Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kubernetes Sandbox packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 1.24.3-0 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

83 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mike L.

Shot for the Stars...isn't quite there yet

  • May 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the overall ease of scaling as well as the assurances that containers will restart if failed. The extensibility via the API is useful, you can almost build anything you want with it.
What do you dislike?
It's extremely immature (very buggy), the networking is just...painful, the scheduler is dumb and slow; those are my technical dislikes. My personal dislike is the overall lack of cohesive documentation as well as the assertion that just because there hadn't really been a container orchestrator, doesn't mean that Kubernetes is the end-all right way of doing things.

Personally I do not think it is ready for enterprise deployment, at least not when it comes to using petabytes of storage with terabytes of RAM. Kubernetes may be good for a web server front-end farm, or even scaling short internal processes for short periods of time, but as a general platform, it's more of a primitive PaaS then necessarily a comprehensive PaaS solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
None that couldn't have been solved via other means, and at this point, there are no real benefits. Our business solution could've gone with something else and been just fine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't deploy it internally, deploy it on GCE or AWS or some other solution. It's not simple, and it's not easily maintainable at this point in time. It's updates are frequent and hard to keep versions updated. Developing on it is a nightmare because it's inconsistent, and it's easy to have containers/pods get into crash loops with unavailable logs. I have deployed countless times and gotten stuck in crash loops that I'm not sure how to solve because the logging either doesn't exist or isn't available.

It's not that Kubernetes isn't headed in the right direction, necessarily, or that things are done incorrectly. It's very immature and needs a lot of time to mature before using it in an enterprise capacity.


    Financial Services

Genius tool for realising the benefit of containerised apps.

  • May 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automating the deployment of a Kubernetes cluster on almost any cloud provider is well documented. With cluster addons provided for common requirements such as ELK (logging), Heapster (monitoring), Kube Dashboard (UI) and Registry (private Docker registry) it's easy to get a basic platform up and running.
What do you dislike?
Lack of supported cloudformation templates or deployment recommendations for running a multi AZ cluster along with a HA master. Current advice is to run multiple seperate clusters, one in each AZ, with federation of clusters coming in a future release.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kubernetes was the container platform of choice for deploying stateless microservices, which can be updated independently in a consistent and reliable way. It enables businesses to release more frequently and with greater confidence - if it worked in dev it will work in prod.


    Information Services

Kubernetes, great for small dev-ops teams.

  • May 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We're using it with CoreOS and k8s adds so many great features on top of CoreOS such rolling deployments, service announcements, load balancing. We were planning on implementing a lot of these internal so k8s saved us a lot of time.
What do you dislike?
Setup was a little confusing at first on AWS, but after getting over that hurdle it's a joy to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a small startup, every little bit counts. So the ability for k8s to solve a whole host of DevOps problems with a single guy is incredibly useful and makes continuous integration a breeze.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spend a little time setting up a local test cluster and play around with different deployment options before approaching the hosted option.


    Nguyen Q.

A Kubernetes user with cluster 200 pods running in production

  • May 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of scaling container across cluster; Rolling-update without downtime is also great. Best for microservices.
What do you dislike?
Kube-proxy performance and not a good choice for stateful services like databases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are following microservice architecture and Kubernetes is a good choice. It speed up our continuous increase and make it less painful for us
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kubernetes works best in microservices architecture with their kick-ass features like scaling + load balancing, rolling-update,


    Jon M.

Well-architected platform for container orchestration

  • May 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The design is very well thought-out. I really like the abstractions of Pods, Replication Controllers, and Services. They have thought through a lot of issues like zero-downtime deployments, log management, API versioning, and other details that make me think they're architecting it well. I like the Kubernetes design a lot better than what Docker itself is doing with Swarm.
What do you dislike?
Secret management still needs some work. There was some functionality like rolling updates that was only in the client in v1, and wasn't available in the API until 1.2.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My company has a service-oriented architecture, with ~50 applications that run in datacenters with several hundred servers. We were looking to run our apps on Docker, but realized that orchestration is important when dealing with that many apps.

Kubernetes is making it easy to create a single control plane that works both in cloud environments like AWS, and also bare metal servers in colo datacenters.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The setup for Kubernetes is a little complicated, and it takes some time to understand its architecture. But once you spend the time to get it up and running, it's fantastic.


    Higher Education

Best for orchestration of docker containers.

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to Configure . It handles the load flawlessly. Very rich set of features to have a feel of powerful data center. Mainly it also has very nice support from developers team , Community is really helpful on providing solutions on every problem.
What do you dislike?
Nothing . But one thing is , it is growing too fast . So we have to keep track of the architecture changes in K8s with newer version . But each version comes with great features , so it is worth it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. I am doing research on Docker Orchestration. So for now I am trying to contribute to the K8s , scheduler , making highly dynamic . I am adding feature of self learning pod(Containers) , where pods can learn the resource usage stats of the machine and migrate themselves on better machine on need basis.

2. I have also a deployment of K8s on bare metal servers , to handle (experimental) traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to go through the documentations quickly , and if the features you require are available , use it for sure .


    WEIXU Z.

Kubernetes is a good product

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a active openstack source project which mean you can looked into the code when you have any confusion and even contribute to the code when you want to add more features. Besides, It is also very easy to use, everything integrated with GCE or GKE very well.
What do you dislike?
Documentation is not enough. It is very easy to use Kubernetes in GCE or GKE but not other cloud providers or other private cloud. What Kubernetes does is mainly load balancing and auto scale, there are not enough motivation for some small companies to use it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We did not use Kubernetes directly. What we did is integrated our components or products with Kubernets. The help to monitor the dynamic usage other metric in Kubernetes. Our product can make customer to better monitor and use their Kubernetes cluster.


    Matthew C.

It can be used quickly and efficiently to spin up a full environtment from code

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With the proper automation; you can have a simple script you can give a dev or anyone that will allow them to spin up virtually anything prebuilt and ready to go. Including clustered items, and items that have dependencies on other items.
What do you dislike?
I haven't run into anything that makes me have an issue; I suppose a GUI would be nice for some people; but there are tools out there for that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Replicate infrastructure as code, quickly and reliably in any environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try; even at a small scale locally its very useful.


    Higher Education

Great development leads, community, and usability

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kubernetes provides tooling around the docker ecosystem that makes it the best way to deploy apps in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
There are some missing or experimental features which are still in development. Run-to-completion jobs are still experimental and Kubernetes still needs some work to host legacy services (e.g. RDBMSs).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have worked on the kubernetes project itself and used it for conducting small-scale experiments on a distributed storage system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kubernetes can take care of many distributed problems for your applications (e.g. service discover, leader election) with minimal changes.


    Information Technology and Services

Kubernetes is great

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kubernetes has good documents and good community on github and stackoverflow.
It's very easy to install with AWS, and build-in with GAE container services.
Once you have a K8S cluster running, you can deploy the whole stack of applications with one YML file and one command.
What do you dislike?
it doesn't come with a build-in network solution.
expose a service to public is not same experience across different provider.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was deploying some docker container to the cloud. K8S provides a very good support to manage docker containers, and provide an abstract layer for service.
we tried with docker swarm 1.0 and some customized script to manage docker containers. but nothing is stable and easy to manage like K8S.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are using GAE and docker. Kubernetes is your first option.