Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Amazon Linux

Micro Focus | 12.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

156 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Majoju R.

Environment is good and scope for learning the new technology

  • July 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to connect with management and friendly employees.
Scope for learning new technologies
What do you dislike?
I have not seen any concerns with Vertica. It is suggestable to everyone.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is basically focussed on the healthcare industry and It helps me learn the domain
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Better to go for Vertica if they are looking for a cloud platform for their business needs


    Akshaykumar J.

I have worked for more than 4 years in ETL and data warehousing using Teradata and vertica

  • July 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There is no need to create data structures again. It enables to integrate millions of rows to be delivered in real time basis.It also provides advanced analytics features that are not there in Teradata or other platforms.
What do you dislike?
I think vertica should be flexible with cloud providers like Azure, AWS and Google Cloud Platform like Snowflake does. The storage cost and query execution should be more secure using service accounts.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica is helping me to fetch millions of rows in real time basis. Vertica has faster processing speed although it uses around 90% of space. i thinythey have designed vertica by keeping business needs in mind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very good tool for data warehousing and big data.


    Akash K.

Speed Matters

  • July 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Using vertica with python is a treat. It is very easy to modify and convert funtions using garioud methods to fine tune the sql to match your needs and that flexibility is something rare.
What do you dislike?
Upsert; Update and Delete is terribly slow when the volume of data increases. I undrestand that is by design but with faster parsing if yhese could be fixed i think it would be great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently vertica is helping me traverse huge amounts of data in both production and non production environments to generate analytics for the business via reports


    VENKATA SATYA SAI SIDDHARTHA K.

Great experience

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User interface and the last one is the best in the call I can't find it on my phone so I don't know the number of sleepless nights I had beacuse of harsh mails sent to me by the intial and
What do you dislike?
Services to use for the support and understanding during my work with the insights you might have already know about this project in under targeted delivery timelines
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data Analyst position requires the ability to be successful in the field Not entirely sure where this aritiffical hype will end up with the insights you might have already
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get some time on introspection Will take care of other partitions


    Abdul R.

Column oriented SQL database, superb for data warehouse and analytics.

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast for aggregate queries, best for data analytics.
What do you dislike?
Not enough performance for plain queries like select etc. Update query performance in worst, but delete/insert better than update
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Update performance in worst, but delete/insert better than update script.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fast for aggregate queries, best for data analytics. Update query performance in worst, but delete/insert better is than update.


    Abhijit M.

Vertica the game changer

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Faster Analytics, Real time processing..
What do you dislike?
GUI need to be improved. Should have more options on cloud..
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Big data Analytics, faster database and quick insights.


    Megha Y.

It is a data platform used for multiple purposes

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's is usually best to be used for ETL and ELT. This is the best in market tool of its kind, it can also connect to various sources via it's connectors of different options
What do you dislike?
Vertica can be made more flexible interms of its cost and management of infrastructure so customer have more options to costomise in much more flexible way.....
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is used to make centralised repository to build unified data platform. As it is vercitile in connecting to multiple data sources both file system and data bases
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's one shop stop for all your analytics needs


    Logistics and Supply Chain

good analytics tools with cloud support and save cost

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cost saving and cloud support are best about vertica
What do you dislike?
documentation with use cases can be improved
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
analytics has help in user engagement and conversion


    Information Services

There are a lot of opportunities for improvement areas for Vertica

  • July 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance and architecture. BugData Concepts
What do you dislike?
Slow development and missing functionalities and cloud support
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Handling Huge data sets
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Na


    Neelakanta P.

Vertica is best in class in it's domain of providing both world class products and services

  • July 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is not just a database, it is a best in class analytical platform as well and is powerful enough to store huge data from big data platforms in a single unified platform
What do you dislike?
Vertica can host it's more services as our offering, also as SAS cloud service. Also can make their cost model more flexible so customer can have more liberty to chose as per necessity
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica is mainly used for both typical ETL and ELT use cases. It helped in pulling data from and migrating from On-premise storage systems and also helped in building unified data platform