Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Neo4j Enterprise Causal Cluster

Neo4j | 4.1.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu ubuntu-bionic-18.04-amd64-server - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

39 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Philip G.

Its the future.

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Connecting easily nodes !I love neo4j about that.
RDBMS do not support relationships !
Its very intuitive and simple to connect nodes.
What do you dislike?
Its not a good idea to keep log or table data in neo4j since most of the platforms charge per node. Geospatial indexing to be integrated. More node javascript drivers currently using Seraph.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Geospatial app that alerts you on for different kind of signals around you. ( using SpatialPlugin)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are starting a project consider using neo4j soon it will be a standard. SQL databases will go in the past. As hard to maintain, migrate in a dynamic world more and more people will realise the power of graph databases.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

A database to store elements of industrial system as vertexes and relationships among them as edges.

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The query language - similar to other query languages.
The visual representation - No extra pain in visualizing data.
What do you dislike?
Initial learning curve. poor documentation. integration with C# environment.
Documentation for neo4jclient for c# is pathetic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Impact Analysis is being automated.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Strong community, FB,Goog and author biggie support.


    Alan R.

Graph databases will open your eyes to possibilities you never knew before

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Graph model. Powerful query language. Extensibility. Bindings for many languages.

I love their support for their community. They are great to work with, and answer their customers questions promptly. I've been in open source software for 17 years, and I think very highly of their community support.

The most important aspects of what we model are very well modeled by a graph database. We love the fact that you can ask questions like "What all depends on this system directly or indirectly". We can do the same for a network switch, and for a business process. It really rocks in this way. These are the questions you want to ask - and they're almost impossible to answer in a relational database.
What do you dislike?
I need for some of my data to have more complex (map-like) attributes. I've worked around this, but it limits the queries I can perform in their database. I could write an extension that would take care of this, but I haven't. Having native maps would be a good thing. Instead I use JSON strings. It works for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We create a model of your data center by discovery which then creates and keeps a Neo4j database updated. The most important thing about a data center is how all the pieces are connected logically and physically - how they talk to each other. This is where Neo4j shines.

Modeling IT infrastructure, software, networks, configuration, network connections, settings and lots more things. See http://AssimilationSystems.com for details.

In lots of ways, Neo4j is a perfect object store for our object-oriented software. Neo4j graph nodes just become objects in our code. It's a great match.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get involved with their online community. They rock!

If you need blobs, that's something that's coming - but isn't there yet.


    Justin P.

Graph database with a powerful query language

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Relatively easy installation, and a wide variety of language-specific integration libraries. The query language is concise and extremely powerful. What would have been done with a ton of loops and a variety of control statements was summed up in just a couple of lines. The syntax, while not as beautifully readable as many of the ruby/rails and nodejs code out there today, is readily understandable to others reviewing it, through as with anything the devil is in the details.
What do you dislike?
The query language, while extremely powerful, can be a bit obtuse for complex queries. Additionally, if you're running something really sophisticated, you'll need some pretty solid hardware that can support it. In our case it was worth the benefit, but I could see someone using a much simpler solution using a relational database and less resources. Testing the queries also became problematic as we ended up tracing through our complex datastore by hand many times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use neo4j in a service that recommends mobile apps based on a fairly complex set of criteria, but at the base of it, the algorithm finds similar users to the target and picks apps that have not yet been installed in certain content verticals. After a few hours of iterating on a solution, our algorithm came down to just few lines of neo4j query language.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As with most implementations, start with small examples and build on it little by little.


    Carlos A.

Easy to manage only by experts, yet powerful if you are one.

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Certainly one of the best things of Neo4j is that it tackles social network data. This makes it easier to quickly load explore the network much more quickly than any other database, as others would requiring extracting the data first to some language like R and employ some social network analysis library such as igraph.

In our research group, Neo4J is also viable because it is open source. We would burn all our research funds in the database alone with other solutions.

They also released freely a book for Neo4j enthusiasts to learn how to make the best of it.
What do you dislike?
The worst problem with neo4j is finding the right people to use it. Often times we want the database to be made public, and unfortunately not many people are versed in graph databases yet. For that case, even Neo4j being easy to use by an expert, it makes the data hard to access by the majority of database users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are employing Neo4j for software engineering research, mainly for analyzing version control systems, mailing lists and bug trackers. As mentioned previously, the benefits were observed in manipulating the data entirely in the database rather than requiring a programming language on top of that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure the community who could benefit from the data or research partners will be able to use the database.


    Jeffrey E.

Preparing for a large project

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Really appreciate the speed and efficiency of the graph model. We're using it for a logistics platform and the ability to build relationships into the model from the start and quickly traverse relevant data is great. The interface for testing is really nicely designed and there's lots of appropriate help available.
What do you dislike?
The biggest challenge is that so few people seem to be using it and there aren't that many resources. There are more and more all the time - there are lots of packages in various programming languages at different levels of development. The biggest challenge, though, is the lack of high-level strategy advice on best-practices with the architecture. Lots of just trying things out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a logistics platform that iterates on a lot of known values, so building those relationships into the model from point one is great. The query times are phenomenally fast. We hope that this will translate into lower hosting costs as the raw horsepower needed is much less.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spend plenty of time in their environment testing the model and making sure that the logic for nodes and relationships is solid. Once that's done you're stuck with it - the planning is a bit more important than with a SQL model. Since everything is RESTful based, the technical challenges aren't that large.


    Entertainment

Great, but take time to pick your implementation library and language

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Neo4J makes it easy for the data structure to match the business vocabulary. Also, being able to set attributes on the relation between node is an incredibly powerful way to store knowledge and retrieve it afterward.

My main use was to build a private social network were the most important data were the attributes lining the various members. Building this kind of structure in SQL would have required an heavy structure and a lot of pre-caching to be performant. With Neo4J, speed was never an issue even when building relationships 6-7 nodes away.
What do you dislike?
The available Ruby client gems to work with Neo4J are (at least at the time, ~1 year ago) not documented in a consistent way. While Neo4J allows you to manipulate data in various ways, as a new comer I found it hard to figure out which way to insert or query my data. There were also a few cases where cut&pasting working examples and tweaking some params would give me surprising results.

Fortunately for me, I decided to switch to Node and found another client with a better documentation. Since then, I think the Ruby landscape has changed and I hope to experiment with the latest gems in an upcoming project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building a social network for a niche industry where every member could vouch and rate people they have worked with in previous projects.

The biggest benefit of using Neo4J was how easy it was to transform the business models into code, adding complexity as we went along without the need to worrying about SQL schema.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it first with a toy project. Spend a day or two playing with it and see how easy it is to answer complex questions.


    Clark R.

Developing complex, production applications on Neo4J

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Neo4J is a true native graph database. As such it performs very, very efficiently for traversing even very large sets of connected data. It has proven to be highly robust, featuring true enterprise grade database features such as ACID transactions and automated backup and recovery.

Neo4J support has been absolutely outstanding as well. They are very responsive wether you are looking at a serious production outage (that may very likely even be your own fault) or something that just doesn't appear to do what you think it should do.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the backup verification can take longer than I would like. I am also always looking forward to faster query resolution as the query planner continues to improve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have enabling people to easily load released data that is locked into different files and then quickly query and analyze that data. Neo4J makes it possible for us to automatically link that data and query it in a fast and useable manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be aware that while there are other graph database products on the market, Neo4J is the creator of the properties based graph and is the only truly native graph database. It is not a graph layered on top of another database system.


    Laurent S.

A great tool with a great community

  • December 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Ease of installation. The setup was a breeze.
- The query language is really easy to understand and use. Even for complex queries.
- The query browser is a really nice tool that allows you to quickly visualise the result of you queries.
- Good community support. There's a lot of resources out there.
- It's open source. Something's missing ? Add it. Something's broken ? Fix it.
What do you dislike?
So far so good. Nothing to dislike really.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to build a recommendation system for our blog platform.
Using a graph database seemed the right way to do it and it was !
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Neo4j is really easy to setup and use.
Do not spend too much time reading reviews and try it.
Add a few nodes, some relations and see if it fits your needs.
A question ? Ask on stackoverflow. Someone will answer in the hour (or less).
Graphs are fun. Neo4j makes them even funnier.