Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

420 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    😾 Jean Paul R.

Non relational database MongoDB for multiple purposes

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since this is a non relational database it offers a different approach for storing data. It's a whole different world.

This db can be used for cache layers in large scalable systems. Can be used as well as an alternative database for web systems. In my personal experience I have used it and have seen it being used for large mobile apps.
What do you dislike?
The transition from relational databases to non relational like mongo can be hard sometimes, but once you get used, a learning curve that lasts about 1 month you will love it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To handle large amounts of data this db is a good option.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to scale a system, or store large amounts of data, this is a good option.


    Rolly Maulana A.

Using for research in my Campus

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to qery and its performance is the best
What do you dislike?
not listed in linux repositoy, like debian or ubuntu repositry or rhel or centos repository
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
for sms gateway and system log. its so lighty.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
good for system log in your server adminsitration,its like use log file but in dbms


    Ijem O.

DB Developer's dream

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Working with data in a manner that leverages my JavaScript know-how
What do you dislike?
Maybe the absence of some sort of GUI platform
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data persistence in apps, data scraping and data visualization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try MongoDB today! They have superb guides and documentation to walk you through most business and real world use cases.


    Oded S.

Great noSQL product. Installation is less great.

  • April 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of the engine, the scalability of it, sharding and the support of the various programming languages.
What do you dislike?
Installation is horrible. Too many machines roles in the setup. Map Reduce doesn't work as expected and is missing reliability (even from mongoDB team themselves)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Saving big data and querying it. Data that is coming in very fast from our applications, should be easily stored and fetched. Mongo solves this. Unlike couchbase, querying the data is easy and working nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want an easy to integrate nosql product, json based, with querying capabilities, and you don't care about long installations, this is the product for you.


    Mahesh G.

Good for starters and heavy read applications

  • April 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to start with. The console commands are javascript based and a library for every major language officially supported. Great documentation for starters.

Secondary indexes are very useful for query optimization.

The self balancing and sharding out of the box is great for people wanting to write a scalable application based on a datastore without needing to know a lot about database scaling.
What do you dislike?
On a write heavy load, mongo does not perform that well. Or well at all. The self balancing sharding kind of breaks down. Mongo keeps on trying to auto balance in the back ground but fails because of heavy write load.

Also the default _id field is used extensively for sharding internally so overriding that field causes all sort of scaling issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used mongo as a data warehouse and as a event storage system. One is a read heavy usage, other one is write heavy. The big pro is how easy and quick it is to setup and start using. Con is definitely it's inability to scale with write heavy load.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your application is read heavy, mongo is a great to get going. If it's write heavy, I would do some load testing before I go with mongo in production


    Joshua A.

MongoDB is awesome at what it does!

  • April 02, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about MongoDB is that it is simple and fast. There isn't a huge barrier to entry like with RDBMS's. When I first started working as a MSSQL developer, I would go home with my brain spinning for months wrapping my head around all the concepts and challenges. With MongoDB, within the first week I was like wow, I love this, it just makes sense.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the .NET driver implementation, it could use a rework in my opinion. You have to use tons of classes to build up your queries. It would be great if it took advantage of parameterized strings and more closely followed the pattern of the mongo shell.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm storing data for social analytics and writing an intranet that uses MongoDB as it's data store. It has been very beneficial to have a datastore that stores my javascript documents in the same basic format instead of having to normalize and denormalize everything to get it in and out of MSSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend taking the free M101DEV class they offer, it will give you a great introduction to MongoDB so you can make an informed decision. MongoDB is not a one solution for all product, so understanding it's purpose will help you from using it in the wrong context and really regretting it. When used for its intended purpose it is fantastic however.


    Michael G.

MongoDB is great for unstructured data

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of operations, the ease of development and how well it fit into our agile IT org and our co timeous delivery model.
What do you dislike?
Non-ACID compliant which has limited MongoDB use cases that might have otherwise fit.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data from multiple sources that is slightly different, in a relational DB, the data model would become unwieldy quiet fast, but MongoDB was not o my more performant, but also allowed us to realize storage savings through compression.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that your use case fits. Don't try to put a square peg in a round hole. Know your data, if it's relational, you should go with a relational DB, it will be better in the long run.


    Computer Software

I'm a student, iOS, and full-stack web developer.

  • March 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, efficient and easy to use. It's also reliable and easily works with my favourite frameworks like Rails and Meteor. There a lot of other NoSQL solutions but MongoDB is one of the fastest growing solution.
What do you dislike?
The syntax can be somewhat confusing when digging deep database problems
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm a founder of an e-commerce website.


    Marc Antuan E.

Ease of use

  • March 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JSON like usage. Just storing/retrieving JSONs is huge for our SPA, as it just stores the objects from the front end straight to the database and back.
What do you dislike?
Lack of relationships. Comming from a RDBMS world is hard to envision everything as isolated objects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Faster response times
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Forget about relationships


    E-Learning

Great DB for start up!!!

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, retrieval speed, don't use contrast colors for gui
What do you dislike?
Make it more user friendly by using more gui
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quicker retrieval