Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

187 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospitality

Backup Exec 2015

  • June 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?

Backup Exec 2015 Capacity Edition is a reliable product..simple to configure and manage and it just works
What do you dislike about the product?
I dont like the fact that tech support typically is not very saavy at speaking the English language...thats a huge barrier for me. Calls take way longer than necessary because i have to ask them to repeat everything at least twice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
when i began working here at CLC....the backups were non functioning...no backups had been successfully run in over 4 months. I completely wiped out the backup exec installation and reinstalled it from scratch and reconfigured all backups.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I had used Backupexec in a previous workplace where we backed up much larger data sets....we essentially outgrew BackupExec and they actually admitted they could no longer support the amount of data we managed. We were backing up around 20-40 TB per weekend in our full backups...lots of photo, video, music, large photoshop/illustrator files. It became nearly impossible to successfully backup everything...jobs would just stop running or error out...it got to the point where i would spend 2-3 hrs every day on the phone with tech support to try and remedy the errors....to no avail....after months of this...we had to engage another vendor and we ultimately switched to a disk to disk based solution (Unitrends).


    Education Management

Need backup for your files? Veritas Backup Exec is for you!

  • June 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I liked the fact that my employer could have a free 60 day trial to try-out the product. I think that is a great idea especially if one doesn't know if they want to purchase a backup and recovery product. The product is very simple and the down-time for the recovery of files is relatively short.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wouldn't use the backup exec for one's own personal use. I didn't like the fact that the company is on the other end of the country from where I live and sometimes getting a hold of the company on the phone was difficult. When I did get a hold of the company, my conversation with them was very technical and I didn't quite have a good understanding.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was trying to find a solution for a backup and recovery program for my school. I realize the benefits for having a backup/recovery system are quite big.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest using Veritas Backup Exec for a business.


    Medical Practice

Sys admin's view of Backup Exec

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There isn't much that I do like about backup exec. If I had to pick one thing it would be the technical support.
What do you dislike about the product?
Database becomes corrupted frequently. Unintuitive setup process. Doesn't have drivers for some devices and takes a call to support. There were times that an update made the drivers incompatible and the roll-back process is quite painful. It was either roll back to a previous version or not be able to back up to our tape library.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used it to backup user files from 5 file servers onto tape.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just because it's the biggest, doesnt mean it's the best. There are other options out there that do the job just as good, for a better price and easier to use and setup. The telephone support for them is top notch. They will stay with you until the problem is solved and if they say they are going to call back, they will call back.


    Cory H.

Great data backup solution

  • April 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This is a great product for backing up data. If you have the appropriate infrastructure, backups take no time at all. Scheduling backups can get very in depth, which is great for having them all run at different times. Restoring data is a breeze as well.
What do you dislike about the product?
Jobs seem to randomly lockup or not complete. I'm not sure if this is due to Backup Exec not processing the data correctly, or if it is due to something with the Backup Exec agent on the backed up server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data backups. With this software, we're able to schedule backups to kick off at different times. This is great for keeping network traffic down, and making sure the backups complete.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure and have your backups kick off at different times. Make sure they are completing. It is best to check Backup Exec at least once a day to make sure everything is finished.

You don't have backups if you can't restore from a backup.


    Information Technology and Services

When my backups bother to finish, they've usually go errors

  • April 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Backup Exec has a storied history and lots of legacy documentaiton.
What do you dislike about the product?
Between moving from Symantec to Veritas, suddenly switching from a 20xx to just an XX release, losing doc during the migration, released unfinished FP/SP/HFs, poor RDX support and slow VM support, the list of things I dislike about Backup Exec is too long to fit in this review.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup Exec is - in theory - for taking backups.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider your options before committing to living in Backup Exec purgatory.


    Jacob L.

Dependable however competition has surpassed it

  • April 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Backup Exec is great at backing up SQL databases and bare metal machines. It provides solid functionality with great tape support.
What do you dislike about the product?
The product itself has really stagnated in the market over the last few years. It missed the virtual infrastructure train and has only recently managed to regain some foothold, however Veeam has really strives in this segment. The support line is also quite lackluster however I feel it has improved slightly lately.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are backing up our bare metal SQL clusters with Backup Exec. It works without fault and is very dependable.


    Paul L.

A Smart Way To Backup

  • April 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the scheduled/automated backup tasks Symantec Backup offers. The program runs on both a 64 bit as well as a 32 bit Windows Server OS.
What do you dislike about the product?
Symantec Backup software can require a little bit of time to learn all the features offered by this product. After trying different features available, you'll be able perform many backup tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In order to have backups of our data on tape and stored offsite, Symantec Backup software comes in handy to get this job done. It provides different backup software modules that you can purchase separately on an as needed basis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I do recommend Symantec Backup software as a robust program to backup your data onto tape. It does a great job running scheduled backups onto a tape unit library system.


    Graphic Design

Backup-Exec, Great for big budget

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The software was easy to use and made backups and restores easy. we ended up moving away from this product as it got to expensive. we moved to Microsoft Backup and miss the Backup-Exec days for the features but could no longer justify the price.
What do you dislike about the product?
pricing is about the only thing we didn't like about this product,.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup to tape, backup to disk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you can get good pricing, or have a bigger budget, this is great software.