Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 12.0.2-0

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

170 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rituraj R.

All Rounder Platform for Data Analytics

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the tools and support which Vertica G2 provides. Most importantly I like it as helps in performing analytical operations very efficiently and effectively.
What do you dislike about the product?
I would like them to improve the interface and increase more support with the cloud platformd such as AWS, AZURE and GCP. Also like to see if Vertica G2 can integrate more tools and programming features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The major problem is the optimisation and performance tunning which I think Vertica G2 can handle very efficiently. Processing and analysing the non structured data is a major problem I see which Vertica can do it.


    Danish N.

Vertica makes analytics easier

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
You can find vertica in almost every popular cloud services. Amazon web service, Google cloud platform and microsoft azure.
What do you dislike about the product?
Vertica optimizer for query handling is not as great as other leaders. You need to know ahead of projection and sql query then only it makes sense to use it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Doing EDA and gap analysis in vertica is fairly straightforward.the best thing is that we dont require to transfer data from one data warehouse to vertica to use it. Hdfs support is great. One tip is to use vertica in two different modes for project management . You can always makes use of both storage and compute engine using a single mode also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can use it without the need to data transfer from your traditional data warehouse


    Government Administration

Great lab environment

  • December 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Exercises were clear and informative, nice to have a possibility to restart modules if needed. Nice to have the 3 node cluster with vertica management console installed.
What do you dislike about the product?
This is a tricky question. I didn't like that in the test, I couldn't see in the summary at the end what questions were wrong because I thought I had everything right (93%). Also, some questions were a bit misleading - for example I think the question was how Vertica stores the data: answer: in projections, but you could argue that in tables as well. I don't remember the question exactly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nothing for now, but I will be assigned to a project where we will be working with a Vertica cluster.
...................................................................


    Dmitry V.

The best integrated multitool for data storage and analytics

  • September 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
What you usually expect from a storage solution is that it can save and provide comfortable access to all the data, not only for engineers but for plain users.

My experience with Vertica shows that it is a versatile and resilient tool, which provides a lot of fine-tuning knobs, but at the same time forgives the mistakes you make on data architecture design steps and at the same time motivates to incrementally enhance your solutions. A lot of integration capabilities, including Kafka, Spark and Hadoop, powerful security features.

It is also a software solution that makes it easy to scale up much easier than in appliance solutions.
What do you dislike about the product?
Several features are not (yet) presented in Vertica, which might be useful:
1. Procedures - not to process data or perform analytics, but to enhance SQL with DSL or common data access routines. It is particularly useful for DWH, when highly normalized layers require to have dynamically generated SQL to access.
2. Conditional execution. It will be handy for schemata management. With conditional execution, it is possible to define schema with idempotent change management.
3. Federative data access - sometimes it is much easier to just ask something in other databasess in real time, than to integrate it. Particularly useful for analytics.

Hope it will ve delivered some day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vertica is our primary tool for big data analytics (for structured data). Here's what we do:
- Ingest data from Kafka directly, and from other sources using Apache Nifi and Apache Airflow
- Create data pipelines for building cleaned and trustworthy datasets on user marts level
- Bulding detailed layer using modified anchor modeling approach
- Manage access to data via global role-model and unified data access policies
- Perform retention operations for old data partitions by moving it (again directly) to Hadoop
- Business analytics via Tableau
- ML models training and scoring, ad-hoc analytics and sandboxes
- CI/CD for schemata changes and versioning (using Gitlab)

All in all it is a tool that has a lot of applications in data management field.
And in most if the application cases it is not just "has capability", but does it on state-of-the-art level.


    Gregory W.

Long-term leader for big data analytics

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I most like the breadth of functionality that Vertica offers. For example, analytic lags and deltas and event pattern matching.
What do you dislike about the product?
Whilst the documentation is generally good, I do manage to find and report back mistakes. It can sometimes take a while for these corrections to be incorporated into another documentation release.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Log analysis and aggregation, complex KPI generation, and sessionisation of data. Using Vertica we have managed to combine data from a large number of sources and query it in one place.


    Joe G.

Long time, happy Vertica customer

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Columnar storage makes for fast data access. Lots of storage on fewer nodes. Use of projections is an intuitive way to manage tables and help optimize queries. Great customer service, very responsive! Most importantly, they LISTEN to their customers! They are very responsive to problem inquiries, work closely with me and my fellow DBAs to figure out problem causes and solutions, and when an opportunity arises for a fix or an enhancement to the product, our combined solutions end up in the product for other users to benefit from! I have never had that experience with any other company.
What do you dislike about the product?
It has taken a while for Vertica to come up to speed on getting their product to fully take advantage of all the benefits the cloud (AWS, Azure, Google, etc) has to offer. But with their latest versions they are finally there!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have a wide and varied use of Vertica across the company. ETL/ELT processes, more intense reporting queries, and API queries requiring high concurrency and lightning fast response times. Vertica is able to handle all of it! We are moving data over from another data warehouse product as well, and are seeing query time reductions immediately, and exponential cost savings over the other product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go through with a POC, it will open your eyes to the benefits Vertica will have on your system. And when working with competitors to do side by side comparisons, make them disclose what and how much hardware they are using to run the comparison queries against Vertica. It's not always apples to apples, and it is not always disclosed unless you ask!


    Dario A.

System Architecture Executive Manager

  • August 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
High performance, high availability, low cost of maintenance
What do you dislike about the product?
It would be nice to have a larger Vertica user community in Brasil
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it as the main big-data repository for the results of the electricity market accounting process in Brasil. The performance provided by the platform allowed us to make data queries in hourly granularity available to our user base over the Internet.


    Internet

easy analytics for everyone

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
administrating vertica, extending vertica, ongoing development
What do you dislike about the product?
poor performance on wide tables, missing predicate pushdown for custom source udf, missing ssl support for python udf, slow replication performance on load_snaphot with 10K+ tables in catalog, poor hash join performance comparing with greenplum or clickhouse
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
product analytics, ab testing, operational analytics, preparing data for production services (moderation, antifraud, client reporting, ...)


    Computer Software

Vertica Used By Netcore

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Speed and Response time, Easy to scale. Able to handle millions of records response in fictions of time.
What do you dislike about the product?
Licensing Module, It Should be Pay As Use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Segmentation for the large number of records can be done in seconds. IT Support AWS S3, which saves lots of cost.


    Computer Software

Data engineer using vertica for database

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It Column-based analytical functions, this gives us the flexibility to work with massive data, and it makes our query fast and easy. Another point is its k-safety. It saves our data from any node failure
What do you dislike about the product?
If we can say wrong about Vertica, then it's not good. Still, the area where Vertica can update itself is the connector for its clients
because when we use Vertica with a new version for spark like 3.0, then it has not better connectivity with Hadoop and spark. We have faced so many issues while connecting our spark application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have created a Business intelligence tool for clients where we have to save massive data and process/query it very fast for a response. I think in this Vertica help's us a lot