Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kubernetes Sandbox packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 1.24.3-1 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

88 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Best for orchestration of docker containers.

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to Configure . It handles the load flawlessly. Very rich set of features to have a feel of powerful data center. Mainly it also has very nice support from developers team , Community is really helpful on providing solutions on every problem.
What do you dislike?
Nothing . But one thing is , it is growing too fast . So we have to keep track of the architecture changes in K8s with newer version . But each version comes with great features , so it is worth it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. I am doing research on Docker Orchestration. So for now I am trying to contribute to the K8s , scheduler , making highly dynamic . I am adding feature of self learning pod(Containers) , where pods can learn the resource usage stats of the machine and migrate themselves on better machine on need basis.

2. I have also a deployment of K8s on bare metal servers , to handle (experimental) traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to go through the documentations quickly , and if the features you require are available , use it for sure .


    WEIXU Z.

Kubernetes is a good product

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a active openstack source project which mean you can looked into the code when you have any confusion and even contribute to the code when you want to add more features. Besides, It is also very easy to use, everything integrated with GCE or GKE very well.
What do you dislike?
Documentation is not enough. It is very easy to use Kubernetes in GCE or GKE but not other cloud providers or other private cloud. What Kubernetes does is mainly load balancing and auto scale, there are not enough motivation for some small companies to use it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We did not use Kubernetes directly. What we did is integrated our components or products with Kubernets. The help to monitor the dynamic usage other metric in Kubernetes. Our product can make customer to better monitor and use their Kubernetes cluster.


    Matthew C.

It can be used quickly and efficiently to spin up a full environtment from code

  • March 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With the proper automation; you can have a simple script you can give a dev or anyone that will allow them to spin up virtually anything prebuilt and ready to go. Including clustered items, and items that have dependencies on other items.
What do you dislike?
I haven't run into anything that makes me have an issue; I suppose a GUI would be nice for some people; but there are tools out there for that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Replicate infrastructure as code, quickly and reliably in any environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try; even at a small scale locally its very useful.


    Higher Education

Great development leads, community, and usability

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kubernetes provides tooling around the docker ecosystem that makes it the best way to deploy apps in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
There are some missing or experimental features which are still in development. Run-to-completion jobs are still experimental and Kubernetes still needs some work to host legacy services (e.g. RDBMSs).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have worked on the kubernetes project itself and used it for conducting small-scale experiments on a distributed storage system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kubernetes can take care of many distributed problems for your applications (e.g. service discover, leader election) with minimal changes.


    Information Technology and Services

Kubernetes is great

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kubernetes has good documents and good community on github and stackoverflow.
It's very easy to install with AWS, and build-in with GAE container services.
Once you have a K8S cluster running, you can deploy the whole stack of applications with one YML file and one command.
What do you dislike?
it doesn't come with a build-in network solution.
expose a service to public is not same experience across different provider.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was deploying some docker container to the cloud. K8S provides a very good support to manage docker containers, and provide an abstract layer for service.
we tried with docker swarm 1.0 and some customized script to manage docker containers. but nothing is stable and easy to manage like K8S.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are using GAE and docker. Kubernetes is your first option.


    Computer Software

Software that helps building things

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that its a container management software and its been widely accepted by cloud platforms such as Openshift V3 just goes to proove the ability and the need for such software
What do you dislike?
The fact that its not well marketed. Many software engineers are still unaware how this could benefit them in their day to day practices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am currently using this software to deploy and manage docker containers and group them into categories
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Should be marketed well. Training through webcasts are must


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to use.

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy to deploy containers/applications with the use of Kubernetes Dashboard (Still in Beta phase, but will be one of the most valuable resources)
What do you dislike?
So far, everything is straight forward and easy to use, nothing I can say I dislike. Possibly dislike the lack of ARMv7 resources.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Kubernetes on ARMv7 on Raspberry Pi 2. A great tool for many uses, something which can be brought into childrens education to learn about docker and container management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn Docker and LXC before attempting to use Kubernetes.


    Serge F.

Using Kubernetes for local development in Vagrant VMs, and production environments on Google Cloud

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Advanced container scheduling, resource quotas. I can deploy to any environment running k8 cluster, virtually anywhere.
What do you dislike?
Complicated installation process outside of google cloud, had to rely on custom scripts to provision k8s clusters locally. Complicated gcloud and kubectl command hierarchy, developers not familiar with it had some hard times, we simplified things a bit with custom Makefiles for some commands that we're commonly using.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Local Development environments are virtually the same as environment in the cloud, we were able to develop products that are integrated with our deployment solution from day 1. Cleaner, environment-agnostic application configuration, less polluted code.