Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nginx pre-configured by Miri Infotech Inc. on Ubuntu

Miri Infotech | 2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu V16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

92 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gerald L.

Easy to setup

  • August 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is very easy to setup web servers on different ports. The configuration documentation is easy to understand and there are plenty of discussion boards to find help on how to make a configuration change.
What do you dislike?
The version of Nginx supplied with Ubuntu 14.04 did not come with many modules. This is remedied by using the Nginx repository to install Nginx.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had to change the IP address of a server to a hostname. We were able to create a temporary web server to listen to the old port and redirect users to the new address.


    Aung Thu Rha H.

Apache alternative to gain better performance and to handle high web traffic

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is a web server of choice in terms of performance and handling heavy load and web traffic. If we are talking about an open-source web server, Apache is the most well-known HTTP server among developers but Nginx is the one that addresses the performance and scalability problem of Apache. Nginx's asynchronous and event-driven structure is more efficient than Apache. To sum up, Go Nginx for applications that require high concurrency, high performance and multi-threading. For small and medium scaled web applications, Apache can handle just fine and also its built-in supports of some programming languages is also pretty nice.
What do you dislike?
I think it is better to compare the drawbacks of Nginx over Apache. Apache is a lot older than Nginx, which means that Apache community is bigger and more available modules and extensions than Nginx. Also, it doesn't work quite well with Windows OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a few web applications that getting slow down after high web traffic load and after replacing Apache with Nginx, it can be seen that it uses moderate computational resources and handles web traffic better than Apache.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are Linux users and get a support for configuration of your web applications, Nginx is a perfect solution.
Go check Nginx "Getting started" page and try out yourself. The configuration provided from the Ngix community makes my life a lot easier at early point.
URL : https://www.nginx.com/resources/wiki/start/


    Filipe O.

Blazing fast and easy to configure

  • January 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The configuration files are very simple to setup: from running simple PHP and SSL to proxying and load balancing. A Nginx newbie can perform advanced web server tasks with little difficulty. The community is strong, and Nginx is proofed to be much faster than competitors.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't work very well in Windows systems when running as a service daemon. Aside of that, everything is just right.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I host dozens of websites and Nginx has helped me understand my web server configuration files easier. It takes a different approach: you only need to configure the basic stuff, and customise the advanced stuff only if you want. It's a great advantage to Apache in which you must configure the basic and advanced stuff, even you don't know what you're playing around. This way the learning curve of Nginx is much more kind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'll make the right choice if you pick up Nginx. It won't be hard picking it up and it will pay very quickly.


    Alexey A.

Fast and Configurable

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configurable and extremely fast, SSL, websockets, reverse proxy and much more.
What do you dislike?
Some aspects of configuration not documented well, also there is sometimes many ways to do same things in config
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use nginx as http server with php and php-fpm


    Danny G.

Fast, reliable, configurable, awesome

  • December 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple scriptable configurations for a blazing fast web server. Nginx excels at proxying and provides an excellent solution for application-delivery controllers, SSL termination, WebSocket negotiation, caching, static content delivery and more. Nginx also has some very cool related projects, like OpenRESTy that provide additional layers of support for REST services including bringing JWT handling to Nginx - allowing you to work with JWT auth for even static resources without hitting backend applications or services. Nginx provides robust load-balancing strategies for handling standard/clustered application delivery. Nginx plugins extend the value even further.
What do you dislike?
The documentation isn't as pretty as other projects which can be a little challenging at times. They could certainly do with more robust examples. Furthermore, the nature of extensibility via scripting is leading to some really bad practices - introducing business logic to the proxy/application-delivery-controller. I see a large body of work that represents poor separation of concerns. Just because it can be done - and it performs well - doesn't make it a good decision for your architecture.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We've been able to reduce costs by reducing the number of edge node servers and their resources while increasing capacity. We have greatly increased our caching efficiency and been able to introduce consistent messaging for application errors across a breadth of underlying applications and services - provided by a multitude of technology stacks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to get a solid understanding of your SSL needs and how to implement them with Nginx. SSL termination mixed with application delivery via Nginx proxies is an incredibly powerful tool.


    Eric M.

Efficient, event-driven reverse proxy and web server

  • December 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The non-blocking, event-driven nature of Nginx means you can support multiple, concurrent connections and properly route traffic to backing services like PHP or Node or even Varnish efficiently. The build-in microcache alleviates much of the need for external caching applications, too!
What do you dislike?
Changes to configuration settings require reloading all of the application's configuration files in order to take effect (in comparison with other systems that merely reload and parse configuration files as needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a dynamic front-end server that could fill the need of either a webserver or a proxy or a load-balancer. Existing tools (like Apache) worked as a server, but not as a proxy or load-balancer. Using a single tool (Nginx) has helped lessen setup time and make ongoing management much more efficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Remember that configuration changes require a restart/reload in order to take effect. This includes some URL routing, HTTP authentication, new service inclusion, etc.


    Eduardo S.

The best option if you want to run fast, scalable websites

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup and speed, it is lean and does what it needs to do very well, leaving you to decide how to run each piece of your stack behind it.
What do you dislike?
Not many disadvantages, lack of something like .htaccess might be one of them, but it is a tradeoff to have better speed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are serving a few web services behind nginx, it makes it super easy to configure our microservices architecture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for an async http server, you serve a lot of static files or you want to squeeze out every ounce of power from small servers, nginx is your guy.


    Alessandro L.

Rock solid, fast HTTP Server

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is a stable, fast HTTP web server/reverse proxy with many features.
It's one of those software components you can really trust.
Never had a single problem in years.
What do you dislike?
You should take care to the configuration files syntax
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's perfect as reverse proxy for Ruby on Rails applications and static sites hosting.


    Blagovest P.

I use Niginx in most of the servers in my infrastructure

  • December 08, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The performance and the flexibility are the best advantages of Nginx
What do you dislike?
Default security. People are still uneducated to maintain it by default. It's not like Apache
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The strangest thing we did was an rtsp proxy for restreaming video.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the PageSpeed plugin from Google :)


    Kurt W.

nginx - the high performance, low overhead, easy to configure alternative

  • December 01, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Simple to configure
* Low overhead
* Open source
What do you dislike?
I can't really think of anything I dislike...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to serve web pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a light, high performance webserver that is a lot easier to configure than Apache (IMHO), this is it!