Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle 3.3 - Sandbox

Vidya Mantra Corporation | 3.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.09.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

268 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Moodle is a very comprehensive tool for instruction, training, collaboration in higher education...

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has many different tools that can be leveraged in order to teach, train, or collaborate. These tools are constantly being updated to reflect user needs/feedback, resulting in a quickly evolving platform. I appreciate the multiple resources available for user problem solving at a non-administrative or highly technical level.
What do you dislike?
This is very specific to the way the institution I use Moodle with works: Our technology support team does not use Moodle to teach, train, or collaborate, and so I feel they are very limited in their ability to problem-solve and support faculty and staff who DO use it. I end up using generic resources to solve my issues, then instruct MY SUPPORT TEAM on how to solve the problem for me at an administrative level. It is very frustrating, but I am glad that I am able to find the answers needed to instruct them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to effectively train faculty, staff and students. Ultimately, we use Moodle to educate others, track data, and formalize our assessment efforts. I wish the other institution of higher education I work at used Moodle, but we are stuck with BlackBoard Learn. This system is very limited compared to Moodle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a steep learning curve; take the time to get proper training as you develop and implement new courses/trainings/projects. While it makes sense to learn as you go and create, if you want to use your time efficiently and effectively it makes sense to get basic training on the new tools and resources in each upgrade.


    Aaron S.

A very ciunky UI.

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Function of facilitating discussion boards.
What do you dislike?
Unintuitive UI and redirecting to different links instead of using hypertexts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
N/A
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Care for setup of discussion boards.


    Kally L.

Love Moodle

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about Moodle is the ease of navigating around the site. It makes finding different course work and other bits of shared information super simple to navigate to and easy to respond.
What do you dislike?
Really, there isn't much I dislike about Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are not currently any business problems. The benefits I have realized is really just the ease of using it. We have individuals with disabilities in our facility who take college courses and use Moodle and they get through the site perfectly.


    Julie T.

Moodle

  • June 20, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to see the whole course set up at one time. It is simple to see the progress that you are making as a student.
What do you dislike?
It can be very overwhelming to see all of the tasks that need to be done at one time, rather than one at a time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing a reliable online learning experience allows me as a student to enroll in classes & opportunities that are not geographically possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is a good platform for older students to use in the organization, distribution and collection of digital coursework.


    Kathleen K.

a moodle doodle

  • June 19, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way one can set up a class and have course material appear each week. I also like the ability to set up quizzes and tests for on line taking.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing is the grade book. every time I put grade in somehow they get changed in the process. Or the students can not see them but I can. Need more help with this ne.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
do not use for business but for education.


    Nicole A.

Flexible, Satisfaction depends on Administration and Implementation

  • June 19, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The configuration is very flexible. Many of my colleagues have courses structured in a variety of ways. I typically use a weekly approach, with subcategories (divided by labels). I've also used a topic-approach for courses with a non-linear structure. Some of my colleagues have heavily used folders for organizing information, others have done interesting things with the layout of the first few categories to create obvious links to the most important resources.

For my classes, I heavily utilize the quizzes and gradebook. Moodle serves as my primary gradebook, communication method to the class, and course organizer. I frequently post information as Moodle Pages, but I also post many files and links to YouTube videos and other resources. It works very well for all of these purposes.
What do you dislike?
I've had some issues, such as students vanishing or Moodle going offline for the entire campus. This is due to our campus-level administration of Moodle and who we contract our servers with. There are some features that are implemented (or not) at the administrative level. I love that there are many add-ons/plug-ins that have been developed, but if I want to use them, I have to have them installed by the administrator. This limits the functionality of Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is valuable for students to have one tool for all of their coursework: grades, assignments, communication. This works best when students are consistently logging in, seeing when they have new messages and what upcoming events are on their calendar. I'm one of the heavier users of Moodle on my campus, so it takes some time for students to get used to being on Moodle almost every day. I particularly like that I can see logs of when students were on and what they were doing; this typically correlates with performance in the course. Students see their grades, in real time, at the same place I see them. While I do need to spend lots of time updating Moodle, this time has decreased as I've found a course structure that works for me. It significantly decreases the number of e-mails I get from students asking about their grade, deadlines, and assignments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that whoever is your administrator for the Moodle system communicates directly with the users (faculty). Many features are available, but the administrator will need to install plug-ins that will affect all users.


    Roger M.

Moodle for Business

  • June 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has a wide range of functionality providing SCORM compliance, quizzes, completion data, badges, lessons, books etc etc. It is relatively easy to install and has an active support forum.

The platform is robust and mature with some excellent plugins including Office365 authentication, instructor led class bookings, a powerful database builder with notifications (used for online custom course bookings) and a rich custom SQL reporting tool.

Once you know your way around the administration tools the Learning Management System is quick to maintain and quite easy to extend with a little custom PHP or MySQL databases using Dreamweaver and Navicat.
What do you dislike?
Despite the Report plugin reporting can be tricky and the underlying database is not documented very well with the database schema complex and hard to follow.

The software developers release updates very often, almost once a month it seems and you have to keep it current otherwise you can run into problems when upgrading over a few versions (and you cannot let the installed version grow too stale without running into browser compatibility issues and security problems).

Although Moodle has lots of themes and plugins available, many of them cause problems when not supported in updated versions of Moodle so its not worth using them with a PHO developer to hand.

It can be hard to get away from slightly cheesy Moodle look with extensive CSS code and tweaking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whilst Moodle is aimed at educational use, it is a very good LMS for business applications. I have deployed it to:

Securely authenticate users to Instructor led course pages with PDF manuals for download and certificates available for each course (e.g. Word Excel etc) and well as provide an interface to a course schedule database.

Provide SCROM training needs analysis e-learning and content for end users.

Deploy public e-learning to a secure group of client users authenticated by email domain suffix with certification exams and certificates all essentially automated.

Host internal staff e-learning and content for both technical and soft skill training.

Offer a dedicated staff candidate portal with competency tests from pools of questions, CV upload and interviewee notes on each candidate.

The essential business problem is how to provide online content securely with interactions that can be tracked. The Moodle benefits are flexibility, relatively low costs, ease of use, rich support forum and wide user base. The aspect to bear in mind is that PHP/MYSQL developers can be sourced and assist with custom development if needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Determine what reporting you need, what are the KPI's and groups of users to be reported on.
2. If you will self host you will need basic html, web server, MySQL and PHP skills, not too advanced but a little.
3. TSOhost.co.uk provide very good cheap hosting for Moodle sites, and have great support but you need no. 2.
4. Don't get too carried away with custom themes, often they are buggy and are not supported with upgrades.
5. Think through how you be authenticating users, how will they sign up?
6. Be wary of allowing just anyone to create accounts.
7. For public sites plan on frequent upgrading for security, so limit PHP customisations to avoid future bugs.
8. Others may disagree but the best and most robust platform is Linux, Apache, MySQL and PHP.
9. Whilst the Moodle Books and Lessons are ok for e-learning they lack interactivity and can look unprofessional.
10. Use Captivate or Storyline to author content rich trackable SCORM e-learning on Moodle course pages.


    Marit B.

I use Moddle for my college courses.

  • June 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Turnitin to check for plagiarism, ability to grade papers online, ease of setting up organization of main page into different weeks, themes, etc. and uploading documents, creating links, and other assignments. Gradebook is a nice feature, although it is a bit clunky. I also email students regularly using Mod\odle.
What do you dislike?
I really like being able to post grades online, but the Gradebook is a bit clunky at times. I can't always see the entire page: if there are several columns and rows it is hard to move around on the page because the scroll bars do not remain on the screen view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a college professor, so my only use is for educational purposes. I can post lecture notes, assignments, quizzes, etc., organize course material into weeks or themes, and make grades visible to students. Email feature is nice for sending announcements, updates, etc. Integration with plagiarism software is a great, as is the online grading. Saves me from carrying papers around. Students can easily check their grades, upload assignments and papers, and get copies of lecture notes or assignments if they missed class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have only used Moodle for course management software, so I am unsure of its applications outside of education. If you are in education, I have found it very useful, but users definitely need a workshop, tutorial, and regular support because it is not entirely intuitive.


    Angela L.

Easy to use, even for young children.

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It was easy to use as a student. aThe site was easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There are many times where I have experienced crashes and was unable to submit assignments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used this program for school. Teachers were able to upload class material and we would be able to view it at home.


    Connor D.

Moodle review for student use

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it keeps all my classes organized through a paperless online platform. I enjoy being able to take quizzes through this model because there is more customizability and often allows you to back track, where other sources don't. I like how teachers can use it to post grades, assignments, etc.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the look of it and the ease of use is more challenging than other platforms. Overall it doesn't look as clean as it could.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are solving the problem of teacher/student interaction and assignment competition. The site helps for efficiency and paperless work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommend for school use.