Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.1-6

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

103 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Maja P.

Very fast and scalable analytical RDBMS.

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is fast analytical distributed DBMS. This kind of architecture, which enables parallel processing, gives scalability through concurrent loading and querying data while also ensuring data availability in case of node failure. Also, it uses advanced encoding and compression structures which ensure saving storage space - significant feature in the world of data warehouse.
Personally, I consider that the best feature Vertica provide is it's completeness , which gives the user many possibilities through in-database developed funcionallities, and integration with other systems and tools, the different ones regarding loading data as well as the ones using data for analytics.
What do you dislike?
Regarding of memory consumption during query execution, Vertica requires substantial amount of prior techical knowledge to write memory-optimized queries. This includes knowledge about Vertica specifics, i.e. projections, encoding, resource pools. On the other side, when one improves his technical expertise, Vertica is by far the best choice of analytical database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica helped us solved the problem of loading vast amounts of data through ETL tools because it enabled us to create concurrent loading streams thanks to it's distributed architecture.
Also, Vertica in a very easy manner, enables integration not only with ETL tools, but also with visualization or tools regarding streaming data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is excellent when company has huge amounts of data, concurrent loading streams and extended needs for data visualisation and reporting. When learning more about tehnical concept and structures, one sees all the more possibilities this DBMS offers for the support of various bussiness cases.


    Raghav A.

Vertica amazing product and exciting toolset for DW and Analystics platform

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Troubleshooting on vertica platform is quite easy and it provides very detailed information as well about the insights what vertica is doing inside its database.

Tools and functions available to perform Analytics and handle Warehouse tasks are good.
What do you dislike?
Internal debugging documentation is one area which needs improvement
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use vertica for Store once and read more. Mostly helpful for warehousing tasks


    Banking

Likelihood to Recommend

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's Columnar and It's Analytical functions.
What do you dislike?
I Hate to manage it at Projection level.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am managing a DWH and analytical reports on DWH. It has very good speed and beautiful data management functions.


    Retail

Great product!

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Administration and Management, flexible scalability, variety of data types.
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind. It looks very good overall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It addresses pretty much all; structured and no-structured data. It has high scalability and all kind of connectors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product!


    Robert R.

Vertica for enterprise data warehouse

  • March 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super fast when queries are optimized. Excellent support.
What do you dislike?
You must take care for lot of details for optimized use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We integrated data from various transaction systems and Vertica made it possible on very efficient way. It has very good integration with Informatica Power center as etl tool and with IBM Cognos and Tableau as reporting tools.
Vertica has excellent support and you can always find lot of resources on their web site.

I would recommend for data warehouse database if you have lot of data and many parallel users. It has very good user management for managing database resources across users in organisation. It also allows integration with active directory.

It has lot of embedded analytic functions but if it is needed you can build your own functions using Python or other programming languages.

It is scalable so if your data grows you can easily extent storage and processing power.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is one of best analytics databases.


    Eva D.

From dark data into the ligh

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment and maintenance. Database performance on terabytes of data right out of the box.
What do you dislike?
It would have been nice if we could have integrated with our LDAP environment. Permissions on DDL functions were difficult to hand out as those were locked to the DB owner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The data was too large to be able to have any real insights into. We tried other columnar data stores and HDFS sorts of stores. With those we spent a lot of time trying to get data with no results. We stood up Vertica and all our data was available, clustered, highly available. We were able to gain insights within moments and continue to grow that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it! Get the free trial. It is worth it.


    Gambling & Casinos

Vertica Big Data

  • May 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is a analytical database 100% ANSI SQL that performs very well for large tables. Data load is incredibly fast and it is very easy to operate.
What do you dislike?
Updates are slow because columnar architecture, but you can replace with delete-insert.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Vertica as traditional Data Warehouse and Big Data experiences.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great performance, reasonable cost and low maintenance.

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that is mostly low maintenance with great performance with a good set of features.
What do you dislike?
At times the designer generated incremental design causes issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Vertica for all the reporting and analytics needs. We also use it for some large application queries and it performs reasonably well under a lot of different scenarios.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely give it a try if you are looking for a good data warehouse that can scale with your business needs. I highly recommend the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Blazing speed Big Data on Commodity hardware

  • April 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rapid responses, ability to handle large volumes of data, scalable and works on commodity hardware
What do you dislike?
Not ideal for high velocity transactions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analytics solutions to Physician and Payer organizations. No need for a full time DBA to support a Big Data solution.


    Internet

Vertica is the most obvious choice for on-premise data warehousing

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We've tested and tested and benchmarked and benchmarked and every time Vertica comes out ahead against competing technologies (OSS or proprietary) in terms of raw throughput and concurrency handling. We've even seen it rival highly optimized in-memory analytics engines for latency under certain scenarios. This makes it the obvious choice for us for any sort of general OLAP or dashboarding task.
What do you dislike?
We tend to push Vertica pretty hard and have a tendency to automate everything (we use chef for provisioning), which means we have had to write our own tools or adapt Verticas' to our purposes fairly substantially. This is no deal breaker, but it would be nice if they invested more time in the admin UX.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is our core analytic database offering and as such is central part of the compute fabric. The fact that it is so efficient and flexible in this regard means that we leverage it behind many applications, limiting tech sprawl and allowing us to go to market faster and with fewer support staff.