Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

268 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jacob M.

Developer's perspective

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The community is very active and helpful.
What do you dislike?
It uses older practices in PHP development to maximize compatibility.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online learning environment. We discovered it is also good for adult learning.


    Benj K.

Pretty Good Platform

  • July 27, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the multiple modes of communicating with students: traditional email, feedback/comments specific to each assignment, and forums.
What do you dislike?
Too much is tied to the calendar. I'd rather package some class resources by type rather than chronologically.
Students often do not understand how to submit assignments . . . The "submit" function is not clear. Sometimes this also happens with online tests.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a pretty effective "Learning Management System".
I think it is on par with other packages, such as Blackboard
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at their class formatting to be sure it fits your mode of scheduling and resource management.


    Alec B.

Moodle is a good way for students to submit and access documents

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I liked it's ease of access and how it could be used to check schedules, submit homework and even see test scores. I also really enjoy how I can look back at past classes as well.
What do you dislike?
It would run fairly slow at times and even sometimes just be a pain to find what I was looking for despite the overall ease of access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for school to submit documents and have easy access to notes and other files
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In a school setting, it can be used very well for individual classes. Professors and teachers can put anything from a schedule to test results. I find this to be very useful and because of that heavily recommend it. Since my College is on it, I know all my professors have access to it and I usually hope they use it so if I lose something, I can find it easily again by going to it on the website. That being said, it isn't perfect but it is still a great site with a bunch of potential


    Nanotechnology

Student User Review

  • July 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used Moodle for forums and keeping in contact with my professors and peers in my four years in college. It was very helpful with keeping up with assignments and posting blogs. It created a community environment online, which made the experience of my classes that much better.
What do you dislike?
I disliked that my professors did not take as full advantage of the site as they could have. There were many options (posting exam scores, etc) that were not taken advantage of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Considering that my college is the business, it solves the problem of inconvenience. All of the required documents are posted onto Moodle, and professors can also scan portions of textbooks and upload it for the class. This is a more environmentally friendly, economic, and efficient option than forcing students to purchase full textbooks.


    Rachelle A.

I use Moodle to interface with students for resources, assignments, submissions, and grades.

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Students can check grades through a password-controlled secure site at any time, even via smart phones. This helps their anxiety level and saves me extra work and extra paper getting that information to them throughout the semester.
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of steps to follow for each process in Moodle, so it's cumbersome. The most cumbersome part of the process is the gradebook, which mimics the layout of a spreadsheet but lacks all of the ease of one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Real-time, secure (password protected) interface with class of students where all students need to receive the same information from me for assignments, but each student needs to submit assignments one on one and retrieve grades privately.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is easy to learn if users are relatively software savvy. However, I find that it lacks some ease of use and sophistication for dealing with a university classroom and grading interface. Its group work functions are clunky, and even individual student records and assignments take several steps to access. As a user, I spend far too much time scrolling and clicking intermediate steps and scrolling again compared to the amount of actual information I submit. In short, Moodle is easy to learn but not always easy to use.


    Michael L.

Great Resource for Classes

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle, like other websites, offers a way to keep classes together in one place. This coupled with the fact that it can store grades and links allows classes to have all their resources in one single class webpage. I have taken an entire course where everything I needed was on the one webpage, which allows ease of access. Grades and quizzes are very easy to view and complete.
What do you dislike?
Perhaps this may pertain to just the course, but every discussion post in Moodle linked to my e-mail and basically spammed it. The colors and presentation of the site could also use a little bit of work, as it is very dull and one color-ish (greyish). But, I am using Moodle to learn, not analyze its artistic values. Also, it seems my class info/links are arranged by date. This is useful for courses that teach through weeks as I just scroll to any week to find certain course material.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for educational purposes. The benefits of Moodle come from the fact that many classes utilize it, allowing a student to fully have all class information on hand. Also, it is rarely ever down, so you may log in whenever you would like.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have used other educational sites that universities use, then Moodle is pretty much like no other. The outline of the website may be different at first, but it is guaranteed you will learn how it works within an hour.


    Ally S.

I'd use Moodle!

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I haven't had much experience with Moodle, but I've been exploring it over the past week. I really like the website design and the way the product is presented. I would use Moodle definitely based on the product presentation. I know my brother has used it for school projects, and he had a great experience with the product. I really like the communication it provides between all members of a learning environment. I respect the way that the Moodle community reached out to attract product users such as myself. I did not feel like I was being bothered or anything.
What do you dislike?
I am not sure how to use all of the features, and it is not clear what features Moodle offers. I am not entirely sure what I am supposed to do when I get Moodle, and what it will help me with. In order to find out if it was really easy to use, I think I would have to test it out myself. I think it is hard to say something is easy to use when you first start using it. I will have to give it more time. I also would hope that the Moodle customer service would be great so that if the administrators or users had any questions or concerns, they would be answered in a timely fashion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a student, but I am thinking about possibly starting a business in the future. I think that Moodle could be a great way to keep my business unified. I think as a student that I could benefit from a system like Moodle because it would allow a professor to communicate with a class and vice versa on a project. I think especially as I am entering graduate school, with smaller class size and more specific work, it would be greatly beneficial.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out the website! It definitely encourages users.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Moodle works well

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about Moodle is the ability to upload and share papers and information. It is a quick and easy way to make sure everyone has the necessary documents.
What do you dislike?
Its organization scheme is a little, well, unorganized. Would like to see things a little more streamlined.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for school, not business.


    Andrea M.

Adequate

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Checking grades was incredibly easy. Submitting assignments was also fairly easy.
What do you dislike?
The site is a little outdated looking and could have a more interactive home page.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle is great to correspond.


    Higher Education

Moodle

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the overall look of Moodle. Since switching from Blackboard I feel that it can be more user friendly although I am comparing this to an old version of Blackboard.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that many book publishers do not have the same amount of resources that easily link to Moodle as compared to Blackboard. I think Moodle could also benefit from some added features such as a better PDF grading tool (make it as advanced as using the Adobe comments feature). I would also like if there was something similar to Google hangouts directly in Moodle. I do not like having to use features outside of the Moodle platform - if we are going to use Moodle I want everything directly in the platform. I would also like in forums that there was something similar to a "like" button in Facebook - if I could easily hit a quick "like" or "substantive comment" button and add a quick comment right there on the spot that would make forum grading much easier. The student should be able to easily see this as well. I use the red flag and green star for my benefit now but I do not believe the students can see this and I still have to hit reply to actually add my comment - takes too long.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am not sure about the first question stated here - my University selected Moodle over Blackboard several years ago because of cost factors. We use this as our primary learning platform for both seated and online classes.