Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Starburst Enterprise

Starburst | Starburst Enterprise 402-e.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

17 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yuri N.

Starburst Enterprise is a really good solution to deliver data comsuption for your data environment

  • October 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Starburst has a lot of features that improve the experience in comparison with Trino OpenSource. Besides, a lot of features are still in development. The basic features already fill your requirements to make connections between all your sources into a single point of truth.
What do you dislike?
We spent a good amount of time configuring the certificates with Apache Ranger and Starburst Enterprise. The Helm Chart of Apache Ranger it's not stable right now and maybe I'll switch to Built-in access control that have the same granulity control of Ranger.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst helps us to configure a Helm Release that is auditable and easily scalable with all the configurations set to our security pattern. And all the solutions are built-in (control and query editor), that we don't need more complexity to create an environment to consume from Trino (Starburst Enterprise).


    Vitor M.

Reliable, fast, secure and efficient data platform

  • October 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
At my organization, we are using starburst to take important business decisions. We have been using for a short period and I must say that the platform is:

1 - Reliable
2 - Fast
3 - Secure
4 - Efficient
5 - User friendly

Having this in view, I'm sure that starburst is an innovative data platform and will help us a lot with overall features.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any feedback; everything is working as expected.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cost optimization
Performance (join between different sources)
sources/sinks catalogs
Transparency
Organizations
Security
Easy to use (less dependency of engineers)


    Andre G.

Best data platform on the market

  • October 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First: Extremely effective onboarding (kudos to JB and Jeff!), Second: Extremely powerful product (overpowers Athena by far), Third: Totally friendly user and full of important features to keep track of my jobs and data teams performance, Fourth: easy to deploy and integrate with several services and our data stack.

Smooth and clean platform to adopt in your company.
What do you dislike?
So far i have nothing to complain about it. It got everything we need and lots of powerful features as a plus that improve our operations and enable many iniciatives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At Inter we're facing a new chapter with Trino, where we can effectively democratize our data at a lower cost (compared to Athena and other platforms), all of this with high performance and with no friction with non-tech users. It is taking our data team to another level, enabling the data culture to rise and propagate through all squads and business areas.


    ravi r.

starburst Trino performance

  • August 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ranger, data mesh, distributed SQL engine
What do you dislike?
tuning is cumbersome to perform some times
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
leveraging federated semantic layer feature, helping business users


    Simone G.

Great support and utilities around the powerful Trino engine

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The care Starburst put in the UX clearly shows. Also, their support and knowledge of the engine are great. The updates on the platform are very frequent, and documentiation is easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, in particular. We still have to understand if the costs will grow too much, but it doesn't look like it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst is used as the Data Mesh Query Engine in our company. It allows connecting BI tools and notebooks to analytics engines as well as exploring the operational databases thanks to its federated nature. We are also exploring using it for data transformation processes instead of Spark, for some cases.


    Raghwendra S.

great features to work with multiple data sources , easy to deploy on AWS / GCP using kubernetes

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
starburst presto has very good performance for short running queries ex queries taking 3-5 minutes so for dashboarding this is the go-to choice &
good performance with the delta connector in SEP 370 + compared to the previous versions, Insights Query editor IDE, reduction in query planning time
What do you dislike?
there are some initial hiccups when getting started with a new cloud ex GCP , like applying the license which increases the overall time needed to get started to any developments
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are able to easily run 100000 dashboarding + adhoc queries without scaling up the cluster , by using a combination of new performance feature from latest presto version & caching at bi tool

due to faster runtime presto is the first choice for our end users


    Vitaly S.

Leads to Success in Business

  • July 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The product is in constant development. Every release brings new features, performance improvements, and fault tolerance enhancements. It helps keep users happy and productive which leads to success in business.
What do you dislike?
Storing metadata in Hive metastore creates a lot of overheads. It requests the building of dedicated complex infrastructure and troubleshooting in case of any issues might be a real challenge.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst has replaced many tools and data transformation systems with one unified platform. As a result, it saves time for support and maintenance infrastructure and speeds up the onboarding of users.


    Retail

I am data Engineering Manager and our team heavily used this tool to meet our business needs

  • June 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the features supported and Documentation is very detailed and easy to follow-up
What do you dislike?
Some Error messages are not very clear when we try to integrate with hive database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
they connect with us regularly and collecting the logs and assigning a dedicated technical resource is very helpful for us to get a quick turnaround
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend this tool to other teams and other companies


    Financial Services

user friendly and powerful data analytic tools

  • May 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and deploy. good tech support.
What do you dislike?
less debug info for cockroachDB exceptions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
our ETL team use this tool to analyze data from various databases


    Hospital & Health Care

Starburst review from SOPHiA GENETICS

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Regular business meeting, functionality of the product being able to run data queries against decentralized data centers worldwide, great technical support.
What do you dislike?
Pricing policy defined on the deployed resources instead of Starburst usage only.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst Enterprise enables us to query in single queries and very easily our data from multiple data source formats spread worldwide. Starburst includes access control features allowing us to define in detail data access to our users and services. With Starburst we are able to have data governance over our data using their Data Product feature.