Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for SAP with HA and US

Amazon Web Services | 7.6 v1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4/7.5/7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

269 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Davide V.

My favorite enterprise Linux distribution.

  • July 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support from RedHat is excellent, as well as the OS, which is my first choice when it comes to deploying servers. It is also pretty easy to use once you get accustomed to it.
What do you dislike?
Some packages are not the latest version and not even the previous one. For example, if you try to install PHP you will get PHP 5.4, which has already been surpassed by PHP 5.5, PHP 5.6 and PHP7. This is done for safety reasons, though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used to host the backend for the Wikimania 2016 web application, with great benefits to the administration and speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you come from a Debian environment, you may need to get accustomed to the differences.


    Kielse N.

The professional Linux

  • July 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support! If you need to create a huge solution never skip a good support. I am not saying that other distro you won't have support. Sure you will find solutions to solve problems, however when you have millions of users affected is better to find a solution really really fast. And RedHat will help on that... for a price.
What do you dislike?
To be honest I prefere to use Debian on my laptop just because I love Debian way and RedHat is a bit different and for me seams to have some files in a wrong place. Of course that people that prefere RedHat maybe will say the same if compare with Debian. Is like discus sports or religion, you should avoid doing that :)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Millions of PayTV and telecom boxes connecting on our servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Any Linux is good, however if your business is doing well you need to think if you want to contract outstanding linux professional (in house solution) or pay for outstanding linux support (RedHat).


    Higher Education

Solid education and coding OS

  • July 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast, reliable Linux distro. Great coding environment. Solid pre-installed application base.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a bit garish and dated. Some default apps are not ideal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used primarily for compiling code in educational environment. CAEN systems run this!


    Ameya K.

Best solution for automating application and ETL batch jobs

  • June 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All functionality and features available. Easy to install, upgrade and maintain open source applications.
What do you dislike?
upgrading the OS between major versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
all our ETL and application programming is run on this server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
easy to implement all solutions and schedule batch jobs using shell scripts.


    Milad N.

The Stable Linux Server

  • May 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using linux for more than ten years now, I worked as a Linux Jedi for 5 6 years, RedHat was one of the most stable with lots of support I worked with. RedHat 7 has lots of new feature that I like, changing its directory server was one of the interesting changes.
What do you dislike?
It's price actually, some changes in new version need more memory and are not suitable for the some old machines
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Redhat for deploy lots of different kind of problems, I deployed a directory server for more than 100,000 users using 389-ds, I used it as infrastructure for cloud processing for more than 50 servers and I also used it for different web services, I also recently I deployed a cluster computing facility with lots of automation which I think is a beautiful work with help of RedHat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Where I worked for four where we have lots of computers in windows and linux, I loved to have a central administration tool if it was possible. Samba4 cannot handle lots of users and computers


    Michael T.

Incredibly satisfying

  • May 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Besides it being a gnu/linux distribution, RedHat constantly provides stable and polished releases. They are keen on providing fast support and bug fixes. And of course the community behind RedHat is one of the best.
What do you dislike?
The RPM could be a bit better, it is quite a challenge when switching from APT or OpenSUSE. At least for me a cheat sheet is required. But this would be more of a note to all RedHat distributions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All of our web apps are deployed on a RedHat linux distro, either CentOS or RHEL.
It was never a question of an operating system, Windows or GNU/Linux, it is pretty self-explanatory. It is imperative to have a rock-solid operating system running all of your business, be it websites, data bases or internal mail servers, administration panels . With an enterprise solution you no longer need freelancers or to search through countless forums to find a fix for your problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The support is great, it is indeed a great choice for a Linux distribution if you are in need of support and a balance of updates/stability. It will definitely take you some time to get used to it, especially if you're switching from a Debian distribution. You might want to consider hiring a RedHat Enterprise certified tech specialist just to be on the safe side of things, especially if this is in concern to your app or business security or data privacy.


    Jeff M.

stable linux release with good support and features

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use and setup, extensive features list, stable, supported well by redhat, Redhat makes it pretty easy to adopt linux with mainstream installation on all types of hardware.
What do you dislike?
subscription mgmt is hard to use sometimes, wished it was on a newer kernel, sometimes I wish there was a smaller version dedicated to running docker containers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
used by our customers, easy to develop on, a partnet tha tis easy to work with,good support, redhat linux is pretty common among our customers so it is easy to support multiple customers using RHEL as the base of our product
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you need a commercially supported stable linux distro then Redhat linux is an easy and safe choice given it's wide adoption and relatively low cost, if you don't need commercial support then look at the open source community version called centos which is almost identical


    Government Administration

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's not just an operating system, today RHEL is an ecosystem of products and services whose tools simplify the process of automation and management of ours data center, the documentation is very specific and comprehensive, and ¡it works! because behind the best developers that they can afford.

If you want to test some solutions for academic purposes, any Linux operating system could help you, but when it comes to saving time, effort and money, RHEL must be your best decision.
What do you dislike?
1.- The knowledge base(KB) is not public, you must pay for access.
2.- The licenses is in permament changes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Anthing you can imagine: RRHH, Web Services, Transactional/NoSQL Data Base, development any services of mission critical, RHEL is a operating system standard on the industry.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and fast deployment, mission critical solutions, red hat education is a good optcion to deem and service support.


    Benjamin B.

RedHat flavour of Linux

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install.
Enterprise support.
Very solid distribution of Linux with the backing of Red Hat.
What do you dislike?
Built in package repositories leave a lot to be desired, and you often have to add third-party repositories to install basic software, for example, LibreOffice.

Other than the enterprise support there's not much difference between the completely free and open-source CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a solid distribution to run our SaaS applications (Ruby On Rails/NGINX/Passenger) on. Very stable and easy to maintain.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Only use this if you need the enterprise support. There's other distributions of Linux that are free and have a better community behind them.


    David G.

Good, reliable Linux Operating System

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very reliable, and quite easy to use the network setup and service management. The security given by the enterprise version is great. There are a large number of packages available, and it ships with Python by default.
What do you dislike?
I don't particularly like the package manager (yum). On rare occasions, it seems to fail with errors such as "database malformed". Often, in order to get detailed support it is necessary to login with Redhat subscription credentials.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployment of high availability services in a cluster of Redhat servers. Redhat virtual machines are also deployed through libvirt software. The benefits are that the Operating System is extremely reliable, and there are a range of packages available.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good, secure Operating system. You will have to subscribe to download unlike some other Linux versions