Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Amazon ECS-Optimized Windows Server 2016

Amazon Web Services | 2018.07.25

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

244 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jay K.

Best in the market

  • July 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used Microsoft Azure Cloud services and Amazon cloud services (AWS) mostly. So I will state my differences, advantages of using ECS over others.
- Better documentation
- Custom Docker like ecosystem (ECR)
- Pay as You Go
- More Scalable
What do you dislike?
AWS ecosystem is like an awesome eco system where one you get used to it, you always prefer the same channel, similarly like Apple's ecosystem in mobile phones. One of the main thing I dislike is its ECR integration. It has no editable feature also, when I upload the latest container it starts pointing to new container but it should continue to the last one. Also a minor update in configuration require whole new task definition. so it become overhead sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployment of application on cloud
Scalability for the same
Multiple micro services
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Flexible
Easy to scale
Immutable
Azure has very old and unintuitive UI


    Chike I.

The best and most reliable way to get your online services online

  • June 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that ECS allows for easy storage, we have been using AWS ECS for over 5 years now and it is most reliable and secured, i also enjoy the fact that there is a daily backup of my entire data.
What do you dislike?
It is not like your traditional hosting dashboard, you need to really understand what you are looking at before you can configure and use. You might even need an AWS certified engineer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has allowed us to move servers to the fastest depending on our location, we can also quickly deploy new apps or features in no short time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want reliability then use AWS ECS, it is fast and reliable.


    Mitesh P.

Excellent fully managed Container Service

  • January 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Managed & scalable service to run containerised applications
- Ability to select from large variety of machines. Memory Optimised, Graphics Optimised, Compute Optimised
- Allows to be configured to use multiple AZs
- Compatibility with other AWS Services
- Can be integrated easily with ELB, VPC, IAM, ECR, etc
- Very easy to scale containers
What do you dislike?
- To update a minor thing in the service, we need to create a new revision of task definition, which gets cluttered very soon.
- Understanding of Services, Task Definition, Container repository might be difficult for a beginner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to containerize most of the our application & able to deploy it on ECR.
ECR reduces our effort to manage & scale docker.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good service to consider to run containerized service, instead of having pain of managing docker.


    Computer Software

ECS should stand for Easy Containers Service

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Everything but mostly the EC2 Linux + Networking pre-configured cluster, this identifies by far the most common necessities when running this environment. Also the integration with ECR.
What do you dislike?
Is hard to say, but in the generality this should be the short documentation about it. There should be more examples or diversified environments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintain our cluster servers on the same page without down-timing for updates or changes.


    Education Management

Container service for novice

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple lift and shift migrations..easy to set up
What do you dislike?
Spot instance configuration is bit confusing compared to on demand container instances
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Elastic scaling and easy deployments using the dockers.


    Computer Software

ECS is awesome

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can choose to manage it with EC2 servers or serverless Fargate.
What do you dislike?
The awsvpc Networking Mode is supposed to make the networking easier but in my experience it was way more difficult
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use docker heavily so using ECS to manage and deploy images is great
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider whether you need to deploy your image in a server managed or serverless environment before starting to configure. Also make sure you understand how the networking works.


    omar s.

Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS)

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS) is very easy to use and help full to all of my company
What do you dislike?
nothing much i dislike about it, it is a great service and i think all companies should use it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it is making the working flow alot easier and we are getting less and less complains about it


    Financial Services

Easy to launch with predefined configuration

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No need to worry about hardware and software upgrades
What do you dislike?
So far did not come across any as its not managed by our company
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently its managed by managed services


    Computer Software

Fastest way to grow an environment.

  • December 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to use. You can choose from many different AMIs and have server up and running in minutes. The ability to quickly turn on a server and have it start servicing users is worth all the money.
What do you dislike?
The cost, if you have a server running that serves little to no purpose, this is a very expensive way to run. EC2 should not be treated like servers you run in a data center. they should be treated like cattle. You could kill them tomorrow and have not issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to solve a way to deploy our service in a quick and effective way. This allowed us to move from 6 months turn up to two weeks. a huge win for my company


    Computer & Network Security

Fast and Flexible Managed Container Service

  • November 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and easy to implement container service using existing docker images allows great scale
What do you dislike?
Network isolation and restriction with individual containers could be better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of implementing devops container environments