Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matthew G.

Clunky and Difficult to Manage Enterprise Backup Solution

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Server centric model that makes deploying the backup client to end users convenient, but unfortunately not very reliable.

The ability to take full backups of all virtual machines hosted on a Hyper V server through without deploying the client to all of the virtual machines.
What do you dislike?
Almost everything else.

The management console is using a very poor performing SQL Anywhere database program (by default) that makes navigating the management slow and clunky. The management console itself is designed fairly well in the latest 2015 version.
The process of adding a new server or workstation takes around five manual steps. You install the client, then you create a group or add that machine to the group, then you add the client to the actual backup task (because the grouping is just there for giggles) and then you edit and make your backup selections. Repeat this process if any mistakes were made.
The process of database backups are cumbersome and slow. I had an incident recently where database backup jobs were stuck in a "Queued" state for over 30 minutes that I eventually called support about and found that this was "normal" for the first run as it scanned the databases, but there was no documentation of this behavior.
You can create useful "media sets" for Tape backups, but no such sets for hard disk backups. The best way to use hard disk for backups in this program is to have one huge virtual (LUN) or physical drive (RAID), depending on your backup sets. If you have 3 separate disk drives setup and you're trying to manage which jobs go to which drives, you are not going to have a good time.
General backup performance is slow for us, but this could be due to our setup, admittedly.

I have not used this program when it was branded Acronis, but from my time with this program and from many other complaints on the web, this was a better product under Acronis.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Symantec Backup Exec as our primary backup control process and disaster recovery process for all on site servers and workstations. We have not realized many benefits from this product for the reasons outlined above. We have been looking at alternates to Backup Exec.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are going to go with Symantec, make sure you set it up with religious dedication to the details. Mistakes are going to give you major headaches.


    Michael J.

Symantec Backup Exec

  • December 29, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Works great for simple Backup Solutions. We have used this product for about 10 years now to backup Medical Images to Tape and Disk.
What do you dislike?
They do not handle Virtual Environments very well. Also the Customer service has been lacking. They have no ability to apply solutions to special circumstances.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup and retention of critical Medical Data that needs addressed for Compliance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you are selecting this software for the right reasons, not just justified on the cost of the software. Spending 10% more could make you happier in some situations.


    Research

Symantec Backup Exec 2012

  • November 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coming from an older version of Backup Exec such as 12.5 the interface is a complete overhaul, in fact the fundamental way in which you set backups up is very different. That said there is a lot of improvement and it's much easier to adjust individual server backups that it was before although there is a bit of a learning curve to be had with this kind of drastic change
What do you dislike?
Initially the interface overhaul caused problems because a number of features were missing and the option to have a job centric view was gone but that has since been restored.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At the time of using this product we were selling it third party and I was supporting the product for our customers.


    Brian J.

A robust backup solution

  • November 05, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that some of the old features of Symantec Backup Exec have been restored. This was one of the main reasons that we stopped using it to begin with. The bare metal restore feature has come in handy in a couple of situations when we've had older servers fail and needed to restore to virtual or to newer physical servers.
What do you dislike?
There weren't a whole lot of things that we disliked about the product. Although we just used it in a test environment, it performed very well, especially the bare metal restore capabilities. BMR can really save your bacon if you've just had a server fail and need to virtualize or replace it with new and different hardware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to solve the issue of reliable backups without having to deal with failures and other issues that we experienced with other lesser products.


    Ravi S.

ease of management, better all in one product

  • June 30, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use\management
backups from one central console
restore facility which allows restoration of data to different locations
backs up various from of application\ datasets like, database, exchange, files and virtual environment, NDMP etc.
What do you dislike?
I have had issues in the past between our Spectra and the Symantec Backup Exec software losing the drives that were setup
Recovery of application servers overly complex
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to solve the issue of reliable backups without having to deal with failures and other issues that we experienced with other lesser products


    Herry S.

Good backup product and will continue using it

  • April 28, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability of the products and options to do various backup from database, exchange, files and virtual backups.
What do you dislike?
Nothing particular. As I am an avid user of symantec netbackup product, the way to set up backup policy in Backup Exec is bit confusing at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup/recovery problem area. We are able to safely backup and recover our data.


    Claudio C.

Great product for recovery

  • April 28, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Recovering VM servers using the Symantec BE VMWare agent.
What do you dislike?
Recovery of SQL servers works great, but can be overly complex.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business continuity. Disaster recovery.

In the past, bare metal recovery of servers required a server with similar hardware. With virtualisation, that aspect has been eliminated and makes recoveries infinitely easier and simpler. Symantec were one of the first companies that paved the way to make this happen.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the perfect solution for small to medium VMWare environments.


    Pankaj A.

Backup Exec for Disaster Recovery

  • April 21, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to recover physical server and Virtual servers in either Hyper-V or VMware Enterprise environments using Simplified Disaster Recover (SDR) step by step recovery.

Recovery of individual virtual machines is greatly assisted with the snapshot agents provided by Symantec

Also very good agent product to recovery Exchange , Exchange Mailboxes and SQL database applications and Sharepoint

Backup Exec Support Online is very helpful in solving issues
What do you dislike?
The user interface with later versions of Backup Exec have become less user friendly
With slight improvement with version 2014

The product can prove expensive after all the Licenses for the addtional agents have been purchased

Need to regularly Liveupdate the product with the latest hotfixes and patches which may require down time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup Exec Products have been useful in providing a Buisness Continuity and Disaster Recovery Solution
for my Enterprise Environment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All round good product


    Dwight T.

Symantec has been a great solution for our business.

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to schedule multiple jobs simultaneously and its ability to interface with our Spectra T120 & T50e.
What do you dislike?
I have had issues in the past between our Spectra and the Symantec Backup Exec software losing the drives that were setup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup of all vital files and servers using tape rotations offsite. This giving us the ability to restore in times of failure or loss.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to take time and run the trial to insure that it will work with your environment and hardware.


    Daniele A.

Easy to use BakUp Solution!

  • July 01, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Graphical interface and dedup. functionality.
What do you dislike?
It's Windows solutions mainly. This is not indicated for very high volume of data to backup and recover.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm not using it now any more. Cheap, fast and easy to use to keep all data safe in few clicks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking a solution all in 1 to safe your data then Backup Exec can be what you are looking for. You do not need any special training to use it as it is very user friendly and it is very fast thanks to its deduplication technology