Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Minimal Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - Xenial

Canonical Group Limited | Minimal Ubuntu 16.04 20210430

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - Xenial - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

938 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Muhammad M.

A User Friendly Operating System for work purpose.

  • May 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I loved to use it since it is a user-friendly operating system.
The most required application had been preinstalled like Libre Office(Presentation, Draw, Writer, and Calc). It is a cost-efficient OS. We
The frequent kernel update make Ubuntu support the most recent hardware.
What do you dislike?
Not all application which runs on Windows can run on Ubuntu. But we can use Wine(Windows Emulator) to emulate some Windows based applications.
Many vendor provides their Ubuntu version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I need to develop a program using Python, using Ubuntu I can easily install Python, code using it, and finished the program, and got the payment.

I realized that nowadays many servers are using Ubuntu, so my familiarity with Ubuntu gives me many benefits, so I can easily install a lot of applications on a Ubuntu server.


    Nilanga C.

G2 Review Ubuntu

  • May 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and features that are mist suited for users. I have used both the desktop version and the server
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far. there are some incompatibilities with drivers but its less than before
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu as an alternative to windows. so far the line is quite thin so to speak.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
be flexible to use alternative and be able to understand the CLI


    Rahul K.

Best Linux based OS and most of the software are available to install in it..

  • May 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the open source software are available to install in it and it is available as WSL in windows to use without actually installing it as OS.
What do you dislike?
We have to run apt-get update most of the time to update it's remote sources. And have to remember it, sources are outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I write automation shell scripts for my day to day work. We run many webservers on it. It is easy to integrate it with any configuration I tool e.g. Ansible and manage it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Almost all opensource software have their integration with ubuntu and have their document to install it in ubuntu by running couple of commands. It's easy to use OS.


    Varsha R.

Best OS for developers

  • May 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has the best interface and terminal to execute and test apps, websites, code and software. I have been using Ubuntu for more than 6 years and I have been able to smoothly avoid the technical glitches of Windows systems. It is faster and has ample power to run code and is more friendly to editors. The sudo command helps user take administrator control using just a single line.
What do you dislike?
It is not as media and internet friendly as Windows systems. Sound interface and video streaming is a little glitchy and needs work. Not user friendly for non technical users that need just to unwind and watch a movie. It is meant for software development.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Ubuntu to build apps, integrate frontend with backend, run processes, test code, add features and build containers, run scripts, etc. I can then even remotely integrate code into production and see it run smoothly on Windows systems as well. Benefits mainly are most third party softwares that I use for development and modules, etc can be easily installed on Ubuntu as it is Linux based.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is open source with no support but if used the right way it can be an amazing platform to use for development and integration.


    Darshil S.

Sleekest and most raw OS

  • May 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The level of customisation that ubuntu provides it users is simply at mext level. It manages to balance both usability at the same time fun things of linux os!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, installing ubuntu might be a task! It doesn't have the best installer that's the least I would say!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu in almost every thing! Right from watching a movie on a sunday movie marathon to coding and developing web (fromtend and backend) based applications!


    julio jose m.

The evolution of GNU/Linux Debian to a friendly operating system

  • May 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu became an important advance to bring to common users, an operating system like GNU / Linux that is aimed at computer and systems professionals. Its simple installation and requirements of few hardware resources, has made it the favorite of many people who previously only used Windows-based operating systems, and who now had the opportunity to manage a robust, safe and cost-free operating system.
What do you dislike?
Despite having more than 16 years in the market, Ubuntu is still a challenge to be used by some home users, because concepts such as hard disk partitioning, is only reserved for advanced users.
In addition, it continues to present some flaws when installed on very modern computers or computers that have hardware restrictions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a computer engineer it allows me to develop software that is perfectly adapted to the most common platforms and operating systems; all this in a fast and simple way, allowing me to save time in the development of the applications.


    Julio Antonio L.

User friendly for a Linux Distro

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nice look and feel, easy to use even for non-IT people and it improves performance on the computer
What do you dislike?
There are some things that are difficult to configure and the worst is the compatibility with software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Made an old computer useful again and free of virus


    Ravi Ranjan k.

Best experience for development

  • May 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Literally we can do what's we want to do there is no restrictions like windows. A bigger help full community is there.
Writing on terminal gives a like a pro feeling.
There is more options ui/up.
What do you dislike?
Hard to learn from basic not properly written documentation or tutorials. Every time you have to depends on google search.
Hard to find Ubuntu applications alternative of windows applications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
During the application development I have use Ubuntu for different organizations and personally too.
First of all I feel it exist for developers. Because it continues the flow of writing code and commands.
Due less ui It is faster than windows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a developer then definitely you should use Ubuntu for development


    Prateek J.

Ubuntu: The most balanced OS

  • May 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Frequent Updates of packages and dependencies
2. Support for LTS and non-LTS versions
3. Easy to use for beginners
4. Default app store and support for third-party app stores
What do you dislike?
1. Outdated User Interface
2. Limited Desktop environment support by default
3. Not good for advanced users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was looking for a simple OS for my team and Ubuntu checked almost all the requirements from our list. Currently, we are using it for internal use and on cloud servers.


    Clarissa N.

Great!

  • May 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There is so much you can do on Ubuntu! You can create a virtual machine and make an Ubuntu server or desktop and use it to learn Linux or use it as your personal computer!
What do you dislike?
There is so much that you can do in Ubuntu that it can be overwhelming to someone who is learning.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now, I am learning Linux, and so I have built my own Ubuntu Server to try to create my own meeting like Zoom. I am using an open-source meeting and trying to see if I can just create a functional meeting like zoom. There are so many benefits with Ubuntu. There are so many possibilites what can be created.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really get into it if you can. If you are curious about Ubuntu, watch youtube videos, take online courses, or read books on it. Really try to get more informed and replicate and learn the commands. I feel learning Linux and Ubuntu may be great to learn in the long run for a career. It is so easy to use and pick up, and I highly recommend even high schoolers learn Linux and build their own Ubuntu server/desktop.