Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux for SAP with HA and US

Amazon Web Services | 7.6 v1

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4/7.5/7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

223 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Management Consulting

fond for security

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to understand, if you love CLI you would like anyways GUI is also there. the ease of learning commands and using them like sed and awk commands for filtering.
What do you dislike?
if an entry of filesystem in fstab is there and physically that disk is removed there raises an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
server related issues (support-oriented)


    Nikitha S.

The best Linux for the company.

  • November 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this operating system because it has the stability and security of Linux, I am sure of viruses and computer attacks because it is always up to date, updates come immediately to my PC.
Linux is difficult to use, but RHEL makes everything easier, a system with professional support, work packages and web server always active.
I give access to many users just by buying a license for this system, it is perfect for multiple users working at the same time.
What do you dislike?
When I buy this system the configuration in server packages is difficult to configure, there is a lack of documentation for the configuration of this system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With this system many users simultaneously connect to a single system with a single license, save money and expedite the work of configuring RHEL contracted packages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try this system in your company, it is perfect for the stability and configuration of all the programs necessary for networking, email and much more on PC servers.


    Daniel J.

Very good operating system for both servers and workstations but more geared to servers

  • November 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redhat maintains an excellent software repository that is heavily scrutinized to ensure compatibility for users and systems administrators.As an operating system, their disk and volume management is on par with AIX and Solaris. Software installation is easily manageable. One area I definitely like is setting up Identity Management. RedHat have made implementing and managing extremely easy. One area that RedHat shines is dedicating their focus on reliability and security updates. This is extremely important for compliance. Their workstation offerings add alot of much needed windows display managers including those for systems that have limited resources. This is a plus as we use alot of thin client systems and RedHat workstation is definately suited for that task.
What do you dislike?
I wish there was a more enterprise class of virtualization (i.e KVM is still not on par with VMware and Solaris). More over their licensing schema is a bit unwieldy when it comes to running from a centralized on site server and setup is extremely cumbersome and unreliable. Also wish they would include more options for out of the box database systems as far as including more than just one flavor of MySQL, in this case MariaDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use a combination of Redhat servers and workstations for engineering and science related applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redhat Enterprise linux is not for beginners. If you are coming from a Windows Systems side you will need more training on unix/linux operating systems to become an adequate systems administrator


    Financial Services

This is an excellent Semi Opensource operating System

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use. Easier to do a deep drive to troubleshoot any problems. Good reference documentation available in the internet.
What do you dislike?
Sometime it takes some high CPU and swap memory due to some kind of memory leakage. We also experience some high swap memory usages intermittently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run our critical large databases hosted on this Linux operating system


    Steve S.

Excellent and stable server planform

  • October 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support and knowledge base is the best I have ever used
What do you dislike?
The support cost is a bit high if your want to do a large implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I user as application servers to run open sources and link base application Oil and gas simulation application


    Suvimal Y.

Hats off to RedHat!

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The package quality, support, maintenance and updates, all give it the premium appeal that a linux distro deserves!
What do you dislike?
It's too expensive for its features. This is definitely not meant for amateur use. You need well experienced in-house team alongside vendor support for it to work out well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The kind of quality and support that it has made me realize the importance it could have in managing my storage. So all my NFS drives are mounted and controlled over RHEL and it's been 2 years since I've been using it and I feel the decision was right indeed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's one of the most robust linux distribution you'll come across. May go a little over budget, but reliability is guaranteed. Go for it! Good luck!


    Computer Software

Best Linux Distro - Redhat

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The one thing I like the most about Redhat is its premium packages and subscription.
What do you dislike?
Subscription is quite costly compared to similar distros like SUSE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My company's active directory services are run over RedHat Enterprise Linux. It offers good support, updates and maintenance which is a must!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a reliable linux distribution with plenty of support and features and can afford all of it, then RHEL is the product for you!


    Hospital & Health Care

Solves most of Business needs

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is next generation cloud ready OS we used for all application and DB tiers
What do you dislike?
nothing as such most of things meets our need
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reliability


    Mirko C.

Good os for work and server

  • October 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Assistance from RHEL community experts are very performant and fast
What do you dislike?
Nothing, maybe slowness of installation with usb media
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploy automated continuos delivery solutions
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please use only if needed


    Ravindra D.

Easy and Secure Linux

  • October 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secure, easy to use, gui and cli, free.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing much to deslike, likeit
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on Linux for various reasons, especially for when hosting something on it. Installation of new products on it.
I can say it is easy to understand and use for those who i habe little bit knowledge of cli, and in no time they will learn other things from it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes we will recommend.