Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fastly (Signal Sciences) next-gen WAF and RASP

Signal Sciences | AMI 1.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sporting Goods

Amazing product. Even better support. A must have service in 2021.

  • May 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It was relatively easy to setup. Some pretty good rules 'out of the box'. Onboarding suppoort team was excellent.
What do you dislike?
Nothing I can think of at this point. Pretty straightforward process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to make sure that our sites were rock solid from a security perspective. This solution provided peace of mind when it comes to a no nonsense firewall.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in the market for a secure, well supported, fully featured WAF, this is a great product/service.


    Jason W.

Great visibility with low administrative overhead

  • March 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of setup and day-to-day administration is hard to beat. It's really nice to have a tool that doesn't need daily tuning for false positives.
What do you dislike?
Having to manually update the agents. Auto-updating agents would remove the only current administration I really have to do, outside of new rule creation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're securing 100% of externally facing applications with Signal Sciences, with very little tuning necessary on our part. We were in full blocking mode within the first 2 weeks and haven't hit any false positives over the past few years. We've realized a few operational benefits as well, by using SigSci to track HTTP error codes spiking.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking into a WAF, do a PoC of Signal Sciences. Setup time is so low that it's minimal effort and you'll be surprised at the ease-of-use.


    Mario D.

Easy-to-configure and developer oriented solution.

  • March 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- It is very easy and safe to operate in blocking mode, so it provides automatic protection out of the box without the need of complex configuration.
- It provides a set of rules for dynamic request rates action, that allow to cover multiple DDOS scenarios.
What do you dislike?
I haven't found an issue that I dislike so far.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Identifying and blocking common OWASP attacks and protecting our application against DDOS attacks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare time to implementation and configuration overhead, for us Signal Sciences WAF was the best offer we could find on these key criterias.


    Antonio V.

Easy to set up, easy to manage, outstanding visibility

  • March 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Pre built detection rules, ability to immediately turn on blocking without fear of blocking legitimate traffic, easy to build custom rules and test them, API integration, integration with SIEM tool. Multiple deployment models that fit with our environment allowing complete visibility and protection for all of our applications and API's. Great customer support when called upon quick to respond and work on solving issues
What do you dislike?
At this moment I do not have anything negative about the product. Would like to have agents and modules update automatically
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Small Security team in a web application centric business, Signal Sciences has provided great insights into our applications and allowed us to move to blocking flagged traffic without lengthy time consuming Core Rule Set tuning and also to normalize and understand some of our apps behavior. Flexibility of deployment allows for our team to support new business requirements without sacrificing the security of our applications


    Joshua D.

Very powerful WAF; not for novices

  • March 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI console is great for observing requests. I often use it over other platforms to monitor requests. The templated rules and new features make the "dislike" of this questionnaire much less relevant today.
What do you dislike?
The setup was difficult. It took us a lot of time and energy to get setup. A year ago it was much less capable without a lot more work. Today a lot of those issues are resolved with new features recently released.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We get targeted by credential stuffing bots constantly. SigSci has helped us cut that down drastically. Previously, we were spending a dozen or so man-hours a week fighting these bots. That included AWS scaling events. Today we mostly forget about the WAF as it does what it needs to do. That's what you want from a security application - to be there when you need it but you not having to babysit it.


    Retail

Cost effective solution

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First and foremost, they're cost effective and has better rate limiting features compared to WAF.
The interface for creating signals and rules are very simple to use, yet has enough depth for you to cover your use cases.
Support has been responsive and very helpful. They make my job easier, you just need to know what you want to do and they can pretty much help you execute.
What do you dislike?
Advanced rules requires help from support. We have advanced users that would rather have the autonomy to create and test these rules on their own. It has definitely been getting better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem that we use SigSci to solve is ATOs. We have been able to signal and block over 2 million malicious reqs/mo that otherwise would've hit our core infrastructure.


    Sports

Signal Sciences WAF

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment. Able to configure Full Blocking mode in days not weeks.
What do you dislike?
I am not able to provide any downsides as I have not experienced any. New features should be communicated in the portal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securing critical production and staging applications. With little administrative effort been able to configure full blocking mode and geo block access at the application level.


    Biotechnology

Great Product

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The proactive nature of the protection it provides
What do you dislike?
The agents and web server modules update process
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enhanced visibility in web requests, protecting sites form malicious attempts


    Jorge Alberto T.

RASP / WAF Review

  • February 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy and fast integration with different types of architecture patterns and applications.
Support of agents with reverse proxy solutions.
No false positives at the moment.
No PII/PCI information is stored and ability to redact any sensitive data.
Rules are very easy to configure and deploy.
Intelligent network that shares malicious IPs, attacks, etc. Which allows to be one step ahead of any attempt against our applications.
Integration with SIEMs.
What do you dislike?
Lack of AWS Lambda support integration.
Lack of communication about releases, roadmap and new functionalities.
Static conditions in template rules, should allow more flexibility.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Avoid technical teams to review false positives.
Able to categorize functionalities within the application to have a better understanding of any anomalies and create rules according to security and business needs.
Flexibility for deployment for different security problems (agent, reverse proxy, PaaS, etc.)


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Loving SigSci

  • May 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed to implement, insights from the tool, progressive product roadmap, support, and of course the protection it affords our business.
What do you dislike?
Older versions required an agent to be maintained, although the new cloud version has done away with this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Originally we needed a solution that would work with our architecture - spent months trying to integrate some of the traditional WAF products without success, we had SigSci up and running in a day. Simple to use WAF.