Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 15

Amazon Web Services | v20220304

Linux/Unix, Other 15 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Abdul G.

very light server

  • January 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
we are using as storage and also install database for reporting branch wise we are using as a VNC remote desktop very smoothly running no need high hardware required just simple install on Simple PC we are very happy to use it
What do you dislike?
little bit work for desktop GUI for better otherwise everything is very good no need to change just desktop looks not new same to old little bit graphic to improve
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have cost saving in remote desktop just install VNC rpm and create session separated working other is very light software no need to extra hardware it is running on Desktop PC
Recommendations to others considering the product:
please use this very light no need to extra hardware just install on Desktop PC running very fine


    Gabriela G.

Linux server

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like access to different clouds over the Internet, distributing loads in Cluster configuration on the server and local network.
What do you dislike?
More affordable prices for small businesses and third-party management applications.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Development of applications and workloads in server configured Cluster by the local network.


    Education Management

I've been using SLES for >7 years, never had any problems with it

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a stable enterprise environment.
The support is easy to reach, fast and helpfull.
Patches are released regulary and very fast.
When installing SAP products, we feel they beat the competitors.
There's a great community behind suse.
There's ample documentation available.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the documentation can be a work in progress. I've noticed this with some autoyast documentation that is sometimes a tad bit outdated.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We run our complete SAP landscape on suse linux enterprise server, suse is a preferred SAP partner and it shows!
If you follow SAP and SUSE's manual, the installation of SAP products is a breeze.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to read up on all versions, modules and extensions so you buy exactly the package you need... If managing bigger clusters, take a look at suse manager aswell!


    Education Management

Recommend Suse Linux

  • November 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The facility of install and configure, speedily many kinds of services or package and gui is friendly
What do you dislike?
the version some packages was some old or didn't have the last
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The implement web service for testing, and the benefits of save of time in implementation


    Financial Services

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server Review

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) is an enterprise-grade Operating system validated for running various enterprise applications.

It is widely available On-premise, on various clouds (AWS, Azure, GCP, IBM etc.), edge computing.

It is preferred Operating system for various enterprise applications like mainframe modernization, SAP.

It is open source, easy to modify, customize for various needs and security requirements.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server can have a longer support cycle and a more secured kernel.

It can have be more cost effective for test and PoC use cases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For migrating on-premises workloads to the cloud, we are using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for various applications.

For greenfield workload deployments as well, we choose SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for production-grade workloads.

Using pay as you go model on Clouds for quick testing and PoCs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One of the leading operating system for production-grade workloads. Easy to work with.


    Hospital & Health Care

Very good for SAP SYSTEMS

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best administration for SAP systems which is very good
What do you dislike?
Gui based is the main drawback of the Suse system
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
So many business benefits..like easy to administration


    Telecommunications

Excellent Quality, Stability and Performance

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked this system for the stability, performance, and UI it offers compared to competitors. The system is simple and the interface is very user-friendly. Suse is best for the Community rules, it's an easy-to-install software, and it's excellent out of the box experience.
What do you dislike?
The incompatibility with Office and other Windows programs. Rather than this everything else is on TOP.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security, stability, and also performance. It uses the resources very efficiently and we used the SUSE® Linux Enterprise High Availability Extension and never had a downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend it as it is very stable and had a great performance.


    Government Administration

SLES

  • August 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the robustness and ease of use of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server. The support is very good and also the documentation.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Lineux Enterprise Server solves my issues, I don't have any particular thing that I dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for several things, containers, web applications and databases for example.


    Automotive

If you are going to use a Linux operating system, let it be SLES.

  • December 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you need an environment that requires uninterruptedness, it will be very useful for you to use suse enterprise. If you have too many servers, you can use it with susemanager to manage it very easily.
What do you dislike?
The prices are expensive. Especially because they are released very often, they want a lot of money from the versions that enter LTSS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Continuity and management of Linux servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest you prefer this over other distributions


    Maximiliano P.

A robust enterprise linux distribution

  • June 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME experience for GUI is excellent. Also the zypper repositories management is straight forward. I've used it for MicroStrategy server and it was a good experience overall. SUSE joined the openstack project. It is healthy to have another player on GNU Opensource disputing the throne of Redhat. Using Redhat content delivery is also a great feature.
What do you dislike?
If you are more familiar with RedHat/CentOS you find some annoying differences that you need to get used to (E.G. apache2 vs httpd). Also the GUI experience is resource intensive. But overall no big complaints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've implemented MicroStrategy Intelligence Server, Apache & Tomcat with mod_jk and a custom JSTL Based app for authentication againts Teradata sources. We implemented multiple environments for dev, prod, uat, etc on virtual servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No advise, but personally I'd rather work with Red Hat.