Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jonas M.

Excellent at building superb mobile app experiences

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Couchbase Lite - the variant of Couchbase DB for running locally on a mobile device. When used together with Couchbase Sync Gateway (which automatically synchronises the local DB with the main DB on a remote server) - it enables developing apps to a modern standard, which users now come to expect from the mobile apps nowadays. Features include:

- Latency compensation. No need to worry about network latency and stability - every action can be stored on a local DB, which then will be synced automatically to the main DB, when the network is available again.

- Ability to develop "optimistic" UIs. No need for a "loading" spinner on every user action. Again - just store on a local DB and the changes will propagate to the main DB ASAP.

- Was very easy to set it up and get started.

- A joy to develop with, greatly reduced boilerplate code, especially when compared to SQLite.
What do you dislike?
The API for querying the database wasn't straightforward at first (especially when coming from a SQL background) and does have a learning curve which will require spending some time with the documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
User experience was top priority and the ability to adapt to various use-case scenarios (full offline mode, bad- network conditions, etc) greatly enhances it.

For some mobile apps, Couchbase DB might even be the one-stop solution for a back-end, without the need of additional back-end application layer.


    Joel D.

Couchbase, one of the best no sql solutions out there.

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What really drew me to couchbase was the ability to sync from my mobile app to the couchbase database connected to my backend. That allowed me to leave all the complexities of syncing data to the experts and i was able to focus on my app while knowing that it has the ability to perform proper offline support and data sync as soon as internet becomes available.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I have disliked so far is that couchbase's query language is alot different from SQL so I have had a harder time adapting to it when it comes to writing certain complex queries that would be way easier to write in SQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main business problem I am currently solving as I mentioned before is data synchronization. In today's world having data kept up to date and available in all scenarios (online/offline) is very important for the user experience of an app. There are several davta sync soltuions out there but none was as simple as couchbase thus I saved tons of time by implementing the mobile version of the database on my Android app and then connecting it to the main couchbase server of my backend.


    Michael G.

Great alternative to complex client-server architectures

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the key-value datastore nature of the system as well as the ability to sync across multiple mobile devices
What do you dislike?
Documentation was fairly thin, so it required a bit more work to understand how everything fits together
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to build a super reliable, realtime data capture app and Couchbase fitted this requirement perfectly. It is fast, reliable and flexible enough to fit our needs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out and see if it fits your needs. Our codebase was both simplified and our time to market was a lot quicker than expected.


    Information Technology and Services

Couchbase as future remote and local databases to platforms.

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that couchbase is Nosql and its implementation mechanism (need to be little beginner friendly though) i have used it in one of my production android app and felt it is awesome.
What do you dislike?
It should have been easy without the sync gateways and other configurations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a mobile developer and i focus more app performance and and concurrency and other major android and ios problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Needs to have a beginner friendly contents like blogs and code examples etc.


    William Q.

Great way to make NoSQL data available offline on mobile devices, and on the web

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that there is an open source version of this product available for free. Free and open source is great when I don't have to budget to spend a lot on products aimed at businesses.
What do you dislike?
I found that the server part of this product tended to use a lot of system resources (memory in particular) even when there wasn't a lot of data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had to make a large amount of data available both online and offline for mobile devices. It needed to be synced with data on a central server. Couchbase has software that let me do this fairly easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reading through the documentation and setting up some test instances before setting it up with your actual project makes things a lot easier to learn.


    Abdel K.

Couchbase makes it easy!

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to cluster nodes on aws. Its as simple as installing a package and pointing and clicking after that. All cluster management is done behind the scenes and just works. No need to manage buckets and what node they live on.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a bit clunky. Most of the time I have to d a full refresh on the browser to get things to look right again.

The CLI tools could use some more helpful messages as well. I spent at least 30 minutes trying to figure out how to get cbtransfer to work properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used couchbase to solve our high read throughput on our database. Couch performs very well in comparison to all its peers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Attending a seminar thats hosted by coucbase to learn about all the features is very helpful.


    Internet

We used this database as a caching solution

  • September 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its super fast in caching the data and returning the data quickly
What do you dislike?
its a new product it crashes often it needs to be consistent
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
caching solutions. caching thef requently used data


    Rob M.

Couchbase has the best distributed architecture and is getting more developer friendly

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The simple, yet flexible way that Couchbase handles load distribution and replication, both within a site and geographically distributed makes load balancing automatic and enables robust redundancy and failover.
What do you dislike?
Working with Couchbase has been a challenge for developers coming from backgrounds that are heavy on relational databases. That is being mitigated by the new N1QL query language which takes its cues from SQL. While the jury's still out, things look very promising.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We've used Couchbase as a store for session variables enabling state-tracking across multiple front-end application servers without encurring the overhead of full load balancing. This is leveraging its roots in memcached.

We're also using Couchbase as the key-value store for a web service. Couchbase's response time, and geographic replication abilities make it a good choice, especially when cost of administration and growth potential become concerns.


    Sporting Goods

Decent solution for key-value or document datastore

  • July 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, manage, and maintain. Very fast reads. Cloud-friendly.
What do you dislike?
In case you need to access anything in any other way than by key, it is challenging. Views / indexes are slow, even in version 3.0 where Couchbase claims huge performance improvement in that area.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly using Couchbase as a persistent cache. I do not see much benefits vs. Cassandra which is our primary noSQL solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Couchbase is great when you use it right - great persistent cache for documents / key-value store; not a replacement for a relational database. Also, if you plan on using ad-hoc queries, consider some other noSQL product, such as Cassandra.


    Computer Software

Very Nerutral Experience

  • July 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to use Couchbase as a complete replacement for MemcachedD it very useful.
What do you dislike?
We have had issues with Couchbase crashing on our development instances on EC2 and on our local vagrant instances. Seems like its very vulnerrable on low memory hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to cache static data for our app primarily. We just started using it as a Document Store 1 week ago.