Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20210224

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

871 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vishwesh V.

Ubuntu Professional User

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing it is open source and available for modification and design like our own destros. Fully customizable with control over the settings as we want.
What do you dislike?
The UI is little generic and still needs to be modified.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working as server administrators then linux is the one stop place. The command line is the best thing and I feel it has offered me greater control.


    Information Technology and Services

Absolutely the best open source platform that comes with only a couple of drawbacks

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source, Easy to use, Quick, Reliable
What do you dislike?
Media volume, appstore, heating, battery
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The first and foremost thing that I like the most about Ubuntu is that it's open source, free and has very less vulnerabilities. It's very much immune to virus and has good reliability. However, I dislike Ubuntu in few cases. For example, it's really hard to use the Ubuntu Software which is like the app store for Ubuntu. I hate to say that the media sound is just bad and there is no way to fix it. It's either too loud or too quiet but there is no middle ground in Ubuntu. Although the speakers are really good, it really struggles to give proper output without giving out too much treble and undesired noise.
One more thing I dislike about Ubuntu is that the launch of terminal is terribly slow first time after turning on the computer. After you launch it the first time, it's quick until you restart.
Ubuntu could really develop a lot in terms of battery performance. My laptop gives 4 hrs+ on windows. The same machine gives about 2 hrs on Ubuntu (I use a dual boot).
The last thing I would like ti touch upon is that Ubuntu overheats the laptop just a little bit at times. I don't know if it's just for me but my laptop runs comfortably at 45-50 Celsius on Windows. However, whenever I switch to Ubuntu, it reaches 60 degrees easily without much stress on the CPU.


    Nishank S.

Free Safe Fast

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and its OS works fast than Windows even on 1GB ram although I have 4 GB. It needs more coding and I have started leaning for my personal pc from YouTube.
What do you dislike?
I can't install apps by myself. Every time I have to call the IT person to install any app.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nothing to buy
Easy USE
Single Time installation at minium CPU requirements
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Indeep. I think every organization should have Ubuntu at their working place.


    Information Technology and Services

Best OS for Developers

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, user friendly. Everything can be done by terminal.
What do you dislike?
User interface can be improved a bit. Many apps are not supported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to code and run services.


Security is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must try this OS if you are a developer.


    Information Technology and Services

Best environment for development

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If one is into development then ubuntu is the best os. It comes with lots of inbuilt features and runs fast
What do you dislike?
Not all applications support ubuntu extension
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick access of things


    Shailendra Singh R.

Most user friendly Linux distribution

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very improved Linux distribution with modern and clean UI, accessibility features etc
What do you dislike?
The application store lacks alot of famous softwares, even those which are available for Linux. Also, there's a learning curve if switching from other OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great for deploying server side applications and for penetration testing, etc with common modern features.


    Akhil .

Best Linux Distribution

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu's GUI which resembles the Windows operating system is fabulous. If someone is new to Linux, the first distribution to try and use is Ubuntu. The GUI, the preinstalled applications, ease of use, and the support for a wide variety of devices is truly awesome. Most of the software can be installed directly through the terminal, using the apt package installer. With a single command, a user can install the software. For developers, this distribution is heaven. Developers interested in learning about the operating system should try this distribution. Any modification can be made to not just the applications but also the operating system itself. Everyone is free to redistribute the Ubuntu operating system with any number of modifications. Support for machine learning, data engineering, and artificial engineering is great. Since this is a Linux distribution and not many people are there who are using Linux based operating systems, the number of malware and viruses is also less. In very rare cases there are cyber-attacks happening on Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Two things that I don't like about Ubuntu. The first thing is the ubuntu package manager. Only one software can be installed at once. Whereas in Windows operating systems, a user is free to install any number of software concurrently. Second, if someone is looking forward to playing games on Ubuntu, I would like to tell you that this is a Linux distribution, not so many good games are made that run on Linux operating system. Apart from games, a lot of software that requires high GPU are not made for Linux and hence not accessible on this operating system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the Windows operating system, a developer is not able to feel the liberty and power of working in an open-source space. The free to download and edit open-source software on this operating system is truly exceptional. The learning experience of the command-line interface is truly amazing. Personally, I use this mainly for machine learning and data engineering. The support of TensorFlow and python in this operating system is amazing. Never regretted using this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
First and foremost, a person should have knowledge about the terminal and working experience with the command-line interface. If someone is looking to switch from Windows to Linux, then this is the best Linux distribution for you. Open-source support is great but at the same time, there may be bugs in the software in the open-source space. Machine learning enthusiasts and data engineers should use this Linux distribution.


    Ashutosh K.

Ubuntu a operating system which should you use

  • January 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu provides one of best ui which have less distraction, it is best for programmers
What do you dislike?
It has somewhat difficulty in operating for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use to develop software using Ubuntu os. It is lesser distractions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must consider if you are developer


    Education Management

ubuntu for high security.

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
i am using ubuntu for high security. It is not accepting third party applications.
What do you dislike?
Unable to use the third party applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No one can hack ubuntu. Anti- hacking is the most benefit thing.


    idoko f.

OS for Software Engineers Ubuntu

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact you can't just install any application and also base on the fact that it is more compatible with almost all IDE you can think of and the security is nice and to crown it all it is open source
What do you dislike?
some times it does hang which is really a pain in the ass
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically, use in building machine learning models and writing java and python algorithm
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend ubuntu highly most especially if you are a DevOps or machine learning Engineer