Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 21.4

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ian R.

SImple to use and setup and it works.

  • December 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to setup and keep up to date. It has been easy to add additional servers. When I needed to restore data, it has been there.
What do you dislike?
I find that licensing can be confusing. It has told be I should be using VM features every time I add a virtual server, but I am not license for that version of the agent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The software keeps an update copy of the servers and data I back up. I have been able older versions of files and do complete bare metal server restores when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great product for nightly scheduled backups. If you need instant recovery points and many VM, I would recommend Veeam or Zerto.


    Computer Hardware

Works well, highly recommend

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, does what it's supposed to do and does it well.
What do you dislike?
The user interface could use a little work to be simpler.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows backup of live Exchange Server.


    Government Relations

Common Backup Software

  • December 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With the latest Backup Exec backup software, comes the abilities to store your backup to the clouds (AWS). The backup software enables you to backup your VMs and dataset. What I mean by dataset is the grandular backup say c:\folder instead of the VMs.
The wizard that guides you to do the backup is straight forward, but it's really up to you to customize your type of backup (Differential, Incrmental, Full, Schedule, and Email Notification). It's not too complex. The customer service that you get is great. I recommend customer service if you have questions.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like is not being able to create a backup group with the same schedule and place the backup VMs or dataset into them. I would have to create each backup hosts individually which is awful. The previous versions, I forget which one, had the ability too. I don't understand why it was taken out. In addition, backup is not deduplicated at the block or file level. I have proven this point to the customer service and they verified that it wasn't even though the product says it is deduplicated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Finding a backup software that can allow for backup for a fraction of the cost of a more robust application. The costs of saving is money. That's why we have it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If the company wants to save money with a backup software, get Backup Exec. However, there's a price for the low cost. That price is recovery of your data. It will take time to recover and backup your large data.


    Hospital & Health Care

Inexpensive Backup Software

  • November 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's designed for small data Backup and Recovery. With that, it saves you money on a backup software. I also like that you can now integrate AWS as a Target. It's fairly easy to use Backup software. The support you get is A+.
What do you dislike?
I do wish that the reports interface can be improved. It's too complicated for me to customize reports. Almost every reports that I have to collect data needs the vendor to support me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problem is having a low cost backup software to provide DR of data. The benefits is having to restore data when needed without paying so much for a backup software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for small data size backup.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

BackupExec used in 18 locations

  • October 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use and configure. The graphical interface is attractive and intuitive
What do you dislike?
Nothing relevant. In most cases, there are only hardware-related issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it to back up various servers including SharePoint 2010 & 2013 farms.
The ability to perform granular restore is many times useful.


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Clunky retrieval of files

  • October 04, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is fairly straight forward and easy to understand and navigate
What do you dislike?
The retrieval process is slow and unreliable
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote file servers being backed up to a central location. Provides us with a single location for all of our backups that are then replicated to another location.


    Chase S.

Reliable but was missing some key features.

  • October 04, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Exchange, SQL backups and file level backups.
What do you dislike?
Complete restores were difficult and time consuming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Disaster Recovery.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although it has been a few years since I used the product, restores were difficult to perform.


    Information Technology and Services

Backup Exec by Veritas - Reliable business backup

  • October 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Backup Exec is established and reliable. It can backup servers, NAS devices, VMWare, Hyper-V and a host of other data types. These include SQL databases, Echange servers and much more. Adding a device to the list of devices that can be backed up is pretty much straigh forward, as is a device to backup data to. And now, with cloud backup, data can immediately be backed up off site as often as you like.
What do you dislike?
The interface can be slow at times. It used to be much easier to create smaller backup jobs that you put together in larger ones but this functionality was strangely remvoed in later versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data is backed up and can be secured off site with eithet tapes, removed hard disks now in the cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Test backup and restore operations from as many different types of media as you can.


    Utilities

Backup Exec review

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good way to use as a secondary backup medium, easy to store tapes offsite
What do you dislike?
Tape reliability, other systems are more secure, reliable than tape
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use backup exec as a secondary method of backing up crucial data in case primary is unavailable in a disaster situation


    Marketing and Advertising

Good functionality, with good interface in recent versions

  • September 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of checking for running jobs, and also job histories, to see times for backups and restores.
What do you dislike?
For older versions, it was difficult to quickly see a list of server being backed-up.
Sometimes at least with older versions, you need to restart Backup exec, to verify you have suspended or unsuspended the job queue correctly, for example when the server needs to be patched.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It solves the need for a backup solution for Windows and Linux servers.
Benefits: Reliable backups when prerequisites are met, and good feedback on different statuses for backups themselves.