Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RStudio Server with Tensorflow-GPU for AWS

RStudio, PBC | 1.3.1073.aws.1*

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu V18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

502 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alberto T.

Great IDE for teaching R courses

  • May 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RStudio is a very simple but powerful IDE, ideal for people new to either R or programming. It can be installed in any major OS (Windows, Linux, MacOS) in a short amount of time, usually without any problems. It combines a simple editor, terminal and variable window that makes it feel like a Matlab-like environment, which is great for beginners or for people coming from other languages like Matlab.
What do you dislike?
There is very few things to dislike about RStudio, since it is probably the best R IDE out there. However, some areas for improvement are the simple IDE and graphics handling (sometimes a little buggy).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm teaching R courses using this IDE and I also use it myself when doing research in R.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are learning R, RStudio is the way to go. I also found it useful when teaching R courses, since the students (usually new to programming) can get the IDE up and running very quickly and everything is much more visual (they do not have to keep track of the objects in memory, and so on.)


    Higher Education

I usually use R and R scripts from the terminal window, but use R Studio for some applications.

  • May 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
R Studio is a useful GUI for implementing multiple associated R scripts, which is my primary use. I have found that running multiple driver or wrapper files (for a computational model, for example) is easier in R Studio compared to the terminal window. It is also a good tool for running problematic code line-by-line to diagnose errors, and to search long outputs.
What do you dislike?
As with any GUI, R Studio does not offer the flexibility that working from the terminal does. For example, I prefer to write code outside R Studio (in gedit or notepad) because it is more visually-pleasing, and I prefer to make high-quality figures this was as well.

As a side note, I hate that R Studio automatically opens your prior documents when you open the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am an academic in the natural sciences. I use this software in primary research (big data, statistics, GIS, modeling), and to make figures for publications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
R Studio is a useful tool and will be useful for some applications. If you have a computing background, it may be a little aggravating at times.


    Robby T.

Awesome software for analytics and visualization

  • May 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This software fully harnesses the power and usefulness of R. Very easy to set up and to acquire packages online. Keeping multiple task screens together makes the workflow process optimization easy to customize. Being able to program, run, and see output in one screen is awesome. The connection to the R community is of infinite help.
What do you dislike?
Connecting to a database live can be tricky to do. The learning curve to fully utilize this software is very steep.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Predictive modeling, descriptive statistics, inferential statistical testing. Benefits realized include being able to manipulate and visualize our data using a cost effective software platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to get linked to your database live.


    Cao D.

The best IDE for R

  • March 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
R-studio is well designed to offer a integrated development environment. It features a console, syntax-highlighting editor that supports direct code execution, as well as tools for plotting, history, debugging and workspace management. What's the most excellent thing is it not only offers the automatic code completion, but also the automatic file path completion. It really save a lot of time to help you interact with the exterior environment.
What do you dislike?
If I have to list something I do not like about Rstudio, I may say the Rstudio for MAC may collapse when I was using parallel method computing huge calculations and it may not save the latest revision I made before the collapse.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Rstudio to work on the data analysis by R. Mostly, the problems I got are from the academical project. And up to now, the R and Rstudio has helped me successfully completed several projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You gotta install R first before you install R-Studio


    Likhit K.

R studio - A pefect IDE for R programming.

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good Organization and clean/neat interface
Easy to compute
Very Stable to work with as it takes large data to work with.
Easy installation.
Not much effort needed to work with new package.
On-line resources to overcome your problem facing while working.
What do you dislike?
Even though working with packages is easy sometimes face problem with installing some package and its functions not all meets our requirement .
Problem exists while running the code.
Debugging is not so easy.
No clean ending is found or so called line-breaks is lagging.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on data analysis project it helps me to handle heavy data. It meets all my requirements with out much hurdles to take on while solving my problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you want to work on data handling and its stuff.
start working with this product and become familiarized with it.
It meets all our requirement for our job to be done.


    Harish S.

R studio must use tool Data analytics

  • January 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am doing my major projects on data mining. I found R studio as best tool for doing project on data analysis. It provides many packages for different features. These packages are easy to install, just by one click. R programs can be easily executable using R studio. The interface of r studio is better than r software. It is more stable and gives all features for r programs. It can be used in all platforms, multi platform tool. It can handle large set of data without any crash.
What do you dislike?
I found installation little difficult while installing it in Ubuntu, some strange errors. Interface is little boring, it can be still improved. Except these, R studio community providing great support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on my project using R studio. It is best suited software to work on data analysis. It provided many packages to all features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a must know software for data analysis. It is free and mutli platform so anybody can easily get this. Go for this tool.


    Kiran K.

Best tool for Data Analytics

  • January 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
R studio is one of the best IDE tool for data analysis. For R programmers, R studio provides the best way to run R programs. It has a great interface, easy to execute programs. There are lots of packages available in
R-studio, which can be easily installed. This is the must known tool for Data Analysis. It is free software. R-studio supports in multi platform like windows, Linux and Mac. For any problems we can find answers easily with R community. It can handle large data without much trouble.
What do you dislike?
The command interface is a little confusing. The copy/paste doesn't works properly, while pasting some strange things get copies, it is frustrating. Sometimes won't run at all, asks for restarting R.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a engineer student I do many projects on data analysis, R providing a great support for this. R-studio is only one known software by many data analysts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are learning about data analysis or data mining things, then R-studio is must use software. It is free and anybody can download it. You can analyze the data more effectively.


    Jerry (Jie) J.

Best of the bests

  • January 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using R and Rstudio for ~5 years in data analytics and modeling. R-Studio is definitely the must-have tool for me and one of the first few tools I installed for every new laptop.

1. This is not a substitute of R, this is a must-have improvement of R, and without it, your life will be a mess.
2. Fortunately R-Studio is also the only perfect IDE for R and also being a perfect one (not having other options is better sometimes...)
3. It's for the most of the time, very stable, and never encounter any problem.
4. It's actively managed and updated, while the company behind it also provides so many excellent R related tools, like shiny.
5. R-Studio has very much everything you need for working with R, and the interface is very flexible and rich.
6. Being even more perfect, R-Stuidio has a server version, and I actually install that in my ubuntu of VM, which is much more powerful than my Mac, and also allows to run code 7*24.
What do you dislike?
Very few ares of improvement:
1. Sometimes, if you cancel a running code, R-Studio will fail or ask you to restart the app, not for sure if this is because of R-Studio, or the R-base behind that. So I cannot really blame R-Studio
2. Can make it run code more efficient, i.e. use multi-cores of CPU or even GPU.
2. That are the only complaints I have for R-Studio
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use R-Studio to work on all data manipulation, data analytics and model building, and use the result to make data-driven decisions. This is the tool I use after I got data from database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if you work with R, the only and best option.


    Anton S.

One of the easy-to-use IDE

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All-in-one package for work with data analysis and statistic. Separated panels to view files, environment, code and command line together is the best. Easy to install new packages. Comparability with github comes in handy some times.
What do you dislike?
Update system. There is basically none. You need to download and install it over the old version. I would prefer auto-update for IDE and R
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analyzing data from RNASeq, writing and testing scripts for routing work
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The effort to transfer from console to R-Studio is almost nothing. It is everything you used to, but much easier and better.


    Retail

R-Studio is more than an IDE

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Using Projects has been a game-changer in my work. It keeps me more organized and future sessions pick up where I left off, which makes me more productive and willing to close the application without "fear" of losing my place. Being able to view all my objects and variables with contextual drop-down arrows is fantastic. In addition, viewing all of my visualizations and being able to quickly flip through past visualizations is nice feature.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, I find it difficult to select certain lines of code and run them and would like to see this workflow improved without having to run everything in the console. Moreover, copying/pasting code form the Internet, blogs, stackoverflow, can be tedious with plus signs "+" and line-breaks. It would be neat if R-Studio would provide some flavor of automated code clean-up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve a variety of data science and analytically-oriented problems at work. R-Studio keeps my R code organized and makes coding in R easier and more fun.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download it and familiarize yourself with a few keyboard shortcuts. Also checkout the R-Studio blog and various webinars to get you up-to-speed quickly.