Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Service Management Automation

Micro Focus | 2020.02

Linux/Unix, CentOS 1708 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

61 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Whit C.

Extremely full features Service manager with a slightly difficult UI

  • July 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Service Management is very robust and configurable. There are a near infinite number of options and configurations available.
What do you dislike?
The UI can be clunky and un-intuitive at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The speed and efficiency in getting changes from development approved and scheduled for production deployment has been greatly reduced. It has also increased visibility for larger changes so that no one is caught unprepared or unaware.


    Daniel C.

Friendly and powerfull tool for every request.

  • June 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to customize the tool on my own; Micro Focus community is a great place to look for answers; Micro Focus team is always ready to help solve our issues and give ideas; Interface is user friendly on both backend and frontend; SMAX implementation is really simple and fast; Administration of SMAX is easy to understand and work with.
What do you dislike?
Lack of direct/apps connection with external tools; Report option, could be better, but it provides necessary requirement to export the information to another reporting tool in order to analyze data and act on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At this moment, we are using SMAX as our Service Desk tool. We realized that with SMAX, we are able to be more organized, and have a "place to go" when we have a problem; With SMAX, we stopped receiving endless emails, and phone calls, as 90% of users know happily adopted the tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it! Micro Focus SMAX is worth it, you have all you need, and if it's not there, Micro Focus team will do its best to fulfill your needs.


    Information Services

Partner

  • June 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Container technology and on cloud or on-prem option.
I think it can be moved from diff environments seamlessly .
What do you dislike?
I think product is not marketed well and also few delivery challenges on ground .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems in IT service management , workflows creation for non it business units and App creation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product for Itsm


    Arnie F.

My experience with SMAX

  • May 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So when we needed t find a new approved to our IT needs just so we can cater to our growing demands and higher expectations of our customers, we stumble upon Service Management Automation X. We feel that this solution was able to helped us increased our customers satisfaction and our agents productivity. It met and exceeded our service levels and made the platform engaging to our customers. They do have 24/7 support and a service portal with smart search to assist us. Workflow automation has become and increasing need to our current situation and SMAX helps us set new standard and guidelines to remain competitive and still enable growth.
What do you dislike?
Configuration to a third party can be challenging at times but with SMAX, they were able to help and provide us a step by step process and make sure that we are good to go with our current integration with SMAX.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I like that you SMAX can integrate to Jira. Integrate incident to defect, creating portal based enhancement or request, and configuring details for setting up the integration. I like that there's an inbound update to the status to the ticket and it takes us all the way to the review phase. You can make several kinds of support request such as bug or enhancement requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want the best way to manage your workflow process.


    Jonas B.

Perfect solution to support Enterprise Service Management - easy to install, configure & use!

  • December 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User experience is great on all levels - for Administrators & Endusers. The codeless configuration engine is very powerful and makes it easy to implement customer based workflows, actions and offerings.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately SMAX doesn't have a reporting module inside. The Dashboards are perfect to see a live status of the system but they can hardly be used to report something to the management level. Nevertheless integrations are possible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working as Consultants & Developers in the Micro Focus ITOM stack for years (especially with Service Center/Manager) SMAX is a completely new experience concerning development.
In addition running & working with a container based system brings operations to completely new level.


    Jeffrey J.

SMAX is a true modern ITSM solution

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Artificial Intelligence for the end users makes it much easier to resolve issues faster. Big data analytics enables faster time to resolution and makes it easier to pin-point issues. The use of containers simplifies the deployment of the application and streamlines the upgrade process. Finally, the Studio enables customers to create new processes with ease due to the codeless configuration.
What do you dislike?
It would be good to allow for the use of existing Kubernetes instances and have heard that may be an option in the future.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No more complex installation that require heavy consulting and make upgrades challenging. There is a massive cost savings opportunity to allow end users to leverage the big data engine to resolve issues before opening a ticket.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Leverage a Micro Focus Platinum Partner for implementation and support


    Terje M.

Enterprise Service Management on a powerful modern platform that includes big data analytics

  • November 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SMAX is so easy to set up and start using, even with advanced automation, so we can focus on organizational use-cases and get them quickly into production. In addition to standard IT Processes and the automation of customer Requests (Catalog Management), we have expanded the solution to handle our Contract Management and Demand Management. Getting Use-cases from design to production is a matter of days, not weeks or months.
What do you dislike?
I would like to see an easier login to the mobile app, using standard mobile functionality like fingerprint, face recognition etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use SMAX for our customer support and Contract Management and Demand Management as mentioned. Contracts are now available for our Hjelpdesk staff as well as our consultants when needed, working with customer Requests and Incidents. We have also made it easier for internal Sales to request services thru the same portal as our customer request support and services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before starting to configure functionality you think you need, get a good overview of all functionality that is delivered out-of-the-box. Be open for new way of working, taking advantage of new technology.


    Information Technology and Services

Simple, intuitive and user friendly Service Management Tool

  • November 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The tool is simple to use, thus making it very user friendly. Customization depending on different needs is simple to achieve, making it a great tool for a diversified set of users.

The codeless configuration aspects also adds to the user friendliness as it simplifies configuration tasks.
What do you dislike?
Some modules are less developed than others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Effective handling of tickets, greater control and reporting possibilities, and higher user satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't hold back questions about the tool. Ask your vendor, and run many workshops. Once you understand the tool, you will harvest much greater benefit from it.


    Maxim O.

Nice product for ticketing if have good tuning.

  • December 20, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast restarting if service broken. Nice interface for end users and good interface for developers. SM have deep opportunity for tunings, better if have company administrator of SM with at least 3 SM courses x 5day at HP education center (basic, administration, developer).
What do you dislike?
If SM service broken, it cant automatically report about that problem. And sometimes SM cant restart its own process.
Also SM must have deep tunings according to business process, and out of the box version not work properly. However that situation helps integrators for take money from implementation. For example +40 java scripts, +4 web interfaces, + 10 paper processes, +3 integration will take about one year/1 person or half year/3 persons, if that peoples already have experience and already have finished scripts, so that time need to construct processes, some adaptation and test the solution. If do work just after completing courses then it takes much more time, for example, 3-5 years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Less time for solving IT problems. Colleagues and managers says that Service Manager helps to speed up common tasks also. I can clearly view what happen with my ticket, view priority, time, person who take ticket, all contact information - telephones and emails, organization information. And I have fast response and opportunity to use SM from any device with browser.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Find a good integrator company with good project team and nice programmers, company that already done successfully some big projects, and you want nearly the same that they done in the project. And that will be the fastest way for using SM. Developing from zero, hours waiting respond from support, testing tons of script code will take much more money, even you will have experience from using product. So believe in experienced peoples, better if they organized in company.


    Kunal G.

It Is A Stable Product, Scalable, Good Support, Right Solutions, Easy To Setup

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about HPE Service Manager is while it is a solution that does work out of the box with some configuration its real strength is its ability to change for your organization's infrastructure
What do you dislike?
HPE has a hosted solution and people think ServiceNow is the be all.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a completely customizable solution to fit with the specific needs of our organization. It does it really easily and really dependably.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I Like The Flexibility And The Integrity Of The Product.