Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 22

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

123 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Backup Exec

  • May 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Been around for several years, easy to use as it hasnt changed much in a very long time
What do you dislike?
Antiquated solution, doesn't offer true BDR capabilities
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy local to disk backups


    Ehsan G.

very flexible tool

  • April 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it's agents very complete and compatible with all os.
it's ui is easy for me and email notifications very beauty for my costumers
support of new technology's in update version is very good for me
What do you dislike?
main dashboard graphical view not good
this page not view cpu , network , storage performances
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
backup of my data center very critical point
in this data center 40 server with many virtualling system and many vm's 7 24 work and data lost is a restrict for my job.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Work by backupexec and have a good sleep


    Emily S.

Solid product. Purchase verification process can be improved

  • April 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Flexible restore options. Restore speed has been improved. Interface is friendlier. Loved the Instant Recovery Of VMs feature in the latest edition.
What do you dislike?
Instruction, especially the initial setup instruction, was poorly written. There was a lot of confusion to begin with between Sysmantec and Veritas. Tech support was slow to respond. That process can definitely be improved. Don't like the changes they create every year. Adding new features is understandable, but significant changes including installation process only adds to burden of re-learning.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data backup to tape on daily basis. As an organization that hosts PHI, especially PHI from research studies, it is important to have data backup that's time point based.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Streamline any process between Sysmantec and Veritas. Simplified tech support process.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Easy to Use

  • April 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very user-friendly and easy to learn
What do you dislike?
it usually take some time to become operational
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Do the regular backup of our system. Restoring the required files is very easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very user-friendly and easy to use software


    Marketing and Advertising

Backup software for the old school

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Backup exec provides good support for legacy devices, tape drives, and physical servers
What do you dislike?
Virtual server support is lacking. While virtual-based backups are possible, Veeam is much quicker and more reliable for backups in a virtual environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used Backup Exec for many years before recently switching to Veeam. Backup exec worked admirably for many years, but once we switched to a VMWare environment, it lost many of its benefits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have older devices you are still supporting and multiple physical servers, it would be a good option. If virtual, then look elsewhere.


    Paper & Forest Products

Backup Exec Review

  • March 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, easy to add servers. It works well with VMware, SQL and other applications
What do you dislike?
reporting is limited, it can be difficult finding a job once created
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
data recovery and disaster recovery
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make sure that you size your backup environment accordingly and also decide how you want to perform the backups (VM based, file level etc)


    Medical Practice

Exceptional and dependable

  • March 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The backups was very simple and easy to complete. The whole process was simple.
What do you dislike?
I found it a hassle to have to change the tape everyday
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I don't have any business problems. The benefits derived from using VERITAS it was cost effective at the time we were using it.


    Matthew B.

The old gold standard for backups is back

  • March 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed and flexibility in the restore options - granular or whole virtual drive. Single email message, whole mailbox, or whole database. The have streamline the product line, and just kept the technologies and features that work the best - all under the trusted Backup Exec name.
What do you dislike?
If you are unfamiliar with Backup Exec, there is some learning to be had here to get it working properly. However, if you have used Backup Exec before (either vintage or Symantec branded), the interfaces and methodology is very familiar.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business continuity and data protection. Server had a bad day? Don't let it ruin your day, restore the whole server quickly. Because it ties into the hypervisor for backups, the speed of recovery is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a rock solid backup solutions, Veritas Backup Exec is a great option. You can utilized SAN/NAS boxes for near-line backup storage, and you can do any number of off site options with it. It really is the whole package.


    Kevin S.

Backup Exec 16

  • March 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
New redesigned interface is much better than previous product. Also nice to finally see Veritas branding. The full features of complete VM recovery are a nice addition that Veritas has made recently. This software gives us the capability to perform all necessary backups to disk in a period of less than 24 hours. The system than dumps this backups off of disk to tape for offsite storage. Backup Exec allows multiple jobs to be running at one time.
What do you dislike?
Support is still lacking. I have found that anytime I am needing to really make progress on support I have to get a technical lead on the phone. Being in IT I know the routine of going through the basics but sometimes it is overwhelming. They do have a quick turnaround on basic support if the issue does not have to be sent to a engineer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use this software to back up our complete server infrastructure. This software gives us the capability to perform all necessary backups to disk in a period of less than 24 hours. The system than dumps this backups off of disk to tape for offsite storage. Backup Exec allows multiple jobs to be running at one time.


    Information Technology and Services

Backup Exec

  • March 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Backup exec offers backup capabilities for virtual machines, cloud, and tape with a friendly user interface and very detailed notifications of errors or updates.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the updates can be very annoying and hard to complete.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to backup multiple servers through one centralized piece of software and also being able to quickly restore very quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Backup exec is a great piece of software for backing up servers granted no backup solution is perfect but it works for my organization.