Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

268 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joe K.

Moodle Review

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is free and open source. Moodle is by far and away the most popular Learning Management System (LMS) in the world. There is huge community of people and companies supporting moodle. The software is based on PHP and mySQL so there are many free plug ins that add features and functionality to the LMS.
What do you dislike?
Moodle has a steep learning curve and it can be difficult for a newby to deal with. Very slowly but surely, moodle is becoming more user friendly.

You will find yourself depending on YouTube and the kindness of strangers when you start out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle allows a medium sized or a small business to track and manage training. I use the software in the non profit area, because it is low cost. There are also several value added moodle vendors who sell the product as a service and will do all the heavy lifting for you.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Work with a good hosting company that is familar with moodle, they can help you with the setup.
If you are not a hands on computer person, consider a moodle provider. This will cost you, but may be better.
If you are going to host moodle yourself, make sure you have committed support from your IT dept. and the services of a knowledgeable linux person.
If you are going to host moodle on a microsoft platform, this can be done but it is more difficult.


    Zeid F.

The most AWESOME LMS EVER!

  • January 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
COME ON!!!! Moodle...what's not to like. it is the single most used learning management system in the world and it's available for anyone, anywhere,anytime. it has a great user interface that is responsive to any device and many excellent features that really cover much of what is required in any training environment. it is too good to be true,,, Power to the People and long live Moodle.
What do you dislike?
sometimes, finding documentation on some small details can be tricky and nearly impossible. the community is great, but if want to dig deeper it will be a steep learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i am using Moodle as a Training Management System, E-Library, and communication tool for connecting organizational resources.


    Administrator in Design

Moodle - Not for budget hosting.

  • January 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it's free. There's also a wide variety of plugins that you can add to your course material to make the content your teaching more dynamic
What do you dislike?
It runs slow when there's a few people using it on budget hosting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deliver online course material.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're after a free learning management system then this will serve the purpose. A good way to start your e-learning platform. There are some themes available know to make it look good across all devices which is an improvement.


    Filipe O.

Really nice learning tool!

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has lot of features and it's very easy to use. It's user interface is much better than competitors because it's a younger project. Despite being younger, it has nothing to lose when facing competitors.
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to get used to the lot of features it offers. Some auto guided tours might be useful. However, it's been like 2 years I've last used it, this point might already have been improved, so, it worths giving it a try.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it was a student in the university. My teachers have experience 3 different learning tools and Moodle is a no brainer - it wins its competitors without any doubt.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Improve usability and you'll be no match for competitors.


    Ekarasa D.

I used Moodle in two Universities for 5 years

  • January 23, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What i liked about Moodle was lectures were put online so if you missed one you can backtrack and look back at them as track record and notes. Moodle had pretty much everything you need as a student.
What do you dislike?
Moodle was very complicated, many buttons often confusing it had everything but perhaps too much as truly i often found myself trapped in it, not being able to find my own results and looking hard for the info I needed to know.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it as a student for 5 years in two Universities, as Batchelor study in one university and Postgraduate study in another. Was useful indeed
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle was very useful but the interface was confusing especially in the personal data page, I am not sure if that was because the University didn't design it correctly or so.


    Higher Education

College class portal

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great way for professors to interact with students. I am able to view grades, submit assignments, download readings, post blogs, etc.
What do you dislike?
It would be great to have an easy straightforward way to send out an email to all students enrolled in a given class
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing class content
Access from essentially anywhere


    Katja W.

Best free e-learning platform

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a free, open source software that offers all the features all the other e-learning platforms that cost a fortune offer. If you are a little computer savvy and know HTML and CCS, it is easy to set up a great learning environment with all the little things that can be linked and implemented for free.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes features are kind of hard to find and hidden, but once you figure it out, it is really easy to manipulate the software to a point where all your technical needs, visual requirements and best learning implementations will be met.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having to fly in people just for special software training was a hassle time wise and expense wise. Therefore I had to set up a learning environment, that could train the trainers and users on a specific speech recognition software. I was able to arrange an online learning environment that met the companies needs on the lowest expense. It is in use for a while and they are looking into some expansion.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get someone with some insight of the product in order to have a fast solution. If you have time on your hand, you should be able to manage and set it up all by yourself withour knowing too much about e-learning environments.


    M. Serhat D.

LMS with Full of Features

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is a complex software which provides plenty of functions and configurations to customize your learning environment. Wide administrative options is and customizable interface are the best features of Moodle.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is not easy to administer. For advanced users, customization options might be satisfying but especially for teachers with limited IT experiences might get lots between options and configurations. Performance can also be a difficulty for huge systems after a while because Moodle is not providing any optimization tools for it's own database. Administrators of huge systems should consider using 3rd party database customization tools for Moodle database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been using Moodle for 6 years and at the moment 30.000 students are enrolled in our courses. With the help of Moodle it's easy to publish lecture videos, presentations and documents. Students can contact with each others at discussion forums in Moodle. Also Moodle is providing different assessment tools for educators.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is one of the best options if you are planning to setup a LMS but definetely you should employ a system administrator for setup. Setup process is not easy and lots of configurations needs to be done.


    Emrah A.

We use Moodle at our distance education center

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it is very flexible for customizing and it has got theme support. Alos it supports user import.
What do you dislike?
There is a tree menu system and its conflicted me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is solved our education platform needs. We are working with 5000 student on moodle platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a lot of alternatives such as sakai and blackboard but moodle is easy to setup. You can quickly create a learning society with it.


    Primary/Secondary Education

LMS

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a learning management system that can be use to help facilitate online learning. This program allows for easy file uploads, class discussions and forum posts.
What do you dislike?
This program lacks in the grading area. Other LMS allow for speed grading which makes assessing students quick and easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a tool that is used to manage online learning in my district.