Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

387 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Samer B.

Fast, scalable and easy to use

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use , simplicity, and blazing speed
What do you dislike?
It cannot be used for mission-critical application where data is very sensitive, as the mongodb developers recommend against doing that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Store a huge set of user data. It has helped me scale up my business in ways that aren't possible with traditional DBMS


    Oded S.

Great noSQL product. Installation is less great.

  • April 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of the engine, the scalability of it, sharding and the support of the various programming languages.
What do you dislike?
Installation is horrible. Too many machines roles in the setup. Map Reduce doesn't work as expected and is missing reliability (even from mongoDB team themselves)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Saving big data and querying it. Data that is coming in very fast from our applications, should be easily stored and fetched. Mongo solves this. Unlike couchbase, querying the data is easy and working nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want an easy to integrate nosql product, json based, with querying capabilities, and you don't care about long installations, this is the product for you.


    Joshua A.

MongoDB is awesome at what it does!

  • April 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about MongoDB is that it is simple and fast. There isn't a huge barrier to entry like with RDBMS's. When I first started working as a MSSQL developer, I would go home with my brain spinning for months wrapping my head around all the concepts and challenges. With MongoDB, within the first week I was like wow, I love this, it just makes sense.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the .NET driver implementation, it could use a rework in my opinion. You have to use tons of classes to build up your queries. It would be great if it took advantage of parameterized strings and more closely followed the pattern of the mongo shell.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm storing data for social analytics and writing an intranet that uses MongoDB as it's data store. It has been very beneficial to have a datastore that stores my javascript documents in the same basic format instead of having to normalize and denormalize everything to get it in and out of MSSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend taking the free M101DEV class they offer, it will give you a great introduction to MongoDB so you can make an informed decision. MongoDB is not a one solution for all product, so understanding it's purpose will help you from using it in the wrong context and really regretting it. When used for its intended purpose it is fantastic however.


    Mahesh G.

Good for starters and heavy read applications

  • March 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to start with. The console commands are javascript based and a library for every major language officially supported. Great documentation for starters.

Secondary indexes are very useful for query optimization.

The self balancing and sharding out of the box is great for people wanting to write a scalable application based on a datastore without needing to know a lot about database scaling.
What do you dislike?
On a write heavy load, mongo does not perform that well. Or well at all. The self balancing sharding kind of breaks down. Mongo keeps on trying to auto balance in the back ground but fails because of heavy write load.

Also the default _id field is used extensively for sharding internally so overriding that field causes all sort of scaling issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used mongo as a data warehouse and as a event storage system. One is a read heavy usage, other one is write heavy. The big pro is how easy and quick it is to setup and start using. Con is definitely it's inability to scale with write heavy load.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your application is read heavy, mongo is a great to get going. If it's write heavy, I would do some load testing before I go with mongo in production


    Ijem O.

DB Developer's dream

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Working with data in a manner that leverages my JavaScript know-how
What do you dislike?
Maybe the absence of some sort of GUI platform
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data persistence in apps, data scraping and data visualization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try MongoDB today! They have superb guides and documentation to walk you through most business and real world use cases.


    Rolly Maulana A.

Using for research in my Campus

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to qery and its performance is the best
What do you dislike?
not listed in linux repositoy, like debian or ubuntu repositry or rhel or centos repository
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
for sms gateway and system log. its so lighty.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
good for system log in your server adminsitration,its like use log file but in dbms


    Computer Software

I'm a student, iOS, and full-stack web developer.

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, efficient and easy to use. It's also reliable and easily works with my favourite frameworks like Rails and Meteor. There a lot of other NoSQL solutions but MongoDB is one of the fastest growing solution.
What do you dislike?
The syntax can be somewhat confusing when digging deep database problems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm a founder of an e-commerce website.


    Jean Paul R.

Non relational database MongoDB for multiple purposes

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since this is a non relational database it offers a different approach for storing data. It's a whole different world.

This db can be used for cache layers in large scalable systems. Can be used as well as an alternative database for web systems. In my personal experience I have used it and have seen it being used for large mobile apps.
What do you dislike?
The transition from relational databases to non relational like mongo can be hard sometimes, but once you get used, a learning curve that lasts about 1 month you will love it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To handle large amounts of data this db is a good option.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to scale a system, or store large amounts of data, this is a good option.


    Jony C.

Excellent Document DB

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to get started, with very simple tuning you can get good performance.
Designing the data model is pretty straight forward - match the document structures to your find patterns and you'l be fine.
What do you dislike?
default configurations may lead to data loss - not something you want to find out in Production.
We've had incidents were data was lost or corrupted due to the way the internal replication works.

These are real "corner-cases" but if you need 100% guaranty of your data it's an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our product mainly uses Mongo to store "resources" - mostly things that can be fetched by IDs.
mongo is also used as a staging area due to it's flexibility and performance.

Last but not least, Mongo stores our Audit information.

Mongo did all of the above without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is a very simple to use yet very powerful document DB.

It's main powers are at the 2 ends:
- the very simple use cases: configuration management etc.
- the very large scale use-cases, for when a single machine is simply not good enough.

Since mongo can scale tremendously with very little effort and gives good performance it's definitely worth considering.

One thing to note here is that most developers and many DBAs are used to thinking in a relational model and might find Mongo to be lacking in features such as JOINS and might even try to implement it on the application side.
- it's not directly related to Mongo as a product but to the fact that it might take an extra effort to make the mind switch to work in a way which is more optimal to Mongo.


    Military

Used MongoDB for pretty small production usage - 1,200 documents at max.

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best things in MongoDB is the schema-less db - it helps move forward rapidly in prototypes.
What do you dislike?
The query language is really hard to use, I would like it to be easier to query nested structures (such deep arrays or deep properties), I want to it to be intitutive like sql for data exploration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems I am trying to solve are simple CRUD for storing metadata on instances.