Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Memcached: Object Caching system

Miri Infotech | 1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu V 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

17 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

I would like to Share this post

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Memcached is best now storage data in this memory. I would link to use this card.
What do you dislike?
Nothing is dislike.Everything is well. it will be grate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solved many problems using php/Mysql. it's has been more benefits.


    Wayde L.

Memcached review

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My experience with the npm package was good, I love the ease of use and simplicity of it. I used it a while ago but the link to it is https://www.npmjs.com/package/memcached. Because it's so simple I could create a wrapper that could be used internally in our project. It definitely solved the issues we were facing with our web application rendering times. We achieved our desired results after implementation.
What do you dislike?
With the simplicity can come many implementations which could possibly be the not recommended way. Not really a dislike but it would have been interesting for me to have more resources to understand exactly what's going on under the hood. Other than that there's not much more I can say.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed and reliability. We were having some serious speed issues before realizing that we needed some sort of caching layer between what we were doing. We started realizing we had caching issues when our site started to take longer than a couple of seconds to load. Once we looked further into the issue we realized that before rendering the web page we were doing a ton of database queries before rendering, which caused massive delays. Once we cached those query results in the rendering layer we ended up having massive performance boosts. We also did a layer of caching for HTTP requests that needed results from external services. We ended up getting the desired web performance after implementing Memcached with our own customer wrapper layer. I would recommend Memcached to anyone that needs to implement a simple caching system for their web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Watch tutorials before implementation.


    Computer Software

Memcached works pretty well when you need easy-to-use key-value storage

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity, integration is pretty fast, you can integrate in minutes. A good amount of libraries for different frameworks
What do you dislike?
I actually don't like some protocol implementations, like pylibmc
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are storing


    YongBao J.

Good experience

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is fast than I've estimated, totally it solved my headache.
What do you dislike?
Everything is ok. I'd like to use Memcached in the future.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
fast access
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good to use.


    Juan S.

Memcached: Maximum Speed!

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Memcached allows for storage in RAM. It is Key-Value, but storing a JSON string is easy and quick. Especially so when using for it's intended purpose as a cache without worrying about persistence. It's written in C, very close to the metal. Additionally, development on it is very active - with the most recent stable release a few months ago. I especially love that it can distribute its hash table across multiple machines, thus improving speed and reducing overall workload.
What do you dislike?
While the prefered cleanup strategy is LRU (Least Recently Used) I would love to have the ability to change to LFU (Least Frequently Used) for instance. I am not aware of this being configurable. Care should also be taken to make sure that it is secure (typically user error). One should configure the application correctly and to only accept connections from whitelisted applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it primarily purely as a cache, no persistence. It sped up our load times and user lookup for subsequent visits and page loads dramatically, in the order of 300% to 400% faster load times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you tie up security in the config before going live.


    Internet

Memcached : small, fast, and "just works"

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Memcache is supported by a huge set of development tools, has great library support
What do you dislike?
Using the TEXT protocol vs. the BINARY protocol can be required to get some clients to work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use memcached as a sideline cache, to prevent having to go to the database for data that we've recently retrieved. Due to the automatic cache expiration timing feature, we can rest assured that when we fetch something from memcached, it will be "fresh", or non-existent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make sure to use the latest version of memcached, and be forewarned that there is no security guardrails.


    Mathias F.

Great solution for session and object cache

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's extremely easy to install and start using memcached in your server and also in your local development environment.
What do you dislike?
Not as useful and extensible as Redis. I would not recommend it over it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use memcached for web session management and for key-value storage as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Also consider Redis and other solutions. Memcached is pretty easy to configure and use, but every tool has its specific pros and cons.


    Computer Software

Simple in-memory storage

  • September 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, reliability. Very robust, fast information retrieval, simple integration with any system. Reliable service that has been available for many years so can be relied on.
What do you dislike?
Lack of persistence without add-ons can cause problems, need to ensure you aren't saving any data you can't rebuild.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Faster page and api loads by utilizing it as a cache layer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep it simple, and don't store anything you can't rebuild. Construct scripts to warm the cache on reboots if your caching is vital to app performance.


    Diego J.

Super fast and stable, but lacks of any advance methods.

  • June 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's as fast and as stable as it can be. It never crashed. Its performance is unbeatable because of its simplicity, it does what it has to do, and it does it very well.
What do you dislike?
Lack of features. It used to be the best option, but now there are more alternatives (eg, Redis) that are as fast as Memcached. The key and value size limits might be a problem for some. The limit of 1 index is also a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web site performance. I've used to cache data, reports, authentication tokens, etc. It freed a lot of work from the database and the network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unless you need an extreme performance boost, try Redis first. It has fewer limitations and it also performs pretty good. Use Memcached only if you need only a key-value volatile cache.


    Information Technology and Services

self adjusting dynamic weights for nodes with load balancing using memcached and custom scripts

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
very fast database for storing keys and other information into memory that would normally be heavy on other databases / applications to request the data. ability to cluster the memcache servers in a distributed pool for high availability and reliability. integrates with many languages using modules/api (such as c, php, perl, python, etc) allowing greater flexibility for usage.
What do you dislike?
it's meant for specific use cases really. assuming that the server restarts, any of the cached data will be gone (it wasn't meant to save it long term). there's some other products that are supposed to be better as well, although i haven't had a need to try/use any of them yet for the purpose of the applications being used with memcached.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
misc_check custom script used with keepalived for the purpose of self adjusting dynamic weights of services (primarily http/s) being load balanced based on the the node system load being checked. it's extremely fast and reliable for the custom check being used and can be integrated for many types of services checked. the daemon itself doesn't really require a large amount of memory, however that would be dependent more so on such data being stored and accessed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
tuning appropriately for your resources available is necessary to get the best performance. it works great for API's, scripts, web applications, etc. it's almost hard to not find a good use for this program, although other one's such as redis may also be useful and one would need to evaluate which one may be the better solution.