Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Commvault Cloud Access Node BYOL

Commvault | 11.28

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

56 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Commvault review

  • August 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is an excellent backup tool that makes our lives easier. Also, their knowledge base is very helpful.
Live support it is awesome, very professional staff who know what they are doing.
What do you dislike?
It is a little bit complicated to set it up. You need to be careful while creating the backup types and times.
You cant create a media agent without having the hostnames.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since we implemented Commvault we have solved many issues when losing important data we lost.
The main benefit is that we need to recover a file we can do it anytime, also we can set up as many types of backups as we want (full, incremental). Also, their console alert it is extremely useful since you can identify easily if there is an issue when doing the backups.
Fast response when talking to them via chat or phone.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend Commvault for any type of business because you can reduce headaches when losing an important file or email. Excellent live support that can assist you anytime, anywhere. They are very professional and resolve our problems all the time


    Daniel L.

Very powerfull software to made Backups

  • July 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The integration with al types of platforms. The power console and strong software. The integration with Netapp software and more and more. Commvault is constantly updating theis software and the support is very good. The search of content to backup is easy.
What do you dislike?
The price of Commvault is not cheap. Sometimes is complex to understand the cycles of backups. You need a lot of types of licenses to use the powerfull of the software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can control a very vast variety of systems and softwares to make backups with one sofware only, on ly one console.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Test it!


    Hospital & Health Care

Good back up for vms and unix

  • May 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy it’s ease of use, it’s very useful in backing up our vms as well as our u is servers
What do you dislike?
It often cannot quiescence the vms and it will throw an error whe taking the snapshot
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It’s handling all of our backups for physical and virtual servers it does a decent job and have never had an issue restoring from back up
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None


    Telecommunications

Commvault it is a enterprise backup solution for all your needs

  • May 04, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Well let me tell you that Commvault its really a full feature set of backup solutions for all your applications and virtual environment needs. I like the fact that in a single pane of glass I can have all my physical and virtual environments backup. You can define a a very customize backup policies that depends of the application needs. We use it mostly for oracle databases and VMware virtual environment. You can have multiple copies and algo the archiving feature its really neat. Just let your policies handle the automated backup jobs and your're good to go.
What do you dislike?
Ok. let me tell you that in order to use the software to its full extend, you will need to take training. You need to know very well how policies are define and hoy can be schedule and use. So I have to say that it is not a intiuitive product. It has a little of complex to administer it the right way.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Before Commvault we had around 3 tools to do the backups of all our applications (virtual and physical), now that we have it for over 2 years, we have automated the backup process really well. Just sit down and let commvault do its stuff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a PoC to know how the backup solution works and if it is what are you looking for. Also if you are buying, then is a must to include training.


    Alejandro P.

The best backup software

  • May 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You have all in one software and in just an administration console. The deduplication and compression ratio you get from the backups help you a lot to store all backup depending of the policies of retention that you need.
We have several agents or APIs to do better backups of our applications, bare metal, virtual machines, etc
What do you dislike?
To understand all the function or the capabilities is hard, you must take a course to understand how simpana works. The admin console is not to intuitive so you need to figure out where are the option that you need. For this is mandatory take a course if is the first time you use commvoult.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have the security that our backup works and now we can restore with the confidence that the backup will work.
We can do a backup of our ecosystem, we can use the APIs to do better backups of our application like Oracle, MSQL, SharePoint, windows server, Linux server, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The price is quite expensive but not for all is the leader at this moment. If you will get for firsts time commvault I recommend to take a certificate course because the administration is quite difficult


    Banking

Commvault Enterprise Backup

  • May 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use commvault as our enterprise backup. When I came here a year ago we had multiple backup systems that we were using and still use. My goal has been to roll out the commvault backup system to every area of our organization.
What do you dislike?
So far there is not much to dislike about the product. It really does what they say it can do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being a Financial Institution it is imperative that we backup our systems. Commvault does that for us. The benefit we are looking for in the long run is to have one system and one system only.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend Commvault to anyone looking for a robust backup system.


    Muhammad M.

Fully featured backup solution

  • May 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've pane of glass to manage all your backup infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
Can be complex to troubleshoot and decorating at times
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Shortage of backup storage is a thing of the past. The data duplication and synthetic chill backups are little short of amazing.


    Austin H.

Commvault - The Comprehensive Backup Solution

  • April 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of my favorite features of Commvault is the reliability of backups and the reporting features. When you set up scheduled backups, you can rest comfortably knowing they'll complete. If there is a failure, you get near immediate notification of the failure.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the GUI - it is a little hard to navigate until you really learn the ins and outs of it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Commvault for all of our backup/restoration needs. We have realized how easy it is to quickly restore SQL Database backups in a pinch.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup separate Comcells that are offsite, and replicate to them for Disaster Recovery


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Feature rich, but very complex

  • April 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The product is very feature rich and capable of many valuable processes in the backup space. Backup restorations are dependable.
What do you dislike?
The interface is overly complex and convoluted. Implementing is tedious and time consuming. Day to day administration is also time consuming.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data loss and virus protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look into hyper converged solutions to save costs on backend storage.


    Cary W.

Most complete backup solution...

  • January 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I don't think there is an environment that you could use today that Commvault can't backup. Their integration points are outstanding. The UI is pretty intuitive considering the power you wield with your mouse. It's always reliable, especially when it comes to restoring your data, provided that your tapes, disk, etc. are available.
What do you dislike?
Cost & complexity. Deploying Commvault is not for the faint of heart. There are ISO upon ISO needing to be fed to deploy features. Last time I downloaded, it was nearing 10GB in size.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reliable backup & restore functions, including user endpoints
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have an enterprise that requires outstanding backup & restore capabilities, Commvault will easily fit the bill.