Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Starburst Enterprise

Starburst | Starburst Enterprise 380-e.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

I am data Engineering Manager and our team heavily used this tool to meet our business needs

  • June 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the features supported and Documentation is very detailed and easy to follow-up
What do you dislike?
Some Error messages are not very clear when we try to integrate with hive database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
they connect with us regularly and collecting the logs and assigning a dedicated technical resource is very helpful for us to get a quick turnaround
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend this tool to other teams and other companies


    Raghwendra S.

very performance and active support with quick issue reproduction with fixed

  • May 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
good performance with the delta connector in SEP 370 + compared to the previous versions, Insights Query editor IDE, reduction in query planning time
What do you dislike?
the testing with any newer version should be thoroughly tested, so that it does not break any existing functionality incase of LTS versions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have been able to migrate from aws redshift and are able to run upto 100000 queries (under 3 minutes) per minute, keeping our cost constant, with the new improvements in performance we are able to run more queries without needing to increase the infra size


    Financial Services

user friendly and powerful data analytic tools

  • May 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and deploy. good tech support.
What do you dislike?
less debug info for cockroachDB exceptions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
our ETL team use this tool to analyze data from various databases


    Hospital & Health Care

Starburst review from SOPHiA GENETICS

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Regular business meeting, functionality of the product being able to run data queries against decentralized data centers worldwide, great technical support.
What do you dislike?
Pricing policy defined on the deployed resources instead of Starburst usage only.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst Enterprise enables us to query in single queries and very easily our data from multiple data source formats spread worldwide. Starburst includes access control features allowing us to define in detail data access to our users and services. With Starburst we are able to have data governance over our data using their Data Product feature.


    Onur Y.

Zalando is a very happy customer of Starburst Enterprise for the last 3 years

  • April 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have found that Starburst Enterprise that is built on the open source Trino project is very easy to use and administer. The default setup and the fact that SEP is choosing the right JVM and cluster configuration based on the hardware setup we use automatically makes it very easy to use for our workload and has very high performance. The response times of the support cases are very low and result fast in resolution. For critical issues, we can get support from the Trino contributors
What do you dislike?
release management is lacking. We were hit by some undocumented breaking changes in the Trino open source project and Starburst Enterprise deployment model that affected our timelines in the past.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst powers the serving layer of Zalando's data lake on S3. We have more than thousand internal users and 100s of applications using Starburst daily, running 30k+ queries that are processing half a petabyte per day. Starburst is connected to many different BI tools that power dashboards and drive Zalando's business and internal KPIs


    John W.

Starburst Enterprise deployment

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The customer success team (Technical Account Team) are super helpful. The Starburst tool has many connectors and supports industry-standard tools like DBeaver and DBVisualizer so it's easy for customers to use to realize value almost immediately. It speeds up the analytics up to 80% so ad-hoc queries can be performed quickly and efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The amount of customization needed to achieve optimal settings. Paying for the technical account manager is a must to achieve optimal efficiency for the tool. Support is helpful but they don't understand all the customization that's done so that's where TAM will provide additional value.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our big data environment is slow and Hive performance is inadequate. Starburst speeds up the query speed for our customer base (>100 analysts) up to 80% and also allow customers to perform cross-platform queries (Big Data and SQL Server) together without having to copy data.


    Ritesh R.

Starburst has helped us to change the way we work

  • April 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Strong product features which helped us to join disparate data sources across different clouds and territories. Also, it helped us to do things a lot faster than we used to do.
What do you dislike?
Not much to say but having an automated data cataloguing feature will definitely be nice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Like any other business, we have disparate datasources that reside in different clouds and on-prem. Previously, it was difficult to quickly answer business questions but after Starburst we can connect data sources together without moving any data. Now, it is quite easy to answer any business queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have trouble with disparate data sources which slows you down in answering business queries or going to market quicker. then Starburst is the right product for you.


    Himangshu D.

New generation product to run your queries across multiple databases

  • February 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Starburst can run queries across multiple data sources; it can add nodes as workers if you run more prolonged and intense queries. Also, it supports all the new state-of-the-art cloud data sources. It provides out-of-the-box support for all the traditional data sources as well.
What do you dislike?
After adding a new catalog, it needs to be restarted. Starburst can provide APIs to add/remove catalogs.

I would love to see more SaaS offerings from Starburst. Also, there're more presto flavor options from Ahaha or Athena, we'd need to know the USP for Starburst.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst solves the problem of querying heterogeneous databases spread across multiple distributed systems. It presents these data sources as a single database, and querying across is easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Starburst's SaaS offering is promising. But you can look at - 1. Athena from AWS - is pretty solid. But limited Databases suport.
2. Ahana, I haven't used it but its similar to starburst.


    Bryan A.

Data Mesh / Data Virtualization Realized

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Starburst Data Enterprise Trino is a solid solution to enable ad-hoc analytics and cross-platform data join capabilities. It supports both on-premise and the cloud, dozens of connectors, and levels the playing field for folks looking to work with Big Data (without being a Big Data engineer!). It's simple and easy to use, with most folks able to jump right in with high school-level knowledge of ANSI SQL. Performance meets or exceeds most expectations, and we see significant performance gains over technologies like Apache Hive for querying time and efficiency.
What do you dislike?
There's not much to dislike here. On a rare occasion, you may run into "bleeding edge" issues and need to wait (usually not too long) for edge cases to be addressed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm currently using Starburst to make it easier for users to perform cross-platform joins (between data types/technologies), lower the barriers to entry for data exploration, support production-grade ad-hoc analytics, and move in the direction of a data mesh architecture. We have realized benefits in the form of faster processing times, reduced data transfer over the network, and reduced data duplication/storage, resulting in both cost and time savings.


    Insurance

Welcome to the Data Mesh

  • December 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to tap any database or directly the data lake through a hyper optimized SQL Engine.
What do you dislike?
Very little to dislike. I dislike questions asking me to dislike?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building Scalable Data Products based on Delta Lake.