Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Nice backup software that does the job

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This software is very intuitive and easy to use
What do you dislike?
Lack of advance setting like commvault can submit
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup data for many servers


    Roberta J.

Virtas (Backup Exec)

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Software is very easy to use and works well.
What do you dislike?
Do not forget to renew your annual software maintenance agreement; you will not get a reminder when it gets close to your renewal time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it for backing up our data servers and for data recovery.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should definitely use this for a backup and recovery solution.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

BackUps

  • October 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One you have your jobs set up, it's pretty rock solid barring any hardwar issues. As with any back up product it's still very important that you verify each job.
What do you dislike?
We had several issues getting it configured after we upgraded to the last version, but it's nothing that can't be overcome
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Making sure that the mission critical data is available even in case of a user error or diaster
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check your backups


    Information Technology and Services

great backup software with great features

  • August 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
i like thew newly updated interface, the new version is easy to use and veritas provides great end user support.
licensing model is simple to understand
What do you dislike?
the update process is a little bit confusing , it could be a little bit better streamlined
virtualization support / vm standby is lacking
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
great backup product that integrates seamlessly into existing server infrastructure


    Education Management

Useful product!

  • July 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Product allows me to backup my products and makes me more comfortable on a day in and out basis.
What do you dislike?
At first it was difficult to install but once we got used to it- there were no issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems being solved are it makes my employees more comfortable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Worth a try!


    Government Administration

Good backup and recovery software for small business.

  • July 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Veritas Backup Exec software is the central repository for my organization's long term backup strategy. Tapes created using this software are stored offsite in a vault and I have had no problems restoring any data from any tape at all. I feel it is reliable and keeps my data safe.
What do you dislike?
The technical support. It seems that no matter what problem I am having with the Backup Exec product, I cannot ever get a straight answer out of technical support. It frustrates me to no end that the company that created the product cannot even support it very well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Backup Exec for long term, tape backups of critical organizational data. The fact that I have been able to restore data from any of my Backup Exec tapes without any issue is a benefit that I could never put a price on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it. If you find that it works for you, great! If not, there are plenty of other backup and restore options out there.


    Hospitality

Backup Exec 2015

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?

Backup Exec 2015 Capacity Edition is a reliable product..simple to configure and manage and it just works
What do you dislike?
I dont like the fact that tech support typically is not very saavy at speaking the English language...thats a huge barrier for me. Calls take way longer than necessary because i have to ask them to repeat everything at least twice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
when i began working here at CLC....the backups were non functioning...no backups had been successfully run in over 4 months. I completely wiped out the backup exec installation and reinstalled it from scratch and reconfigured all backups.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I had used Backupexec in a previous workplace where we backed up much larger data sets....we essentially outgrew BackupExec and they actually admitted they could no longer support the amount of data we managed. We were backing up around 20-40 TB per weekend in our full backups...lots of photo, video, music, large photoshop/illustrator files. It became nearly impossible to successfully backup everything...jobs would just stop running or error out...it got to the point where i would spend 2-3 hrs every day on the phone with tech support to try and remedy the errors....to no avail....after months of this...we had to engage another vendor and we ultimately switched to a disk to disk based solution (Unitrends).


    Education Management

Need backup for your files? Veritas Backup Exec is for you!

  • June 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the fact that my employer could have a free 60 day trial to try-out the product. I think that is a great idea especially if one doesn't know if they want to purchase a backup and recovery product. The product is very simple and the down-time for the recovery of files is relatively short.
What do you dislike?
I wouldn't use the backup exec for one's own personal use. I didn't like the fact that the company is on the other end of the country from where I live and sometimes getting a hold of the company on the phone was difficult. When I did get a hold of the company, my conversation with them was very technical and I didn't quite have a good understanding.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was trying to find a solution for a backup and recovery program for my school. I realize the benefits for having a backup/recovery system are quite big.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest using Veritas Backup Exec for a business.


    Medical Practice

Sys admin's view of Backup Exec

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There isn't much that I do like about backup exec. If I had to pick one thing it would be the technical support.
What do you dislike?
Database becomes corrupted frequently. Unintuitive setup process. Doesn't have drivers for some devices and takes a call to support. There were times that an update made the drivers incompatible and the roll-back process is quite painful. It was either roll back to a previous version or not be able to back up to our tape library.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used it to backup user files from 5 file servers onto tape.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just because it's the biggest, doesnt mean it's the best. There are other options out there that do the job just as good, for a better price and easier to use and setup. The telephone support for them is top notch. They will stay with you until the problem is solved and if they say they are going to call back, they will call back.


    Cory H.

Great data backup solution

  • April 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great product for backing up data. If you have the appropriate infrastructure, backups take no time at all. Scheduling backups can get very in depth, which is great for having them all run at different times. Restoring data is a breeze as well.
What do you dislike?
Jobs seem to randomly lockup or not complete. I'm not sure if this is due to Backup Exec not processing the data correctly, or if it is due to something with the Backup Exec agent on the backed up server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data backups. With this software, we're able to schedule backups to kick off at different times. This is great for keeping network traffic down, and making sure the backups complete.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure and have your backups kick off at different times. Make sure they are completing. It is best to check Backup Exec at least once a day to make sure everything is finished.

You don't have backups if you can't restore from a backup.