Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.13.0 SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

738 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

Review of Blackboard from UTDallas student

  • June 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the organization of different courses I am enrolled in.
What do you dislike?
I disliked plethora of information provided and it can be abstracted in a nice way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Blackboard at UTDallas to manage everything related to academics such as courses, grades, assignment submissions, announcements.


    Education Management

Easily accessible through any device

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked that I was able to easily access Blackboard on my computer as well as my phone if I was on the go.
What do you dislike?
I didn’t like that there were so many maintenance alerts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You are able to virtually learn and your professor is able to communicate to their entire attendance roll at the same time.


    Chinmay P.

Great platform for students

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great tool to collaborate online, speciallty in these circumstances where virtual learning is the new normal, blackboard has cool features with smooth flow
What do you dislike?
comments section could be more efficient, as you get too many notifications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it has been a great tool to connect with college professors, even group work can be done efficiently
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am not an expert enough to provide recommendations


    Samarth S.

Amazing learning software

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Blackboard is that it is very easy to use for you as well as for the faculty. We can send messages, submit homeworks, and make groups for learning.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike about the app is that sometimes the app is not compatible in the portrait version of the phone.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use blackboard learn both as a student as well as a TA. I use it to give assignments and grade to students and also to submit assignments myself.


    Higher Education

Great LMS. Can improve UI

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is one place where you can do everything.
What do you dislike?
Not dislike but it could have better UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are times when you have to google to figure out how to add let's say an extra credit column. The design could be more intuitive so you don't need to go through an entire Help article to figure it out. Also, many times when you try to send an email, after you've hit 'send', it says 'no valid recipients' when there was an entire class. This has you type the email all over again unless you had it saved elsewhere. It hangs and goes to the previous session or to the entire master course when you're just grading one class. That's an issue too. There are a lot of benefits: you can check for plagiarism, post & schedule assignments and announcements, create quizzes, grade, calculate overall grades, etc.


    Lauryn G.

Blackboard Learn - Great Functionality If You Can Figure Out the Features

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard can be a valuable tool for educators and students. There are a variety of platforms included in Blackboard Learn such as virtual classroom, custom content display, and unique set-up by teachers.
What do you dislike?
While Blackboard Learn has a lot of great features like copying previous classes to current academic years, it is very complicated to understand how to use the features and many of the tutorials supplied by Blackboard are not user friendly. Blackboard needs to be compatible with other educational platforms like Google Suites.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been able to reuse class content from previous school years and share material with colleagues. With the COVID-19 closure, we were able to host virtual classes and office hours with students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hosting virtual classes can be successful but initial implementation requires debugging and a lot of trial and error.


    Jenny C.

Easy to use

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The format of Blackboard is great. You can share screens. make others a moderator so they can share screens. You can put people into groups and set a timer for them to come back into the main group. you can also add assignments and grades in BlackBoard. Can not ask for a better system for instruction, group meetings, breakout sessions.
What do you dislike?
I have not seen anything that I dislike about BlackBoard. It does many things that help instructors teach. I wish that our district would not set limits on what each instructor is allowed to do.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is easy to upload assignments for the student to the teacher and vise versa. I did not realize how well BlackBoard works for all levels of instruction. Our school uses it for both teachers to student instruction and PD Professional development for teachers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great program for education and other business that want to communicate with others. In education is great for assigning lessons and teaching tool that helps with distance learning. I have been an instructor and a student on BlackBoard so I have seen first hand it works for both instructor and students. So if you want a program that does multiple things this program is for you. I like to how you can do so many things with the program. BlackBoard is keeping up with times!


    Robert C.

Excellent platform for students.

  • June 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The students grades can be monitored and their grades can be seen online. You can also import directly from the blackboard a list of student emails or contact students. For uploading content, it's also quite easy. Saving time and easy to access is a great way. You can engage very easily with your students.
What do you dislike?
Functionality organization is not intuitive. Even fundamental tasks often involve multiple clicks and page updates. The loading and navigation takes a long time. Sometimes it may be slow, and when you register a student, it may take time, and student messages may be delayed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The listing of courses and qualifications is a simple method. It permits instructors to keep a website with the course materials that have been written. As they are published, students can view and track their degrees in real time. I can allow many people to take part in my workshops and it allows others to see if they can also attend the workshops.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A good tool for classmates and teachers, certainly. It is easy to implement, it is innovative, and very interactive.


    Richard S.

Platform of great benefit for students.

  • June 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While exploring Blackboard Learn there is a complete guide. The basic and very helpful research to check off is very easy to use and teach. Saving time and easy access is a great way to save.
What do you dislike?
I don't like it when they do some updates on the platform because it's happened that things change places and it takes a while to adapt again.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can access all my resources and tasks, which I might want to accomplish all day long. Enable some people to enter my sessions and encourage others to see if they do want to enter the sessions. This is so people will review me.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great benefits for students and teachers I recommend its implementation.


    Sandeep P.

Blackboard Lean

  • May 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard Learn is an innovative and novel platform for student learning and collaboration. This is one of the platforms that have been explored a lot during the times of pandemic. It can be used to deliver online course management and other items.
What do you dislike?
There are onboarding and timeline limitations while using a platform like this. There is also a learning curve, especially for people not used to modern technologies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online project and course collaborations for students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please take time to learn the tool as well as possibly having expert guidance while implementing this tool