Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20210325

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

876 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Akshat J.

The best linux distro: Ubuntu

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User interface, vast community support, free to use, security
What do you dislike?
Lack of third party software and hardware support, low learning curve
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Interacting with clients, sending and receiving mails, collecting market data, market analysis
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One must definitely go for ubuntu if one wants to do heavy work and release full potential of machine.


    Computer Software

Lightweight linux

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install not so complicated like other version of Linux,
Is it one stand the insulation process almost similar to Windows not that great difficult.
As it is Linux definitely it is virus free , awesome and easy to use ,no small lag like windows
What do you dislike?
Not so many dislike the only thing is if you compare it with Windows it is little difficult. Little difficult especially to install the application otherwise it is okay
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem that I'm solving using Linux is simply that as it is virus free, so because of of virus attack your work is not going to stop and you can continue working as you want


    rajnish v.

One of the best opn source and Linux based opertaing system

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Protection against the threat and the best way to use the terminals is what its attracts the most
What do you dislike?
They need to work on software center as we people sometimes struggle to download the propietary softwares. The way window offers and provide competition they need to have a look on it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are developing softwares on Ubuntu platform. Application which run on Java, JavaScript etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Need to learn the debian commands before starting. It's the way how we do in window


    Computer Software

Feel like using mac on windows

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performace and efficiency are the best thing.
What do you dislike?
The terminal and command approach is sometime force to not to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My daily works coding everything is being done on ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To feel mac on windows use ubuntu for sure.


    Shubham K.

Ubuntu is the best OS than others

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is so simple and open source which is best. It is secure also.
What do you dislike?
The graphical view is not good as windows. No more software is available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All programming, my all work, learning.
I am using ubuntu since 4 to 5 years.


    Vishwesh V.

Ubuntu Professional User

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing it is open source and available for modification and design like our own destros. Fully customizable with control over the settings as we want.
What do you dislike?
The UI is little generic and still needs to be modified.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working as server administrators then linux is the one stop place. The command line is the best thing and I feel it has offered me greater control.


    Information Technology and Services

Absolutely the best open source platform that comes with only a couple of drawbacks

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source, Easy to use, Quick, Reliable
What do you dislike?
Media volume, appstore, heating, battery
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The first and foremost thing that I like the most about Ubuntu is that it's open source, free and has very less vulnerabilities. It's very much immune to virus and has good reliability. However, I dislike Ubuntu in few cases. For example, it's really hard to use the Ubuntu Software which is like the app store for Ubuntu. I hate to say that the media sound is just bad and there is no way to fix it. It's either too loud or too quiet but there is no middle ground in Ubuntu. Although the speakers are really good, it really struggles to give proper output without giving out too much treble and undesired noise.
One more thing I dislike about Ubuntu is that the launch of terminal is terribly slow first time after turning on the computer. After you launch it the first time, it's quick until you restart.
Ubuntu could really develop a lot in terms of battery performance. My laptop gives 4 hrs+ on windows. The same machine gives about 2 hrs on Ubuntu (I use a dual boot).
The last thing I would like ti touch upon is that Ubuntu overheats the laptop just a little bit at times. I don't know if it's just for me but my laptop runs comfortably at 45-50 Celsius on Windows. However, whenever I switch to Ubuntu, it reaches 60 degrees easily without much stress on the CPU.


    Nishank S.

Free Safe Fast

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and its OS works fast than Windows even on 1GB ram although I have 4 GB. It needs more coding and I have started leaning for my personal pc from YouTube.
What do you dislike?
I can't install apps by myself. Every time I have to call the IT person to install any app.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nothing to buy
Easy USE
Single Time installation at minium CPU requirements
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Indeep. I think every organization should have Ubuntu at their working place.


    Information Technology and Services

Best OS for Developers

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, user friendly. Everything can be done by terminal.
What do you dislike?
User interface can be improved a bit. Many apps are not supported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to code and run services.


Security is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must try this OS if you are a developer.


    Information Technology and Services

Best environment for development

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If one is into development then ubuntu is the best os. It comes with lots of inbuilt features and runs fast
What do you dislike?
Not all applications support ubuntu extension
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick access of things