Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 18.04 20210224

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

871 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Emile S.

Ubuntu is my favorite distro of linux

  • December 23, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu does not require that much custom setup or maintenance.
What do you dislike?
If you work in a GUI and have no use for the command line, OSX or Windows may be a better solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our web servers are provisioned with Ubuntu


    Christian V.

Great free Operating System!

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an OS, witch is very easy to setup, update and maintain. Very great is the software library system. Everything could be updated from one place! The PPA service is very great service for integrating further software.
What do you dislike?
Some software is not available as PPA or through a comfy source and setup could be less comfortable. Updating to newer LTS should be done about 2 Month after release of next LTS version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintaining computers from remote over years with LTS versions. I do create .debs for all custimization, so they could be rolled out very comfy!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
great distribution, but with some specialities: Own Desktop Envirionment, perhaps using Lubuntu desktop is more appropintait for some users.


    Phil w.

Ubuntu : GNU/Linux for human beings

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Community, Despite first, I thought it was a threat to debian project, Ubuntu development I was wrong, their model is pretty good, rebasing each 6 month on each unstable branch of Debian is an excellent idea for both distributions. PPA service is amazingly nice from Cannonical too.
What do you dislike?
I am not a fan of unity on desktop, It could make sense on the mobile, but I rather use KDE or XFCE or LXDE which can be also installed on other distros, other than that or privacy infringement (amazon in shell) I am fine with other tech, it has the GNU/Unix behaviour that's all I need.

I am bored to use Esc key in emacs instead of Meta (Alt) Key , so I might leave unity soon or later , I am trying it each couple of years but I never stick to it.

Not to mention, I trust Debian more than Ubuntu , so I don't use Ubuntu on my main laptop, but it's quiet similar.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to deploy xubuntu (XFCE) in the past for a team of developers, I don't remember any complained. It was easy to sync distro using rsync and blacklisting a couple of files it worked... my parents are on lubuntu for maybe more than 15 years now I do upgrade by hand and keep move the same installation over different computers it's quite the same.
I was not involved into this but some Tizen community member used lubuntu as a base to deliver SDK on liveDVD which is a nice for curious ones who just want to try.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to install etckeeper to keep /etc sane after tweeking


    Md Safiyat R.

Awesome, but with some quirks.

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The out of the box support for a large variety of hardware, and the overwhelming community support.

I am also a fan of its development support and amazing philosophy.
What do you dislike?
I dislike Unity the most.
I find it slow, buggy, and pretty much unusable.

I think it slows productivity and requires a lot of interaction with the mouse, which is irritating.
So, I use Kubuntu now. Saves me the nightmare!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use ubuntu servers LTS edition in our datacenter, as OpenStack tends to work better with it, as compared to CentOS, for our use case.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Whether for commercial use in production or for personal use, I'd recommend this great distribution.

Please try it, at least once. It's ease of use and extensive support and documentation go a long way in making your life easy.

It is not for nothing that this is the most used Linux distro in the world!


    Administrator in Internet

DevOps Engineer at Refinery29

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is widely available. Practically anywhere you can run a server, you can run Ubuntu on it.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. Compared to other versions of Linux, Ubuntu's ease of use, and its Debian heritage make it a wonderful choice. Linux overall is second to none primarily because of its ubiquity and flexibility, but also because it embodies the nearly 50 years of knowledge of how a good OS can be built.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run Ubuntu on all of our servers including development machines, QA machines, build, database, web, monitoring, continuous integration, bot, file, and analytics servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If its not already at the top of your list, try it and see if you run into a problem that you can't trivially find an answer for, either in the man pages for whatever applications are involved, or by googling it. I would bet money that you can't.


    Computer Software

Good for the frequent linux dabbler

  • December 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The install process is completely painless nowadays - no more configuration hassles like the old days of debian installs that required an hour of work to get the bootloader set up properly, and another to get hardware support working. It's as easy to set up as Windows on most hardware.
What do you dislike?
Not a fan of the new Mac OS-ish window manager, but as a frequent user of the server edition containerized in VMware virtual machines this isn't really a problem. And besides, the beauty of linux is how powerful the command line interface is, which is just as good as ever.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used for zero-cost virtual servers spun up as needed for development projects. Ubuntu's current no-fuss compatibility with VMware "hardware" means setting up a new development server VM on my system takes less than 20 minutes, and detailed configuration is easy through the CLI. Major time and cost savings.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely my top recommendation to anyone looking for a quick-and-easy way to get a linux install up and running. The new windows installer makes dual-booting easy too, if that is required.


    Blake C.

A great user friendly Linux OS

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is top of the line when it comes to a user friendly full Linux OS.
What do you dislike?
I wish the desktop layout was a little more customizable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is great considering it's free.


    Iulian-Constantin M.

A very user friendly OS

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the best choice if you are looking to try Linux as a Windows user. It offers a very nice user interface, making the transition smooth. The software center is filled with many choices of free software, but is also containing paid software. It has a very big community behind, so if you encounter any problems, you caneasily receive support from many people.
What do you dislike?
Some drivers are really hard to find and set up (for example the printer driver). The default Desktop Environment (Unity) is sometimes very slow and buggy, so i recommend you using something else than Unity (Gnome, KDE, etc.)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used this distribution as my first Linux distribution and introduced me in the Linux world. It gave me a nice experience while i was using it at home.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is the perfect Operating System if you are getting started with Linux. You can find help everywhere, the interface is very user friendly.


    Juan Fernando V.

The best OS for every need

  • December 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- You can install almost anything for linux in a couple of minutes
- A great support an a large community with knowledge and the will for helping in any support issues
- Updating it's very easy just using the built in terminal.
- Install applications using the terminal in many langs Python, Ruby, PHP, Perl, Erlang, C, C++, Bash, Lua, Asterisk, Node.JS, or Apps like Mongo, MySQL, MariaDB, Postgres, Apache, Haddop, Nmap, etc
- Many Flavors for every need like Ubuntu Server, Desktop, Lubunt, Edubuntu, Ubuntu Studio, And others..
- Web Apps, servers apps run smooth, just update. done
- Easy for update and upgrade.
- A very large compatibility with Enterprise Grade hardware
- Excellent for a LDAP.FTP. WEB, LMS, PRINT, STORAGE, FIREWALL, VPN Server.
What do you dislike?
If you don't know aobut linux troubleshooting... just pray... or search in the forums.
AMD NVIDIA Support SUCKS!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The stability and compatibility of my web apps, I have 30 web sites and 10 Applications and all of then it's uptime 99.9% Thanks God for Ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Your best option ever. No doubt this is a rock solid operation system with many capabilities and options for your high demand needs.


    Kyle Q.

One of the most User Friendly Linux Distros!

  • September 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to use, and not as daunting as some Linux Distros.
- Able to go to work right 'out of the box'.
- Able to use the 'Software Center' to get Word Processing Software, Alternative Browsers, and etc.
- Easy to update using the built in terminal.
- Easy to install applications using the terminal.
- GUI is a joy to use, and if you want you can customize every aspect of your experience.
- Steam runs perfectly if you are a gamer.
- Most Windows applications can be run using a application called W.I.N.E, (Wine Is Not an Emulator).
- Community is very helpful if there are any support issues, and so is Canonical.
What do you dislike?
- A bit difficult to use if you switch from a Windows Operating system, (Win 7 and 8) to Ubuntu, but that is the same with any Linux Distro.
- Sometimes programs on Software Center are outdated and need to be updated through the terminal after installation.
- AMD driver support leaves much to be desired, I have a R9 260X and have some issues with a couple graphical issues, but Nvidia support is spot on. Was able to use my older GT card with no issues. Their is talk to increase the support in the future. Regular applications work well on both AMD/Nvidia, but as far as gaming or design software it can have a couple issues. Not a game breaker but does need to be advised of.
- Some windows applications may or may not run due to it being a different Operating System.
- Sometimes some weird bugs do pop up every now and then, nothing a quick google search can't resolve however.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A lot of what we do when it comes to Software Creation we always try to test on other Operating Systems to be sure, and I test more on the Unix-Linux side where my business partner focuses on Mac OSX and Windows, I have figured out that Ubuntu is a good starting point to test what needs to be improved if on some systems things don't operate as they should. So for what I use, Ubuntu is the starting point for our applications to be converted over to the other Distros, such as Red Hat and XFCE.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Have some experience with a Linux Distro, or just a quick rundown just in case.
- If you ever need anything, the Ubuntu Community is one of the more friendly Linux Distro Communities.