Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Starburst Enterprise

Starburst | Starburst Enterprise 380-e.3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    ravi r.

starburst Trino performance

  • August 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ranger, data mesh, distributed SQL engine
What do you dislike?
tuning is cumbersome to perform some times
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
leveraging federated semantic layer feature, helping business users


    Simone G.

Great support and utilities around the powerful Trino engine

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The care Starburst put in the UX clearly shows. Also, their support and knowledge of the engine are great. The updates on the platform are very frequent, and documentiation is easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, in particular. We still have to understand if the costs will grow too much, but it doesn't look like it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst is used as the Data Mesh Query Engine in our company. It allows connecting BI tools and notebooks to analytics engines as well as exploring the operational databases thanks to its federated nature. We are also exploring using it for data transformation processes instead of Spark, for some cases.


    Raghwendra S.

great features to work with multiple data sources , easy to deploy on AWS / GCP using kubernetes

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
starburst presto has very good performance for short running queries ex queries taking 3-5 minutes so for dashboarding this is the go-to choice &
good performance with the delta connector in SEP 370 + compared to the previous versions, Insights Query editor IDE, reduction in query planning time
What do you dislike?
there are some initial hiccups when getting started with a new cloud ex GCP , like applying the license which increases the overall time needed to get started to any developments
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are able to easily run 100000 dashboarding + adhoc queries without scaling up the cluster , by using a combination of new performance feature from latest presto version & caching at bi tool

due to faster runtime presto is the first choice for our end users


    Vitaly S.

Leads to Success in Business

  • July 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The product is in constant development. Every release brings new features, performance improvements, and fault tolerance enhancements. It helps keep users happy and productive which leads to success in business.
What do you dislike?
Storing metadata in Hive metastore creates a lot of overheads. It requests the building of dedicated complex infrastructure and troubleshooting in case of any issues might be a real challenge.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst has replaced many tools and data transformation systems with one unified platform. As a result, it saves time for support and maintenance infrastructure and speeds up the onboarding of users.


    Retail

I am data Engineering Manager and our team heavily used this tool to meet our business needs

  • June 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the features supported and Documentation is very detailed and easy to follow-up
What do you dislike?
Some Error messages are not very clear when we try to integrate with hive database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
they connect with us regularly and collecting the logs and assigning a dedicated technical resource is very helpful for us to get a quick turnaround
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend this tool to other teams and other companies


    Financial Services

user friendly and powerful data analytic tools

  • May 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and deploy. good tech support.
What do you dislike?
less debug info for cockroachDB exceptions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
our ETL team use this tool to analyze data from various databases


    Hospital & Health Care

Starburst review from SOPHiA GENETICS

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Regular business meeting, functionality of the product being able to run data queries against decentralized data centers worldwide, great technical support.
What do you dislike?
Pricing policy defined on the deployed resources instead of Starburst usage only.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst Enterprise enables us to query in single queries and very easily our data from multiple data source formats spread worldwide. Starburst includes access control features allowing us to define in detail data access to our users and services. With Starburst we are able to have data governance over our data using their Data Product feature.


    Onur Y.

Zalando is a very happy customer of Starburst Enterprise for the last 3 years

  • April 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have found that Starburst Enterprise that is built on the open source Trino project is very easy to use and administer. The default setup and the fact that SEP is choosing the right JVM and cluster configuration based on the hardware setup we use automatically makes it very easy to use for our workload and has very high performance. The response times of the support cases are very low and result fast in resolution. For critical issues, we can get support from the Trino contributors
What do you dislike?
release management is lacking. We were hit by some undocumented breaking changes in the Trino open source project and Starburst Enterprise deployment model that affected our timelines in the past.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starburst powers the serving layer of Zalando's data lake on S3. We have more than thousand internal users and 100s of applications using Starburst daily, running 30k+ queries that are processing half a petabyte per day. Starburst is connected to many different BI tools that power dashboards and drive Zalando's business and internal KPIs


    John W.

Starburst Enterprise deployment

  • April 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The customer success team (Technical Account Team) are super helpful. The Starburst tool has many connectors and supports industry-standard tools like DBeaver and DBVisualizer so it's easy for customers to use to realize value almost immediately. It speeds up the analytics up to 80% so ad-hoc queries can be performed quickly and efficiently.
What do you dislike?
The amount of customization needed to achieve optimal settings. Paying for the technical account manager is a must to achieve optimal efficiency for the tool. Support is helpful but they don't understand all the customization that's done so that's where TAM will provide additional value.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our big data environment is slow and Hive performance is inadequate. Starburst speeds up the query speed for our customer base (>100 analysts) up to 80% and also allow customers to perform cross-platform queries (Big Data and SQL Server) together without having to copy data.


    Ritesh R.

Starburst has helped us to change the way we work

  • April 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Strong product features which helped us to join disparate data sources across different clouds and territories. Also, it helped us to do things a lot faster than we used to do.
What do you dislike?
Not much to say but having an automated data cataloguing feature will definitely be nice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Like any other business, we have disparate datasources that reside in different clouds and on-prem. Previously, it was difficult to quickly answer business questions but after Starburst we can connect data sources together without moving any data. Now, it is quite easy to answer any business queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have trouble with disparate data sources which slows you down in answering business queries or going to market quicker. then Starburst is the right product for you.