Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nginx(Openrestry) Stack With WAF

Aurora | 2.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

91 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jorge M.

Balances web server load.

  • August 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source and free.

Multiplatform, Linux, Windows and Mac OS.

Web server and proxy for email protocols.

Execution of processes necessary for its function saving computer resources.

Faster than Apache Server when running.

Proxy response with static content.

Load balancing between several web servers.

WordPress compatibility.
What do you dislike?
Incompatibility with HTML5 Websockets.

Difficult configuration with PHP-FPM.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installation as a proxy server, email control, static reverse proxy, load balancing in web services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you do not have much experience in web servers this is an excellent option, easier to configure than Apache Server and offers many tools, just run the necessary, you can use in any Windows, Linux, Mac OS operating system.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Very powerful web server

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been really satisfied with how simple nginx is to install and administer, even only with a cli. It may be simple, but it is that simplicity that makes it so powerful and that makes it able to do everything on the web
What do you dislike?
at first, I tried to use it like apache. that was the hardest. so many people try to use it like apache. it would be good if nginx had some sort of built-in assistant to make sure it is used properly and up to standards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it is mostly my go-to now when I have to do something web-related on a server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it's like English. but stop thinking that it's like apache. it's not. we're not using xml, and we can do so much more than websites with nginx.


    Fund-Raising

WebApp load balancing in a breeze.

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to load balance mostly any web application in with very little effort. Adding new nodes with also very little effort, to protect from DDoS attacks.
What do you dislike?
Configuration could be simpler on initial setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Load balancing web applications that would crash on their own.


    Adrian P.

Servidor web rapido y ligero.

  • August 16, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx es muy estable y utiliza menos memoria que otros servidores web. La mayoría de las redes de entrega de contenido y sitios web de gran volumen utilizan nginx debido a su velocidad. Puede configurarlo fácilmente como un proxy inverso, que lo hace funcionar como un servidor web que actúa como puente y se conecta a otro servidor web.
What do you dislike?
La configuración puede ser una barrera para necesidades más avanzadas. Pero eso es cierto para cualquier software basado en web. La comunidad es muy buena para dar ejemplos de estos escenarios. No es tan sencillo como instalar un módulo en Apache, pero eso es también lo que lo hace más potente es el desacoplamiento.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tenemos varios blogs con Wordpress y un cdn de imágenes y podemos decir que estamos utilizado menos recursos del servidor que con apache, lo que nos ahorra dinero en costes de selección de un servidor, al no tener que escoger un servidor "bestial"
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No tenga miedo en reemplazar su servidor apache por Nginx, este es mucho mas poderoso , es mas ligero y consume muchos menos recursos, por lo que esto se traduce en un ahorro de dinero en la elección del servidor.


    Telecommunications

Very robust application server with easy configuration

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tons of good options for common things like reverse proxying, ssl termination, load balancing, rate limiting, etc.
What do you dislike?
Not much. It's very robuts, documentation is OK and it's quite easy to find information about how to do specific things with it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SSL termination, reverse proxying, load balancing, serving static content.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just make sure you really need it first. If you do, then go for it. It's a really good piece of tool.


    Awadhesh S.

Quick start to your application

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has all the minimum requirement which are needed to getting started with your application. Flexible and ease of using while using as UI server with multiple backend endpoint management. Installation is super easy. The Docker version is also very useful and helpful to start and ship the solution in minimum time. Good community support. Flexible configuration.
What do you dislike?
As far as I have used, there is no advance cacheing mechanism which can be tuned or customised according to the need. Also, it would be good if there are some third party plugin and integration for cashing images and other resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are a couple of them, initially we were not using any service for managing our DNS so we used Nginx for handling all these components, however as we wanted some other advance features from scalable perspective we moved on. Now all our UI(angular) code is residing in Nginx and multiple API server each UI is handled like a breeze :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has all the basic features to be used for UI server and sometime for managing your DNS (sub-domain) related things.


    Mohammad R.

Nginx as a caching server

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I find Nginx's configuration very simple and understandable.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I dislike about it, unless maybe that there's less documentation and help on it than there is on something like Apache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our research team, we use Nginx as a lightweight caching server inside Docker containers. The configuration was very easy to setup and the throughput has been seemingly good for our needs. In our case, we cache thousands of small images through Nginx in one of research projects.


    John C.

Powerful and fast, with a bit of a learning curve

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx is fast, much faster than Apache in my experiences. Nginx has a strong community, and lots of help is available.
What do you dislike?
It can be difficult to configure. Configuration files can be a bit more difficult to understand and administer than Apache files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a web server to shuttle requests to various application environments. PHP, Ruby, Python, even reverse proxy, all worked.


    Information Technology and Services

Great web app server

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure, especially for our reverse proxy and load balancer needs. It worked seamlessly with our microservice architecture and had very simple setup.
What do you dislike?
None really. It worked well and it's fantastic that it's open source.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
serving our web app and handling our microservice architecture
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A lot of documentation can be found online. Web community heavily relies on nginx :)


    E-Learning

Fast, lightweight, easy to use

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nginx helps save ressources by performing much better than other popular webservers. It is fairly easy to configure and set up and very flexible.
What do you dislike?
It is not easy to implement other modules without compiling
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Webserver with a reduced need for hardware to deliver good performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a look and try. You will most likeley like it.