Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Minimal Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - Bionic

Canonical Group Limited | Minimal Ubuntu 18.04 20210908

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

972 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pronay S.

Best Linux Distro For Home, Media Consumption, Work, Workstation and Server.

  • September 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is one of the best Distro that I liked after Debian. However both operating systems I am using on my system alongside Windows and on my VPS servers. There are many things that I truly loved, like the easiest documentation of every part of Ubuntu available on the Internet, even one of the biggest forums is "AskUbuntu" I love it. Awesome community support, and vast repository of applications. Seamless user interface with GNOME, KDE and others. Seamless work as Windows Subsystem of Linux (WSL) and even with Hyper-V. As a web developer whenever I work for any organization or client, usually use Ubuntu or Debian server, and all employee recommend it to use it. Because it is very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is an open-source project, and it works with almost every type of system. But sometimes finding proprietary software for hardware on Ubuntu could be difficult even in other Linux distro. Overall It is amazing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating and Managing a Virtual Private Server is not an easy task but on Ubuntu Server, anyone can manage, who knows some command line trick and the Ubuntu forum. I learn creating Web server and deploying web app by myself using Ubuntu, and all the necessary information are available on the internet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For learning about Linux then use Ubuntu. Want to be a web developer or server manager or network engineer then definitely use Ubuntu.


    Krishna Prasad J.

Why Use Ubuntu?

  • September 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
open source and best GUI based OS, user friendly and easy to use for general people
What do you dislike?
Sometimes knowledge of command is also needed to install some software, which might be difficult for some people
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using daily used software like libre office, programming like java, talend , databases, etc..


    Information Technology and Services

Best OS for personal and official use

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu server OS is a complete open-source OS, and it has a significant market share in the world.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing much that I can tell about dislikes about Ubuntu. It is pretty good for official use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security, economical, Free OS for all our web applications.


    Shivam R.

Ubuntu

  • September 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gives a unique Open source environment, where one can play around accordingly.
What do you dislike?
Not all the software are available for Ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building Android Applications and Spring Boot projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for an OS that is easy to use and best to work on Open source projects and its easily customizable.


    Information Technology and Services

Great for free server with lot of uses

  • September 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free to use and great to have as a linux server
What do you dislike?
Not able to run programs that are meant for windows os unless you are using something like wine but can still have issues with trying to configure and load windows software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is great to have access to for those times you have to run something from a linux server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Even though you can use alternatives to run windows os software it may not always work as planned


    Mridul S.

Best os for desktop

  • September 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an operating system for your application that allows you to run all your applications and software on a hardware pc.
ubuntu allows you terminal for commands that can directly operate on the operating system command-line interface help user also to get deep understanding how stuff works under the operating system.
What do you dislike?
ubuntu can have high learning curve with respect to window and macos
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
very useful for developers and other people who want to use command-line interface, testing software, development work along with network and kernel-level access on their pc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ubuntu has high learning it's a distribution of Linux operating system.
hence knowledge of Linux is important and nessacery for using ubuntu.


    Thomas R.

Why Ubuntu and not Windows

  • September 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an easy to use linux operating system that will help teach you the basics of linux and how to monitor your network
What do you dislike?
Can be confusing when installing software but there are a lot of great youtube videos on this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network traffic monitoring. Low overhead on the network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your research and see if this is right for you.


    Julio Guillermo A.

Worth and cheap

  • September 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very versatile and free operating system.
What do you dislike?
It could have better features like its sister operating systems. But it's still pretty good for the end-user.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working in software development and the console and commands are very useful for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You have to pay attention to its characteristics to know if it is really what you are looking for. There are other more secure or more permissive operating systems. It all depends on what you need.


    Vansh A.

Ubuntu- Best OS.

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best advantage is that it is free. You can easily update or customize as required.No need for antivirus as it is more secure than other OS. You can either use the command line or user interfaces.
What do you dislike?
It is not suitable for gaming purposes. We need to learn how to operate ubuntu as it is not easy. It does not have a wide variety of applications or functionalities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for anything. I use it for writing code, shopping, streaming, browsing. I also use it for testing and application designing. I use it on a daily basis to test the products . We use it to run everything that we have at the moment.


    Shirshek S.

Ubuntu - Lightweight OS & Highly Recommended

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The installation process of ubuntu is very easy and simple to understand. It has wide support from the community for any issue. There is no need for antivirus.
You can use ubuntu from the terminal or from a variety of interfaces.
What do you dislike?
It is somewhat difficult to understand than windows. It is difficult for newcomers to learn. The app store barely works; it could be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I installed ubuntu from the very first day of the training. The development has been made easy and smooth with the help of ubuntu.Development in windows is not much smooth.