somewhat. Editing Moodle is tedious and often particularly frustrating, and there just has to be an easier way to make editing a more streamlined process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle to communicate through the messenger functions, share course information, participate in forum discussions, and upload assignments. The variety of functions available for use through Moodle is impressive.


    Information Technology and Services

Top Class LMS

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All the features, no cost and a world full of experts working together to give everyone the best LMS.
What do you dislike?
The old JavaScript libraries still being used is making it difficult to create your own Plugins
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online School for world wide audience.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
n/a


    Lauren T. M.

So customizable and easy to use

  • March 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I worked with Moodle for many years as my learning management system when I taught online for a virtual school in Pennsylvania. It is so user-friendly both on the student and instructor side. It is fully customizable and free. Or at least it was when I used it.
What do you dislike?
Moodle, at the time, did not carry the customer support as some of the bigger names like Blackboard. That may have changed in recent years. It was also very easy to mess things up with bad HTML code, so you need to know what you were doing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle was a fantastic solution to my former employer's learning management system needs. It was free and we were able to make it exactly what we wanted. I found the students were able to navigate easily and it wasn't very hard for teachers to learn how to make it unique to their classes and upload lessons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a smaller school, or need something that you can customize to every extent, Moodle is wonderful. For larger schools that may require a stronger technical support team, you may want to consider something that has a more widespread reputation and can offer the support.


    Brad M.

Powerful Open Source LMS Platform!

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source software is always nice, but Moodle far exceeds expectations as a platform. It's modular, powerful and logically structure. It allows fine grained control over pretty much everything you can think of (including backend admin and developer portions), and is built to be expandable.
What do you dislike?
Being built on PHP, I question how scalable it actually is for many concurrent users. Based on my experience, it doesn't seem to run crazy fast, and may require a server with pretty hefty resources to run quickly and well. A lot of these issues can probably be minimized with proper configuration in the backend, so that's something you'll definitely want to look at (if you know what you're doing).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web-based training courses
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a basic training course to really learn the platform.


    Anthony (Tony) K.

great learning experience

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Free and open source. Modular, plugin-based design lets administrators add/create features as needed. it will support myriad activities, peer assessment workshops, messaging, and wiki forums. Generous progress tracking and reporting options.
What do you dislike?
Setup is not turnkey. UI lacks the visual finesse of paid programs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
great to use for learning purposes in management roles. helping to train other employees this is a good program
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle offers an wonderful learning management service that is free, open source, and advancing.