Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Dell EMC Avamar Virtual Edition

Dell Technologies | 19.7

Linux/Unix, SUSE SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 SP5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

19 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospitality

Backups made simple

  • November 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable & safe, securely backs up our files without worry of "did they backup okay?"
What do you dislike?
Restoring files occasionally experience hiccups with file path.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up system files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great backup solution


    Financial Services

For backup of Oracle database dump files

  • February 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The delete ratio is higher than other backup devices.
The management is easy but the underlying algorithm is not open source.
The restore speed is fast.
What do you dislike?
You can not expand the storage of avamar. If the storage reach the capacity, the only way is to buy another avamar or clean some less important backup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For Oracle database dump files backup and restore.
Easy management of Oracle database backups, you can design several policies for different backups to apply.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If the amount of data is not quite huge and most of the data is almost the same, you can try to use avamar which is easy to set up and manage.


    Jamie M.

Great product, not so great support.

  • January 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Client side or server side dedupe. Great WAN optimization.
What do you dislike?
EMC support is not very helpful until level II, often time level III.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Great WAN optimization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Avamar's version of NDMP go far beyond the standard NDMP specifications therefor is not supported by other Storage Vandors like NetApp (who helped write the spec), if you go this route, by the highest level of support offered.


    Genevieve S.

Avamar

  • December 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Scalability, ease of use. Runs on ded up location which is extremely efficient. Integrated with Data Domain backups are incredibly fast.
What do you dislike?
Not much I dislike but database compressed files and Avamar deduplication will create chaos in your environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Disk backup eliminates the need for tape, restores are relatively simple. Protecting all the data is a plus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
N/A


    Steven P.

Product gets the job done

  • October 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gets the job done once it is setup properly
What do you dislike?
Product interface is severely lacking and makes backup more complicated than it has to be
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up and restoring data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to have a full time resource dedicated to the product


    Sports

Versatile backup program but requires a lot of detailed config

  • October 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
VMWare backup with GLR and change block tracking enabled is pretty good. CIFS backup is very quick using NDMP Accelerator node for large amounts of data. Deduplication works especially well when paired with data domain as the backup target for storage. Replication is fairly simple and probably the most reliable part of the software.
What do you dislike?
This is not an easy out of the box solution. Requires many different configuration pieces and plugins to make the various backup types work properly. If using to back up SQL cluster there are various bugs and need for work arounds. Exchange and Sharepoint backups require additional licensing and add on software in order to do GLR. Built in reporting tools are insufficient. Requires the addition of Data Protection Advisor suite to track and report on backup trends. While it is a very versatile solution it is also an expensive one.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to backup Windows File System, VMWare Virtual Machines with GLR, Exchange with GLR, Sharepoint with GLR, CIFS and NFS vols and SQL Databases all in one single platform. We have complete compliance with our retention policy and replication to an offsite facility.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you have an accurate picture of your total data when planning implementation. Expanding the nodes and adding capacity is costly.


    Sports

Avamar Review

  • October 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That it will back up when you babysit the product. It took a while to get everything set up with the correct features we needed in our environment.
What do you dislike?
It was difficult in the initial set up. We were told one thing and when we finally set everything up it was not was what needed. We needed to add additional storage and reconfigure everything a couple of times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to backup our data and easily restore it.


    Brian H.

Complex, Good, Interesting Use Case

  • June 27, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So, I like it, and it works well enough to justify using it. I used the lite version on a VNXe3300 with a few hosts, and the backup and recovery rates seemed decent enough, retention periods weren't a maze to navigate and the interface was understandable.
What do you dislike?
Few options outside of the "EMC Approved" Methods to get the data to multiple locations to make the backups secure by holding in multiple ways. It seemed like using it more was leading us down a path of spending more and more money with EMC. The deduplication rates weren't anything to get excited about despite our environment being very homologous.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were looking for and tried maintaining it in an environment that needed fairly basic backup and recovery needs, it works for that, but ultimately it wasn't for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a clear deployment plan in place, make sure you ask all questions about current and projected needs.


    Renato C.

Hard to get up&running, but works great

  • April 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Avamar is great at doing backups, the fact that is can backup also VM's and even backup data inside the VM's is great. I worked extensivey to integrate Avamar with a custom Web Application and the use of the AvamarCLI was just pure magic.
They worked perfectly and allowed us to manage backup in a simple, straight forward manner.

The Avamar Admin console works also very well.
What do you dislike?
It is very hard to get up&running for the integrator, understanding the proxies and it's requisites is quite hard. And the Avamar Administrator console is just terrible looking, java has come a long way, EMC should upgrade the looks.
We had to buy the accelerator to correctly integrate it though, and this cost us.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backing up the whole VDI infrastrcuture and allows users to restore both the VM image as well as single files and directories.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The desing has to be carefully validated to avoid having costly surprises in implementation phase.