Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.39.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

774 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Blackboard Learn in Higher Ed

  • April 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The option to customize and standardize every course across campus, which provides a consistent experience for our learners, has increased student success and satisfaction for the college.
What do you dislike?
The cost. However, our costs have normalized over the past year and the team at Blackboard was willing to work within our budgets. Also, the mobile app/experience for both faculty and students needs work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are offering fulling only, hybrid, synchronous, and f2f courses through Blackboard Learn, which ensures as an institution we stay viable and sustain our ever-shrinking budgets and enrollments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider moving to Base Navigation and the Ultra Experience. Also, build consistency across courses by creating a template.


    Solomon L. W.

The most organized and user-friendly learning management system

  • March 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The system is reliable and very little downtime. It is easy to setup for usage by students and easy for students to navigate it.
What do you dislike?
I feel like there are a lot of plug-ins and extra applications that I do not even know about. I often run across features that my college may or may not have.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Students have course resources at their fingertips and the assessments that are automatically graded saves time manually grading them. Class notes can be posted immediately after class and all communication can stay in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I've used Moodle and Canvas, as a graduate student, and I believe Blackboard Learn far exceeds their usability and user-friendliness. I have heard Blackboard is more expensive, but it goes back to the saying, "you get what you pay for."


    Vicki S.

BEEN USING FOR A LONG TIME - Good, Bad and the Ugly

  • March 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable. Good partner. Easy to use. Great integration.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, communication from Bb is not good. Technical support lacks urgency.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Deliver education content to students and staff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your research! Take into account all aspects. What is the return on investment?


    Felipe B.

thoughts on Blackboard

  • February 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard was relatively easy to use. The interface was simple.
What do you dislike?
The whole aesthetics of Blackboard were plain ugly. It had a very antiquated look and feel.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used Blackboard Learn to administer my courses at University.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Blackboard Learn has a very intuitive and easy to use interface.


    Jack C.

How is this platform this bad ?

  • February 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We are now in 2022, with remote learning at its peak; Blackboard Learn is by far the worst platform I have used so far. Any other platform feels way less buggy and reactive, while blackboard looks stuck in 2012. Their CTO must be a gem!
What do you dislike?
Interface, UX/UI, student/teacher interface, almost everything blackboard does.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I need to use it to follow my courses online because of the pandemic. Whenever I use it, I hear the teacher talking about the software being unusable and way too slow and buggy. Old technologies are still being used while we are in 2022. How hard is it to make a decent whiteboard just to start with it? The name is Blackboard, after all.


    Alejandro G.

A lot of options, but difficult to use

  • February 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well, I work in a university that changed from Blackboard to Brighstpace. I did like of BB that it has a lot of configuration options regarding grading: you can assign peer-to-peer assessments and edit a quiz question with absolute ease.
What do you dislike?
The interface. There are many little buttons in the configuration menu, some of them are hiding and are difficult to spot, so you can´t use them easily or quickly find the option you need at a particular time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Teachers were using BB mainly as a depository for their classes archives. It allowed the administrative departments to file their essential archives, such as meetings and videoconferences. In the confinement time of the covid-19 pandemic, we used BB collaborate for virtual classes.


    La-Tonya D.

Blackboard is an ideal LMS

  • February 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is an ideal Learning Management System (LMS) that meets all of my academic needs. Some of the features that I enjoy most are, the ability to store
a reasonable amount content (i.e. Powerpoint lectures, assignments, files, videos). Through the use of Blackboard i am also able to create an inviting virtual space to enhance student engagement via the Discussion Board tool. I often use the discussion feature to introduce relevant course content that may also be controversial. I have found that this is the best way to engage students.

Additionally, it is a useful LMS for the facilitation of assessments (e.g. tests and quizzes) and it integrates seamlessly with third party content providers (e.g Cengage, Pearson).

Students have shared that they like that they are able to monitor their performance at anytime during the semester and they are able to receive feedback on assignments and quizzes immediately.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any dislikes. Compared with other learning management systems I have found Blackboard to be the best in meeting both student and professor needs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Through the use of Blackboard I am able to remain accessible to students and facilitate continual learning at times that are most convenient for my learners. The LMS has a sleek design and is easy for content creators and users alike. One of its newest features, BlackBoard Ultra, comes with enhanced features. The one that I enjoy the most is Collaborate because it allows for a virtual meeting space within the Blackboard environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend Blackboard as the LMS of choice. It is an easy to use platform enjoyed by both faculty and students alike.


    Tami P.

Easier than unjamming the photocopier!

  • January 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Two things -- First, it enables a paper-free classroom. I don't have to make photocopies, and I don't have stacks of physical papers to grade. Second, it disconnects due dates/times from class sessions. I can have them do work before we meet and adjust what we do in class based on the results.
What do you dislike?
Students tend to find it challenging to navigate at first, so I end up spending a significant amount of time teaching them Blackboard. I'd love to see the mouse-over explanations of things that many websites have now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Blackboard "My Grades" feature has virtually eliminated emails about grades after they are posted. We're able to take care of any questions before the end of the semester, and therefore, explaining why grades were what they were no longer cuts into my vacation time. Huge win!


    Higher Education

Blackboard is easily navigable for students and faculty

  • January 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard's use of Discussion Boards allows for many insightful conversations within a forum between students and faculty. It is very easy to find items that have been posted, and everything is highly organized.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes when a faculty member or professor posts items, the students do not receive a notification. This makes it easy for important documents to be missed by students.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Blackboard Learn has been integral in solving and aiding the current Online Learning issue that we face worldwide. It has been a significant player in how students are learning today.


    Amaury R.

Decent enterprise software for colleges

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It does its job, i like how I can accesss old classes.
What do you dislike?
The user interface and user experience was relatively poor when compared to a software like canvas.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To view my grades, class notifications, and interact with professors