Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for SAP with HA and US

Amazon Web Services | 7.6 v1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4/7.5/7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

269 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

RHEL rocks

  • September 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great support and the platform is rock solid. Satellite patch management makes administration for nodes without external access a breeze.
What do you dislike?
It's relatively expensive versus other alternatives
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web, application and database servers.


    Mabel F.

Oracle dba

  • August 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very reliable operating system, easy to increase CPU, memory
What do you dislike?
Patching is not so easy, wish it needs no reboot
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Save money on hardware


    Danielle P.

Great OS for applications

  • August 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, stability, updates are easy
What do you dislike?
User interface lacks but KDE is still helpful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Revenue management, Sales and catering optimization
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a training class and use it often (use it or lose it)


    Computer Software

RedHat for testing Linux driver

  • August 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's Linux, it's not Windows!! Fast setup from distribution every works as it should. Can easily get updates and new software.
What do you dislike?
License is expensive unless you use CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Platform for testing Linux driver
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for Enterprise testing but license is expensive can use CentOS for some of the test machines


    Research

A review from a day to day user of Redhat

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Awesome stability, used for hardware dev. Very innovative and long lasting OS that came with multiple intuitive features.
What do you dislike?
Lack of support and update compared to Ubuntu or other offerings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hardware Dev. REHL was easy to use and came with lots of linux features that made it simpler to navigate.


    Semiconductors

The most stable Linux for Enterprise

  • August 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most stable Linux distribution
Most of our customers have RHEL deployed so we have to make sure our program runs in their machines.
What do you dislike?
Of course the service but right now I'm registered as a developer to maintain the system by myself
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The cross-platform issue. We have to make sure our programs run on all of our customers' machines. The benefit is our PO.


    Michael G.

Solid Linux Distro for Enterprise Use

  • August 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One won't find bleeding edge packages in Redhat Enterprise Linux, instead, only tried and true, rock-solid packages will be encounter. When one's primary goal is to build a server that won't fail, this is a good thing. When problems to occur, Redhat support responds quickly to requests and, at times, sent employees to our worksite to provide assistance.

Redhat Kickstart allows one to script OS and application installations so that consistent builds can be rapidly deployed.
What do you dislike?
When a licenses lapses, one can no longer patch the server that the license is assigned to. This can be problematic in an evironment where procurement can be sporadic and/or delayed. That said, Redhat support is excellent and, when I have encountered this issue, Redhat was happy to issue temporary licenses while we waited for procurement to complete. Licensing, at least in the environment I work in, is done on a server by server basis; it would be nice if it was possible to purchase node level licensing so that unlimited Redhat instances could be stood up in a VMWare cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Redhat allows us to reliably host products such as IBM Websphere and DB2 with the knowledge that if assistance is required, it will be available. When using a free Linux distro, one is left to search for answers on their own, but with Redhat Linux, there is comfort in knowing that help is available if needed.


    Ron G.

I have been an Enterprise Architect and Program Director for five years...

  • August 02, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is robust and yet fairly easy to design a standard configuration for our servers.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, our standard configurations might be a bit of 'overkill' for some applications, but as I said before, it is a robust, reliable operating system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At my current location, we have hundreds of Red Hat servers and are moving them into the Cloud to take advantage of installation and maintenance opportunities the cloud affords.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend getting Red Hat. WHile there might be a slight 'learning curve', the benefits far outweigh the negatives.


    Financial Services

Love RHEL! Great Oracle Solaris replacement

  • July 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ext3 FS, NFSV4 support, SSH keys, grepping, able to use with relative ease!
What do you dislike?
Support can be shaky from an enterprise perspective but their communities try to help a lot and provide detailed assistance
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Internal apps, infrastructure configuration, administration, scaling, grid farms, etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have 5+ years working on it, try features out, get trained!


    Computer Software

Good, solid OS

  • July 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Extremely stable, good support, easy to find help online since it's so widely used.
What do you dislike?
Steep learning curve, must know the syntax and be familiar with CLI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Stable, less micromanagement to keep things running, no weird bugs that seem to pop up all the time in Windows