Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for SAP with HA and US

Amazon Web Services | 7.6 v1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4/7.5/7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

221 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marius P.

We are the Premier Red Hat partner in Romania.

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a rock solid Linux operating environment.
What do you dislike?
Pricing is starting to be an issue.

There is not dtrace for linux.

There is no ZFS for linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Many problems are solved with RHEL ranging from the research institutions doing HPC to banking and financials.


    Yehuda K.

Responsive Support but package age is sometimes noticable

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support is the best. We had an obscure problem with CUPS and RH support jumped right into it and patched it. They even included us in the discussion between the developers of the best way to handle the problem, so we knew what was going on.
What do you dislike?
I get that so much of the stability of enterprise distributions comes from locking down the packages available from the system repos, but it really hurts interoperability between systems with different versions. Specifically, we have NFS mounted home directories and RHEL 7 systems use a newer version of Git than RHEL 5 systems and the git config files are not backward compatible, so we had a lot of users complain about errors when they used git as we upgraded machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is great to run Linux servers with 1st class support for any issues that come up. We keep things simple, so any problems are usually due to actual bugs and when we send reports in, RH fixes them pretty quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We get academic pricing, so I honestly don't know the real-world cost, but it is probably worth it for mission critical systems.


    Nagarjuna Y.

RHEL - Best Linux Operating System for Enterprise Users

  • January 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. From RHEL 7 their OS run on everything, from the server in the back-room, to datacenters and the cloud there are no limitations compared to other vendors this possible because of apps on RHEL 7 run independently from the underlying operating system and from one another this enables me to move my Dockerized apps from a container on bare-metal to a virtual machine to a cloud as needed without limitations.
2. Redhat Linux has every feature which are required for the enterprise users after the release of Docker with in days Red Hat got partnered with Docker which is quite good thing.
3. Top-notch Support.
4. Integration with Satellite make the management quite easy
What do you dislike?
1. While all the other Linux distributions are free it is quite difficult to pay some bucks from your pockets specially for startups if it is a enterprise then there is no worry though CentOS (Red Hat's Open Source Version of Linux)is opensource and is available to use for free CentOS lacks behind for few weeks in case of features.
2.Licensing is the most frustrating thing there is no proper documentation and RHEL is quite expensive too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operating System for our mobile back-end,Satellite integration made my life easier for managing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Redhat Linux only for users who wants their servers to be highly available,fault tolerant with automatic recovery otherwise it is better go with CentOS which is also a Red Hat OS which is an opensource version.


    Arvind K.

PLM Consultant

  • December 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We normally suggest Red hat linux as the platform for the plm implementations.. as this is really a secured way to manage servers
What do you dislike?
I do not have any negative points. I really suggest red had enterprise version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its a stabilized version, where snapshots are more feasible and tuning of the systems are more easier too.


    Savita S.

Red hat rocks

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red hat Linux performance is good and it is highly scalable.
The price and upgrades are also very reasonable. Real time patches can be applied.
Don't have to wait for bug fixes for long. It can support 64 and more CPUS and 100 GB or more memory, as wells as supports larger Storage area networks (SAN).
What do you dislike?
There is no one standard edition for Red hat Linux like windows and HP.
There is no immediate help for because you will have to wait for someone to write a response rather than calling a hot line number.
Blu ray disks are not available to played using Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using red hat Linux for our databases, multiple db's are also on one red hat server which we are using for our various applications. We also use VMware virtual systems on our systems with RHEL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a good performance, large scalable operating system


    Computer Software

Stable system suitable for enterprise OS needs

  • December 20, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is very stable, and Red Hat is extraordinary in applying security patches early and quickly. It has additional packages from Fedora's EPEL, and has a large selection of packages itself as well. Unlike some other systems such as Ubuntu, it has a large amount of software that you will need from day-to-day in running your large scalable systems, but it is also stable and does not require large amounts of modifications to acquire tools you may need.

Red Hat also provides great product support.
What do you dislike?
RHEL currently has a rather large cost, which may be offputting to some people. However, the support Red Hat provides often outweighs these downsides.

Additionally, RHEL sacrifices the latest gadgets in exchange for stability. Hence, many new releases of software may not be instantly available in RHEL, however, this helps maintain the stability and lack of breaking changes that RHEL provides.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL is an enterprise Linux distribution. When I choose such a distribution, I want it to be stable, quick, and lightweight. RHEL gives you this kind of stability and lightweight tooling, which has been helpful in mass-deploying large systems and running them on RHEL. Running my apps on other systems such as Ubuntu would be sacrificing some speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Become familiar with the system first and don't be scared to ask for help on IRC or through their official support systems. You may notice RHEL is very barebones. This causes many beginners to give up and look at other similar products. However, do not let this hold you back. After installing EPEL and configuring your yum repositories to your liking, RHEL becomes as versatile as other systems yet much speedier and much more stable.


    Wholesale

solid and stable

  • December 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
seems much less to administer than windows server and less susceptible to malware for sure
What do you dislike?
the learning curve for an old windows guy to linux is hard so the GUI in Red Hat is really handy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we have been running our ERP system on RH Linux for several years. The administrative overhead is much less so cost of ownership is down from windows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make sure you have in house LINUX expertise or be prepared to hire a third party who does


    Andrew R.

The best for a reason.

  • July 25, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support is top notch. Everything just works, the platform is rock solid stable. Integration with Satellite makes management a breeze.
What do you dislike?
Its relatively expensive, and it can be hard to justify the cost when Linux is usually free. The subscription visualization licenses were very frustrating to implement. Virtual host licenses weren't well documented, so licensing went from a really easy process to extremely painful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it to host web, database and application servers. I have been able to manage many more VMs than I normally would on account of the stability and Satellite, so we didnt need to hire anyone else.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Decide if you have enough guests to work with the virtual licensing, or if ad-hoc is better. RHEL is also not known for bleeding edge, theyre known for stability so if you want bleeding edge you should probably look elsewhere.


    Christopher R.

The Best Enterprise Linux

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat's support is very good. It's an extremely stable OS, and runs many of the servers in our enterprise. As a Linux/Unix Administrator I'm very happy with the product.
What do you dislike?
Red Hat tends to be behind on innovation compared to Oracle Solaris. For instance, they just recently introduced containers in Red Hat 7 which had already exited for many years on Solaris. I would also like to see ZFS come to Red Hat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Red Hat is excellent for running mission critical applications. Some of our most critical systems are Red Hat based.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Red Hat is an excellent choice for running Linux based servers. It has the largest market share, so that means you'll find many experienced administrators who can support it. It most cases it's a much better solution than running Windows based servers.


    Information Technology and Services

RHEL Linux

  • November 19, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of install and support. Good administration tools
What do you dislike?
Licenses tough to manage, support sometimes takes a long time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Engineering applications and virtualization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
keep track of your licenses