Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for SAP with HA and US

Amazon Web Services | 7.6 v1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4/7.5/7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

269 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jason B.

Solid foundation for enterprise apps

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The OS is extremely stable.
Reboots are pretty rare, usually necessitated by running applications or the JVM (no fault of the OS really).
We have setup authentication against a windows Active Directory, which is convenient in a mixed environment.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike about RedHat. Generally (for all Linux) the command-line centric interface is a double edge sword, powerful yet potentially difficult for the novice SysAdmin.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We just need a rock solid OS to run enterprise applications, mostly within a Java VM.
Red Hat does this very well. It just works and works, which is what we need in an OS.


    Research

Great solution for group computation

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has an easy to operate interface, and it can be installed on many machines.
What do you dislike?
Not everyone has intuition for linux and this tends to lead to a high learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It solves the need for united computation. It has realized such. This is to run particular software that is specifically run off the command line.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a safe and reliable operating system and it runs smoothly on many machines. The only downside is the learning curve.


    Broadcast Media

Redhat Linux

  • October 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Operating system is widely used in every aspect of IT. Some aspects in my organizations are PABX installation (Asterick, Elastic, FreePBX). Installation steps are quite easy. The Operating system is easy to deploy and extremely fast. Also you can configure any settings either on a GUI or CLI or the terminal.

Red hat OS is a very secure OS and not so prone to viruses. Red Hat operates on a professional open-source business model based on open code, development within a community, professional quality assurance, and subscription-based customer support. They produce open-source code so that more programmers can make further adaptations and improvements.

Red Hat sells subscriptions for the support, training, and integration services that help customers in using their open-source software products. Customers pay one set price for unlimited access to services such as Red Hat Network and up to 24/7 support.
What do you dislike?
It is not user friendly as compared to windows OS versions. Sometimes might need to be worked on the CLI rather than the GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been able to develop better security on our applications, PABX solutions run effectively on our outbound Campaigns. My company presently uses a CRM solution which runs on Linux Red hat, apache and SQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For Implementation of solid PABX systems such as Elastic and asterisk Free PABX, I would these recommend Linux Operating systems


    Jeffrey T.

RedHat Enterprise Linux is a great resource for support for RedHat Linux

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The online support resources are very good
What do you dislike?
We use the less expensive Academic version, so there is only community support, which is not always as helpful as a live person for certain problems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We rely on RedHat Linux for our group, so this product allows us to solve many issues we have with their support offering. Their support is substantially better than CentOS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need support, particularly for complex environments, RHEL is the way to go. However, if you need the latest, cutting edge updates, you may want Fedora. RHEL is usually behind on kernel versions and software packages. It really is mean for Enterprise; those locations that want stability over latest Linux updates.


    Administrator in Information Technology and Services

Awesome and robust

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the focus on containerization. A plus is definetely security and the development speed. Also the registration process is easy compared to e.g. SUSE especially for containers.
Red Hat is going the right way with the focus on containerization and scalability.
What do you dislike?
The repo policy is sometimes confusing and to get up to date programs can be annoying. For example the php shipped is outdated and you have to extra repositories to get an up to date version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run tests for deployments of our Software (owncloud) and RedHat is the go to vendor when it comes to scalability, trust and reliability. It is used widely through our customer base and is well known and trustworthy all the way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Awesome product and ease of registration for enterprise ready containers.


    Information Technology and Services

Linux awesome experience

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Features, the support from community and the low TCO.
What do you dislike?
Not much UI, recently seeing more security threats
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
using to support enterprise wide systems. Lower TCO, cost of maintenance is low. Good community support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Few yrs back I discounted this product for enterprise solutions. But now-a-days the product is robust and one of the leaders.


    Government Administration

Open OS with security

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CLI and wide range of commands to do your job, scripting ablity
What do you dislike?
it lacks the GUI power to support users with no or less knowledge of cli
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
print-server, DNS servers, DHCP servers and file servers


    Cyrano R.

RedHat Enterprise Linux on education area

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I feel very confident to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux in my projects, in my opinion it is one of the most stable Linux distribution available on the marketing, the support also is a strong point they are very focused to solve the problem in the less time possible, but the key point to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) it is the support compatibility with another vendors in Hardware and Software area, this is very important to have the all solutions supported in a single project.
What do you dislike?
The Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) haven't many points that I dislike, unless the cost, because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) in my opinion it is the most expensive Linux operations system distribution available on the market, I understand that it is leader, but in some case I was forced to select a non commercial distribution CentOS that it is very close to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some time ago, I was adept of Debian distribution, but I had some problem with HBA drivers and storage support, I solved this problem when I adopted the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) to this servers, and I really liked to move from Debian to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) based on the stability, support from hardware manufactures and compatibility matrix.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think that Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) is on the right path, I am just concerned about the effective costs, because in some cases I need to select a product with no support because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) doesn't fit on the budget.


    Guruprasad M.

Useful operating system for developers

  • October 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, easy to use, virus free & reliable
What do you dislike?
Exploring through folders, opens multiple screens when I try to open any folder
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
cost effective, easy to install & beneficial for developers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will recommend RedHat Enterprise Linux as it is cost effective, easy to use & most of the enterprises using this OS


    Information Technology and Services

Love/Hate Relationship

  • September 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Secure system that's easy to use and monitor
What do you dislike?
Sometimes hard to get packages when developing for newer technologies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud based servers for hosting services/microservices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure the packages and libraries you want on the system are available. Sometimes takes time to make it into the package manager.