Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20210415

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

876 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Awal R.

The future of open source Operating System - UBUNTU !

  • April 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I don't think anything could be better than being open source and ease of use for an Operating System. It easily beats all other OS out there and stands on top all alone. The number of updates you get is undoubtedly an advantage, and your choice to update to a newer version is simply amazing. The security it provides to me as a user is again an added advantage, and the ease of customization would appeal to any user too.
What do you dislike?
The more and more updates you keep getting on Ubuntu, it might feel like an advantage, but sometimes these updates aren't adequately tested, and you might end up getting some issues on your system, which doesn't do good to any of the users. This is why you might consider windows or other operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using Ubuntu for a long time. Not really solving any business problems, but personally, I have been able to avoid unnecessary issues that I might run into using other OS, and the need to update when wanted saves time and energy. Also, the pleasant UI is a treat to my eyes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering Ubuntu, make sure you update your system only when you feel that an update might have been tested by the community because no one would want to run into unsolvable issues and then regret later.
Other than that, it is a very flexible OS and can easily be your best OS.


    Neetesh S.

Learn continously with Ubuntu

  • March 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is baswd open source linux Os, Ubuntu is good for developers as all the open source package are available in it.
developer can learn more and more with ubuntu . All the latest tools first come on linux so we can use it to be get updated.

Best thing in wfh you can keep your linux in office and connect remotely to do work easily.

Best for jenkins docker setups.
What do you dislike?
For normal users which are not technically exposed its not good as its not much of user friendly. GUi is not that good here.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remotely building the complete android build and do all development easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can every tool here.. go for it


    Dimitrios T.

A perfect Linux Operating System

  • March 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install. Also is up to date operating system. It is suitable for education
What do you dislike?
Nothing. I think, is a perfect linux operating system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web server, proxy server, mail, database


    Bimantara W.

Linux that understands you

  • March 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Simple establishment
2. Free Operating System
3. Secure Operating System, antivirus is not required
4. Big community and supportive
5. Tons of free software available
What do you dislike?
1. Short release cycle
2. Changes in LTS cycle excessively agressive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My email server is running on ubuntu. It's been 7 years and still running. Never doubt patches and updates, because they will be provided, always.
My application Server is running on ubuntu as well. Database operational is without a hitch. It's been 4 years and still running.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your are looking for a Linux for novice user, this is the one. Tons of free software available, excellent community discussion.


    Rahul K.

Best Open Source OS

  • March 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The terminal and vi/vim editor. I have learned a lot using ubuntu in my carrier. Machine learning tech installation i.e conda, python, pip is very easy to install locally in ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that we can dislike in ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using this OS for open source development and for data analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should starting using ubuntu/fedora. If you want to keep going in IT industry. You will get to know a lot using this .


    Justinus A.

Ubuntu is the first to mention about Linux distro choice

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has been best at updating its packages and security updates, latest package versions where it helps many developers use recent libraries. Also its LTS version is a way to have stable updates and support for production servers. Upgrading LTS version to newest LTS is also a smooth process available by Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Frequent updates sometimes require restart where it may trouble monolith systems as production is always ongoing. Uptime records may not be high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The availability of packages is the most benefit I get from Ubuntu, besides their latest versions of the packages. Many third party apps require latest versions of dependencies.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Realtime Usage of Ubuntu Flavour

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Ubuntu 18.04 version has very good security capabilities along with good features and up to date required packages for building required roles and customizing configurations and we can easily configure Ansible, Terraform, MongoDB, KairosDB, Cassandra DB etc with this flavour. I really like this version long term support version of Ubuntu 18.04
What do you dislike?
compatability with other flavours of linux like RHEL, CENTOS versions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we can quickly establish an ssh session on running ubuntu operating system where we can configured almost all linux related softwares with this flavour
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very good operating system


    Sagar W.

Best open source OS for System Programming

  • February 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's Open Source and Secure
Can be Customise as per your need
Best support available
Many discussion forums available
Easily portable to different HW platform
Footprint of OS is customisable as per your required functionality
What do you dislike?
Graphics Quality is not so good as windows
Frequent updates are rolled out
It's not best for Documentation like Microsoft Office in Windows
Accidental kernel file removal can lead to crash os
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy for software development
Easy for porting on different HW to use for specific functionality
Best for network programming.
Using as scheduler to start and stop script , functionality using crontab
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended to software enthusiastic for software development
Less prune to virus attack


    Rohit K.

Best for developer

  • January 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Command line is the best as we have command on all basic
What do you dislike?
Every thing is best,but commands or error shown in startup
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developer and ,use ubuntu for developing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For Developer only


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu with secure and fast.

  • January 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-It's speed and accessibility of so many.
-open source applications.
- file structure
- terminal
- easy update
What do you dislike?
- dont find some windows alternate softwares.
- for beginner user interface looks unfamiliar.
- some software hard to install.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- license is not required.
- great community support.
- LTS support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend to use Ubuntu for normal users as well as developers.
It has so many open source applications.
It is fast and better memory management.
It is secure. Virus free